Computer won't post - No signal - No beeps - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Computer won't post - No signal - No beeps

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-30-2019, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
AMD User
 
DigDeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 240
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Computer won't post - No signal - No beeps

Computer won't post, I get nothing, no signal, no beeps, nothing. I tried everything, checked cpu, cables, ram, tried with 1 stick, 2 sticks, 3 sticks, tried different psu, cleared cmos, used Vga cable, pulled monitor power cable out and nothing worked. Computer always worked without problems, only difference this time was that I used different(New) graphic card. So I put back old gpu with which computer always worked fine with but computer didn't boot with that card either. All I can try is to use other Pcie slot, but I don't know why first one wouldn't work, if that won't work then I don't know what else to do. Do you have any ideas?

RYZEN R5 2600 | GIGABYTE B450M DS3H | XFX RX 580 8gb GTS Black Edition | Patriot VIPER 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ | WD Blue 2TB WD20EZRZ | Transcend 110S 512 GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
DigDeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-30-2019, 08:39 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Sounds like the motherboard died as nothing you have tried has made any difference which leaves the motherboard

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-30-2019, 08:47 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,763
Rep: 600 (Unique: 465)
What are the specs of the psu and gpu you tried to install when it failed to boot?

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 05:10 AM - Thread Starter
AMD User
 
DigDeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 240
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
What are the specs of the psu and gpu you tried to install when it failed to boot?
Psus and gpus are OK, one is 750w Gold and the other is 500w, one gpu is brand new Rx 580 and one is Gtx 960. I think that Pcie slot somehow died, so I will RMA motherboard.

RYZEN R5 2600 | GIGABYTE B450M DS3H | XFX RX 580 8gb GTS Black Edition | Patriot VIPER 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ | WD Blue 2TB WD20EZRZ | Transcend 110S 512 GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
DigDeep is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 05:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 379
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Double check the obvious things like whether the CPU auxilary power is fully seated on the motherboard.

Does the motherboard have onboard graphics ? If so does it work with that ?
clannagh is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 08:06 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,763
Rep: 600 (Unique: 465)
Quote: Originally Posted by DigDeep View Post
Psus and gpus are OK, one is 750w Gold and the other is 500w, one gpu is brand new Rx 580 and one is Gtx 960. I think that Pcie slot somehow died, so I will RMA motherboard.
Reason I asked is some RX 480's were pulling way too many watts through the PCI-e slot.... not heard of any 580's doing it though.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
AMD User
 
DigDeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 240
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
You guys will never guess what was the problem, I never pulled the socket lever all the way to the top, so when I did that and put cpu back in everything worked fine. LOL.

RYZEN R5 2600 | GIGABYTE B450M DS3H | XFX RX 580 8gb GTS Black Edition | Patriot VIPER 16GB DDR4 3000MHZ | WD Blue 2TB WD20EZRZ | Transcend 110S 512 GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
DigDeep is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2020, 07:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by DigDeep View Post
You guys will never guess what was the problem, I never pulled the socket lever all the way to the top, so when I did that and put cpu back in everything worked fine. LOL.
Can you clarify what you mean by this? What do you mean by "pulling the socket lever all the way to the top"?
ajm339 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2020, 07:13 AM
Rig Advisor
 
Avacado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,771
Rep: 109 (Unique: 81)
Quote: Originally Posted by DigDeep View Post
Computer won't post, I get nothing, no signal, no beeps, nothing. I tried everything, checked cpu, cables, ram, tried with 1 stick, 2 sticks, 3 sticks, tried different psu, cleared cmos, used Vga cable, pulled monitor power cable out and nothing worked. Computer always worked without problems, only difference this time was that I used different(New) graphic card. So I put back old gpu with which computer always worked fine with but computer didn't boot with that card either. All I can try is to use other Pcie slot, but I don't know why first one wouldn't work, if that won't work then I don't know what else to do. Do you have any ideas?
Did you add ANY other new hardware besides the GPU? New PSU cables perhaps?

23664 Time Spy https://www.3dmark.com/spy/13047865
[email protected] Stats https://folding.extremeoverclocking....e.php?u=207393
CPU
i9 9900k @5.1GHz 1.34v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A 1504 BIOS
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer +220 Core
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer +150 Core
RAM
4x8GB GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
2 x 1 TB Samsung EVO 970 Raid 0
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w G+
Cooling
EK CPU/GPU/RES
Cooling
2x aCool UT60 RADs
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL (White)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware 1900R 34.1" @ 120Hz
Keyboard
Loigitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G700s
▲ hide details ▲


Avacado is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-20-2020, 07:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 781
Rep: 22 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by ajm339 View Post
Can you clarify what you mean by this? What do you mean by "pulling the socket lever all the way to the top"?
Would assume OP meant the lever that locks the CPU into the socket was not fully locked in.

“Go then, there are other worlds than these.”

“Every gun makes its own tune... Alive or dead, it's your choice.”

Vin: We deal in lead, friend.
Calvera: So do I. We're in the same business.
Vin: Only as competitors.
hanzy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off