Ryzen 3000 Memory / Fabric (X370/X470/X570) - Page 10 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 3000 Memory / Fabric (X370/X470/X570)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 03:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jon666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: WA
Posts: 316
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by gilljoy View Post
Posting here in case anyone can help. When using the AMD Ryzen Balanced plan my CPU seems to be always boosting and the fans spinning up and down with an idle temp of around 55-60C.

I'm running the following setup

Asus Crosshair Vii X470
3700x
Crucial Balistix 16gb (running at xmp standard)

Everything in the bios is set to Auto. When looking in CPU-Z or Ryzen Master the Core voltage is always at 1.4Ghz except for a fraction of a second when it drops to 0.9V & Core speed is always around 4.4Ghz Any suggestions?
I was playing with windows power plans yesterday for my 1700x so voltage would drop on idle. I have Ultimate Performance active but I can drop down to High Performance, Balanced, and Power saver. In that order each will more aggressively downvolt, and downclock. If you want things to calm down on idle, amd cool'n quiet must be enabled (sounds like it is for you) and windows power plan must be set to something like balanced. Try em all out and see which one you like, cause it is probably the best it is going to get I think.
jon666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 820
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
Quote: Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
C6H doesn't add 3900x to processor support list

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/

The motherboard vendors only received 3900X CPU's this week, takes a while to qualify them.
elmor is offline  
post #93 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 05:38 AM
Realist
 
chakku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 358
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
Issues

  • C6H 7106: DRAM Voltage at the beginning of POST is always 1.200V which limits the max memory frequency. It's possible to work around by first booting with lower DRAM Frequency and higher voltage, then only increasing DRAM Frequency in steps without the board shutting down.
  • C7H 2406: DRAM Vboot is always 1.200V by default, it can be manually set instead. However the setting is lost after standby power is removed from the motherboard.
  • C6H 7106 + C7H 2406: After failing memory overclocking you get stuck at C5 POST code which never seems to recover. The only way to get back is to clear CMOS.
This seems to be the case for me on C7H 2406 as well. Is there a maximum jump in DRAM Frequency before the board shuts down? I seem to be able to get away with 2133 - 3200 but almost always get stuck on a code trying to push above that, whether it's C5, 19, 15, 07, or some other undocumented code.

PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C14D-32GVK
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
STOREMI (Intel 730 Series 240GB + Hitachi Ultrastar 7K4000 4TB)
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH D15 SE-AM4
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X Satin Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 1809 64-bit
Monitor
Dell P2715Q
Monitor
Dell P2715Q
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 87U 55g Uniform (Norbaforce/BT-500 Bluetooth)
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan Hayate Kou
Audio
Benchmark DAC2 HGC
Audio
JBL LSR305
Audio
Sennheiser HD6XX
▲ hide details ▲
chakku is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 10:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 368
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
The motherboard vendors only received 3900X CPU's this week, takes a while to qualify them.
Thanks for information

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD

Last edited by mito1172; 07-13-2019 at 10:20 AM.
mito1172 is offline  
post #95 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 03:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thomasck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 314
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Just a heads up, can't go further than FCLK 1500 with a Taichi x370. Even 1533 makes ram unstable.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

PCDEBAIANO
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Taichi X370
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator 4000
Cooling
3x360mm
Case
Lian Li o11d
Monitor
HANNspree HG324
▲ hide details ▲
thomasck is offline  
post #96 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 02:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DragonQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 78
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by thomasck View Post
Just a heads up, can't go further than FCLK 1500 with a Taichi x370. Even 1533 makes ram unstable.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Same on X470 Taichi Ultimate. Not sure if RAM or FLCK is the issue but definitely unstable past 1500 MHz, even with bumping the CLDO_VDDG voltage. Hopefully just a BIOS issue (both boards are on ComboPI 1.0.0.1).
DragonQ is offline  
post #97 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 02:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FlanK3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech republic*Brno city
Posts: 1,437
Rep: 163 (Unique: 112)
Quote: Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
C6H doesn't add 3900x to processor support list

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/
It is working very well. I saw two reviews on C6H, one is example there:

http://www.ddworld.cz/pc-a-komponent...-a-x370-3.html

Ryzen Threadripper TBD ,-), Ryzen Threadripper 1950X, Ryzen 7 2700X, Ryzen 5 2400G, Ryzen 7 1800X, Ryzen 7 1700X, Ryzen 5 1500X, Ryzen 5 1600X, FX-8320E, FX-8370, FX-8370E, 2x FX-9590, 4x AMD FX-8350, 2x FX-8320, 2xFX-8300, 4xAMD FX-8150, AMD FX-8120 95W, AMD FX-8120 125W, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE, AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE 4.3 GHz stable, AMD Phenom II x 980 BE, Phenom II x4 975 BE,Phenom II x4 970 BE, 2x Phenom II x4 965 BE C3, Phenom II x4 965 BE C2, Athlon 860K, Athlon 845, A10-7870K, 2xA10-7850K, 2x A10-7700K, A10-6800K, A10-6800B, A8-6600K, A10-5800K, A8-5600K, A10-3870K, A8-3850, Athlon 5150 Kabini,Intel core i9-7900X, Intel core i7-6950X, Intel core i7-5960X, core i7-3930K, i7-980X,3x Intel core i7-8700K, i7-7700K,i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, i7-4770K, i7-3770K, i7-2600K
AMD AIR cooling challenge Cinebench R10
FlanK3r is offline  
post #98 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 04:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Arni90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,476
Rep: 87 (Unique: 80)
After a lot of frustration, tweaking, and more frustration, I have accomplished the following:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aida64 4.3 3.8 CL16.png
Views:	115
Size:	569.0 KB
ID:	280214  


Main rig
(16 items)
CPU
R7 1700X
Motherboard
STRIX X470-F
GPU
RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
16GB G. Skill RipjawsV 3600 CL16
Hard Drive
970 EVO
Hard Drive
860 EVO
Optical Drive
No
Power Supply
AX 860
Cooling
MCP655
Cooling
Alphacool RTX 2080 Ti full cover block
Cooling
EKWB Supremacy EVO AMD
Cooling
EK 360
Cooling
Alphacool 240
Case
Fractal Design Define R6
Operating System
Yes
Monitor
EX3501R
▲ hide details ▲


Arni90 is offline  
post #99 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 05:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Hey guys! Anyone having a problem with Ryzen 5 3600 and Memory Write speeds? (2x less than Read)
I've posted all the data I have here: https://www.overclock.net/forum/1805...e-problem.html

Is this fixable somehow or I need to change hardware? Thank you in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	benchmark.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	159.3 KB
ID:	280222  

sadjoker is offline  
post #100 of 253 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 05:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FlanK3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech republic*Brno city
Posts: 1,437
Rep: 163 (Unique: 112)
thats very good, I think...

Ryzen Threadripper TBD ,-), Ryzen Threadripper 1950X, Ryzen 7 2700X, Ryzen 5 2400G, Ryzen 7 1800X, Ryzen 7 1700X, Ryzen 5 1500X, Ryzen 5 1600X, FX-8320E, FX-8370, FX-8370E, 2x FX-9590, 4x AMD FX-8350, 2x FX-8320, 2xFX-8300, 4xAMD FX-8150, AMD FX-8120 95W, AMD FX-8120 125W, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE, AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE 4.3 GHz stable, AMD Phenom II x 980 BE, Phenom II x4 975 BE,Phenom II x4 970 BE, 2x Phenom II x4 965 BE C3, Phenom II x4 965 BE C2, Athlon 860K, Athlon 845, A10-7870K, 2xA10-7850K, 2x A10-7700K, A10-6800K, A10-6800B, A8-6600K, A10-5800K, A8-5600K, A10-3870K, A8-3850, Athlon 5150 Kabini,Intel core i9-7900X, Intel core i7-6950X, Intel core i7-5960X, core i7-3930K, i7-980X,3x Intel core i7-8700K, i7-7700K,i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, i7-4770K, i7-3770K, i7-2600K
AMD AIR cooling challenge Cinebench R10
FlanK3r is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off