Ryzen 3000 Memory / Fabric (X370/X470/X570) - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 3000 Memory / Fabric (X370/X470/X570)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 08:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 631
Rep: 80 (Unique: 61)
Thanks for the Information.I have a 4000kit waiting to try on Ryzen 5 3600x.
I only game so I expect DDR4 CL14 3200Mhz still might be within a couple % compared to DDR4 CL16 3600Mhz/DDR4 CL18 4000Mhz
gerardfraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 01:10 AM
Untitled.jpg
 
Lexi is Dumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Encounter Bay, South Australia
Posts: 572
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
My 3200C14 rated kit isn't working on my X370-F now at all with the 3700X, it just winds up posting in safe mode.

NotGoodEnough
(15 items)
CPU
R7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
MSI Gaming GTX 1080ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 16GB 3200Mhz CL14
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 860 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair HX750 Platinum
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 w/ Chromax
Case
NZXT H700
Monitor
Acer XB271U 27" 1440p 165hz Gsync IPS
Monitor
Samsung LU32H850 32" 4k Freesync QLED
Monitor
55" LG C9 OLED
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Pro S TKL
Mouse
Logitech G703
Audio
M50X & M50Xbt
Audio
Edifier S880DB
▲ hide details ▲
Lexi is Dumb is offline  
post #23 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 01:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,376
Rep: 32 (Unique: 26)
@elmor nice to see You post I'm still waiting for 3900x to come and box of toys to build my mate 3600system.
If You got time Would be great if You could drop a quck test of 3600cl16 vs 3600cl14 on latency and lets say quick cb15 score. Very interested how latencies affect performance. All I'w seen is 3200cl14 vs 3600cl16 tests
lordzed83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 01:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,296
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
My 2x16GB 3200 CL14 B-Die kit finally runs at XMP speeds on X570 Godlike and 3600.
Weird that the 3600 has such bad memory write speeds.

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || EVGA Z390 DARK || 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4600 C18 @ 4266 C17 || GPU: EVGA Kingpin RTX2080Ti @ 2130MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Lian Li O11 Dynamic White || Corsair AX1600i || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F
Corsair H150i PRO + Noctua NF-A12x25
Martin778 is offline  
post #25 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 02:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,854
Rep: 218 (Unique: 175)
Single chiplet CPUs suck at memory write speeds since AMD have reduced it to half. Happens to 3700X too,

https://techreport.com/review/34672/...us-reviewed/3/

If you can keep your beer while all about you are spilling theirs and blaming it on you, then you'd be a playa, my brutha. - Dudyard Broling
gamervivek is offline  
post #26 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 02:23 AM
Untitled.jpg
 
Lexi is Dumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Encounter Bay, South Australia
Posts: 572
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
Okay, I just noticed that the board is putting the voltage at about 1.46v during idle. Should I be worried?

NotGoodEnough
(15 items)
CPU
R7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Pro Wifi
GPU
MSI Gaming GTX 1080ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 16GB 3200Mhz CL14
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 860 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair HX750 Platinum
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 w/ Chromax
Case
NZXT H700
Monitor
Acer XB271U 27" 1440p 165hz Gsync IPS
Monitor
Samsung LU32H850 32" 4k Freesync QLED
Monitor
55" LG C9 OLED
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Pro S TKL
Mouse
Logitech G703
Audio
M50X & M50Xbt
Audio
Edifier S880DB
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Lexi is Dumb; 07-09-2019 at 02:29 AM.
Lexi is Dumb is offline  
post #27 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
The AIDA64 memory bandwidth tests have been multi-threaded for quite some time.

I'm not sure about the latency test.

Ah yes, you're right. It's only the latency test that always uses Core 0. Bandwidth should be multi-threaded.

Quote: Originally Posted by larrydavid View Post
Elmor: Have you been able to get the PBO settings to actually do anything on the CH6/CH7?

Not tested yet.

Quote: Originally Posted by rv8000 View Post
@elmor

It's a bit unclear as to how ASUS is addressing the settings of the FCLK (synchronous/asynchronous) in the bios settings.

Is the setting tied to the memory speed selection, i.e. anything above 3600 will force asynchronous mode, or can you select the fclk ratio separately from the memory speed?

Thanks for sharing these results!

P.S. Did you try any timings scaling testing at 3600?

If you leave FCLK Frequency at Auto, it will keep 1:1 until some point, I believe it's 1800 MHz. When you keep increasing DRAM Frequency, FCLK will still stay at that point if left Auto.

If you manually set both, it will be 1:1 if you set them to that (actually 1:2 as DRAM Frequency is shown as DDR MT/s). There's no separate switch for it, the values just needs to match.

Quote: Originally Posted by Nizzen View Post
Why does Ryzen 3k support 4400mhz+ memory, when it doesn't help for performance over 3733mhz?

It does help in some cases for performance. Theoretically if you can push memory high enough you can also get better results in most than at 1:1, but I don't see that happening for most users on this generation. Then again many just look at the frequency not the performance. It's the same on Intel platforms, most high frequency memory does not make much sense in terms of actual application performance. Additionally the decision to go with this implementation was most likely made before they knew how high memory frequency they would be able to get out of the design.

Quote: Originally Posted by Anty View Post
Why SOC 1.25?

Why not? I wanted to keep things consistent and it's working well.

Quote: Originally Posted by Bart View Post
Awesome stuff, thanks for the great info Elmor! Turns out I might not have to buy new memory after all, unless I want crystal pimp RAM. I wonder if it's 'safe' to assume that most current good B-die kits are still useful on X570 (ie most 3200CL14 kits)?

From what I'm seeing, the requirements are the same as on previous Ryzen platforms. The main uplift is that you should now be able to get higher memory capacity at much better performance than before (2x16GB, 4x8GB) which goes well with the increased core count and lower DRAM prices.

Quote: Originally Posted by Lexi is Dumb View Post
My 3200C14 rated kit isn't working on my X370-F now at all with the 3700X, it just winds up posting in safe mode.

Probably the same issue I had, that the memory voltage is always 1.200V when starting the system and it has had time to execute BIOS code.

Quote: Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post
@elmor nice to see You post I'm still waiting for 3900x to come and box of toys to build my mate 3600system.
If You got time Would be great if You could drop a quck test of 3600cl16 vs 3600cl14 on latency and lets say quick cb15 score. Very interested how latencies affect performance. All I'w seen is 3200cl14 vs 3600cl16 tests

I'll add it to the list

Quote: Originally Posted by gamervivek View Post
Single chiplet CPUs suck at memory write speeds since AMD have reduced it to half. Happens to 3700X too,

https://techreport.com/review/34672/...us-reviewed/3/

It doesn't seem to have a large real world impact, I'm sure AMD did their research before going with this decision. Keep in mind these are very specific benchmark numbers testing only raw bandwidth and not actual application performance.

Quote: Originally Posted by Lexi is Dumb View Post
Okay, I just noticed that the board is putting the voltage at about 1.46v during idle. Should I be worried?

Idle and low load it's fine, for heavy loads it's a bit much.
elmor is offline  
post #28 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 04:04 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,106
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
so i COULD set the IF clock to 2000 and push the ram to 4000DDR(2000Mhz) to get the 1:1 speed?

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #29 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 05:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 433
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
so i COULD set the IF clock to 2000 and push the ram to 4000DDR(2000Mhz) to get the 1:1 speed?
I think the max is 1800 for IF as it starts getting unstable if you go higher.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #30 of 206 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 06:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 583
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by VPII View Post
I think the max is 1800 for IF as it starts getting unstable if you go higher.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
I've read comments on reddit and elsewhere where they confirm you can set them however you like manually just that stability is not guaranteed with silicon variances being as they are so 2000/4000 might be possible theoretically it will be needed to be tested and found out if silicon is good enough for such practically.

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off