M.2 SSD no longer detected after upgrading to Ryzen 3600 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

M.2 SSD no longer detected after upgrading to Ryzen 3600

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 04:57 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradox me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,184
Rep: 221 (Unique: 194)
M.2 SSD no longer detected after upgrading to Ryzen 3600

I'm on an Asrock X370 Gaming-ITX flashed to the latest BIOS (P5.70, Ryzen 3000 compatible), which I ran for a while with my R5 1600 without issues, and after throwing in the new 3600 my SATA M.2 boot drive is no longer detected in the BIOS. I've tried just about everything I can think of, like clearing CMOS, reseating the SSD, etc. I know the drive is fine because it shows back up if I swap the 1600 back in and clear the CMOS. I'll probably just grab a regular SSD, but I really liked not having SATA data and power cables in my case.

Anyone else run into the issue on this or any other motherboard?

mITX
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 6GB
RAM
8GB Patriot Viper Elite
Hard Drive
500GB Mushkin Source M.2
Power Supply
SilverStone SX500-G
Cooling
Noctua NH-L9a AM4
Case
SilverStone SG13B
Operating System
WIndows 10 Pro
Monitor
Del U2311H
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
▲ hide details ▲
Paradox me is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 01:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thebufenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 163
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Maybe play with PCIe options? It might be having issues due to PCIe 4 support on that CPU.

I miss the golden days of OC'n
thebufenator is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 04:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rocklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 77
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
some of these i've read, need to be initialized and formatted in disk mgmt before use

keeping an NVMe USB Dock around, probably a good idea

sf
(7 items)
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Phantom SLi/ac
GPU
1660 SC Ultra
RAM
16Gb G-skill
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
660p
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
▲ hide details ▲
Rocklin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradox me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,184
Rep: 221 (Unique: 194)
Quote: Originally Posted by thebufenator View Post
Maybe play with PCIe options? It might be having issues due to PCIe 4 support on that CPU.
Quote: Originally Posted by Rocklin View Post
some of these i've read, need to be initialized and formatted in disk mgmt before use

keeping an NVMe USB Dock around, probably a good idea
Thanks for the replies. It's a SATA M.2 SSD though, so I wouldn't think it'd have anything to do with PCIe? Also, it's been in use for several months now as my Windows 10 boot drive. Installing the Ryzen 5 3600 made it undetectable in the BIOS, and if I put my old Ryzen 5 1600 back in then the drive reappears and boots normally.

mITX
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 6GB
RAM
8GB Patriot Viper Elite
Hard Drive
500GB Mushkin Source M.2
Power Supply
SilverStone SX500-G
Cooling
Noctua NH-L9a AM4
Case
SilverStone SG13B
Operating System
WIndows 10 Pro
Monitor
Del U2311H
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
▲ hide details ▲
Paradox me is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 10:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Maracus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 113
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Paradox me View Post
Thanks for the replies. It's a SATA M.2 SSD though, so I wouldn't think it'd have anything to do with PCIe? Also, it's been in use for several months now as my Windows 10 boot drive. Installing the Ryzen 5 3600 made it undetectable in the BIOS, and if I put my old Ryzen 5 1600 back in then the drive reappears and boots normally.
There is an issue with this on f40 bios that gigabtye are aware of, your not alone.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...heir_am4_bios/

Maracus is online now  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 10:46 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,003
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Paradox me View Post
Thanks for the replies. It's a SATA M.2 SSD though, so I wouldn't think it'd have anything to do with PCIe? Also, it's been in use for several months now as my Windows 10 boot drive. Installing the Ryzen 5 3600 made it undetectable in the BIOS, and if I put my old Ryzen 5 1600 back in then the drive reappears and boots normally.
m.2 drives use PCIe lanes.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 11:42 PM
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,969
It is likely a BIOS issue rather than a setting. You would have flashed a new BIOS to make your mobo compatible with the new CPU, I would imagine there is a bug in the BIOS which has reared its ugly head when you popped in the new CPU.


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:47 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,764
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
m.2 drives use PCIe lanes.
His drive uses the older AHCI protocole which runs off the SATA ports and the chipset it does not run directly from the PCI-E lanes like drives with the newer NVME protocole does
So no not all M.2 drives runs off the PCI-E lanes

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 12:54 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,003
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
His drive uses the older AHCI protocole which runs off the SATA ports and the chipset it does not run directly from the PCI-E lanes like drives with the newer NVME protocole does
So no not all M.2 drives runs off the PCI-E lanes
I don't think this is correct. An m.2 drive can be NVME or non-NVME and any non-NVME drive is going to default to ACHI. NVME is basically a replacement for ACHI which is just the name for the protocol controlling the drive but it doesn't necessarily dictate what bus/lanes are used. All m.2 drive will be physically connected to PCIe lanes, not sata but a non-NVME m.2 drive will use the older ACHI protocol which was the standard protocol for SATA, but just like m.2 ports can support NVME drive and ACHI drives, SATA ports can support ACHI or IDE drives as you can set the SATA controller to IDE mode on most motherboards.

I have an m.2 drive that is non-NVME and uses AHCI. It's reads at about 2300mb/s which is well above the capabilities of a sata port. NVME drives are general even faster but non-NVME m.2 drives can still be really fast, though many are just the m.2 version of an existing SATA SSD in a smaller form for thin laptops.


When the OP said "SATA m.2 boot drive" I believe he misspoke. OP what drive do you have? Model #

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti

Last edited by UltraMega; 07-12-2019 at 01:01 AM.
UltraMega is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 05:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradox me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,184
Rep: 221 (Unique: 194)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
When the OP said "SATA m.2 boot drive" I believe he misspoke. OP what drive do you have? Model #
Mushkin Source 500gb SATA-III M.2 - MKNSSDSR500GB-D8

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DWGFZG1/

mITX
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 6GB
RAM
8GB Patriot Viper Elite
Hard Drive
500GB Mushkin Source M.2
Power Supply
SilverStone SX500-G
Cooling
Noctua NH-L9a AM4
Case
SilverStone SG13B
Operating System
WIndows 10 Pro
Monitor
Del U2311H
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Mini
▲ hide details ▲
Paradox me is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off