der8auer Ryzen Boost clock survey - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

der8auer Ryzen Boost clock survey

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 02:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by Yuke View Post
My 3800X + Aorus Master

Still trying to figure out working 4.4Ghz All Core OC settings. Doesnt even post when i also have my RAM OC'ed...not sure what to do.
Voltage...

To run reasonably nonAVX Prime95 stable @ 4.4Ghz I need ~1.450V on my bad 3800X sample measured @ Socket with DMM.

I don't recommend you trying. AVX you can't go above ~1.350V and your already overheating no matter the cooling unless sub ambient cooling.
Any of these voltages aren't 'safe' to be said and are done with the risk of dead cpu soon enough as we have not enough data on failures yet.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 03:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Im not planning to hammer it with avx prime95 loads...but only hitting 4350Mhz in games occasionally on some cores is bothering me alot.


Premiere Pro and Game stable would be great...




Btw i have the exact same experience. Only 1.45V was booting on mine but not sure if LLC on lowest setting is good enough for reasonable vdroop under CB/Premiere loads.


Anyway thanks for the info!
Yuke is offline  
post #13 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 12:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 467
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by Yuke View Post
Im not planning to hammer it with avx prime95 loads...but only hitting 4350Mhz in games occasionally on some cores is bothering me alot.

Premiere Pro and Game stable would be great...

Btw i have the exact same experience. Only 1.45V was booting on mine but not sure if LLC on lowest setting is good enough for reasonable vdroop under CB/Premiere loads.

Anyway thanks for the info!
Use the highest switching frequency for CPU and SOC when using the lowest (most droop) LLC setting.

I was able to stabilize prime95 with AVX blend test using second lowest LLC for both CPU and SOC, +0.025v offset for CPU and 1000mhz switching frequency for CPU and SOC.

This is with combination of PBO Limits @MOTHERBOARD , Scaler @10x and Max CPU Boost @75mhz

I also put the CPU and SOC 'Protection' to 'enhanced'

When the switching frequency was on auto prime95 would crash out after an extended period of time.

See below my current PBO max boost frequencies


** EDIT **
Sorry, forgot to say, you need to have good cooling for your mosfets if you use the higher switching frequencies. I have a monoblock for my motherboard so the mosfets are watercooled.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	boost-clocks.png
Views:	13
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	291192  


SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v

Last edited by mongoled; 08-24-2019 at 12:40 AM.
mongoled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 05:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mongoled View Post
Use the highest switching frequency for CPU and SOC when using the lowest (most droop) LLC setting.

I was able to stabilize prime95 with AVX blend test using second lowest LLC for both CPU and SOC, +0.025v offset for CPU and 1000mhz switching frequency for CPU and SOC.

This is with combination of PBO Limits @MOTHERBOARD , Scaler @10x and Max CPU Boost @75mhz

I also put the CPU and SOC 'Protection' to 'enhanced'

When the switching frequency was on auto prime95 would crash out after an extended period of time.

See below my current PBO max boost frequencies


** EDIT **
Sorry, forgot to say, you need to have good cooling for your mosfets if you use the higher switching frequencies. I have a monoblock for my motherboard so the mosfets are watercooled.


My Gigabyte Bios seems to only have Names/mV settings for the things you mentioned, so i dont really know what represents what -.- gotta check in the manual later...
Yuke is offline  
post #15 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-01-2019, 06:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
The final. Only 3600 is working almost as advertised, but less than 6% of 3900x buyers saw 4600. Is it another lawsuit against AMD emerged on horizon?
Grin is offline  
post #16 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 04:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
I saw a reddit post on how to achieve advertised boost for the 3900X. Have it on a BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.2 that delivers 1.53-1.55V on boost and they deliver their advertised boost frequency.
All new BIOS limit VCORE @ 1.500V tops and that's why I presume we aren't hitting the BOX /advertisement speeds.

They where binned for 1.550V to hit their max frequency but new BIOS deliver only 1.500V.

I remember some dead cpu's @ launch for some people when they played around with them with too high LLC I recall mentioned.

1.550V + high LLC? how much voltage would be delivered? It was too much. I think we aren't meant to use LLC unless doing MANUAL OC. (LLC with PB & PBO behaves weirdly)

I tested and put a slight +0.0250V offset with PBO and my cpu started to increase it's max boost slightly getting closer and closer with more voltage to the real frequency it should run at.

Though I don't know if 1.550V is really what they should of ran at launch for single core boost. Pure speculation. But the increased voltage helps the CPU to boost higher.

Take this as you wish as a thought I had when I saw that reddit post and all the talk about this stuff on the net.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #17 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 06:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 156
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
"Why did AMD feel that it is necessary to advertise the boost or give the people false expectations and false hope for something that they cannot get? Why did they have to do the 3900X at 4.6 [GHz] when they probably clearly know that most of those CPUs would never maintain this speed? It was clearly never necessary to do this; it's completely unnecessary. The CPUs are good enough the way they are. They deliver, and they're good. But those frequency values are just completely wrong." - Der8auer
Grin is offline  
post #18 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 07:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grin View Post
"Why did AMD feel that it is necessary to advertise the boost or give the people false expectations and false hope for something that they cannot get? Why did they have to do the 3900X at 4.6 [GHz] when they probably clearly know that most of those CPUs would never maintain this speed? It was clearly never necessary to do this; it's completely unnecessary. The CPUs are good enough the way they are. They deliver, and they're good. But those frequency values are just completely wrong." - Der8auer
But add the if the rated voltage was 1.550V for rated speeds? No wonder no one hits them @ 1.500V but rare samples, ~5% for most sku:s?

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #19 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 07:31 AM
Waiting for 7nm EUV
 
tpi2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11,363
Rep: 894 (Unique: 503)
AMD needs to start under promising and over delivering.

This is the same mindset that makes them put the CPU's boost clock on the box and marketing slides first and only then the base clock, they are the ones creating expectations that they then fail to meet. Intel and Nvidia have figured out how to avoid creating these situations a long time ago; the box of my Core i7-3820 doesn't even list the boost clock, only the base clock. In the same way, Nvidia under promises and over delivers on their GPU boost clocks.

AMD needs to follow suit ASAP, it's not doing them any good. AMD, show that you're nimble and can learn from mistakes halfway through a generation and do it right for the Threadripper 3000 series.


tpi2007 is offline  
post #20 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 08:04 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,613
Rep: 274 (Unique: 219)
I'm sure they are working on a new AGESA to fix the issue. That 6% is probably on an older AGESA. The boards with the older AGESA had a higher boost clock. And the boards with the newer AGESA use too much voltage for the clocks.

In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off