Please help, my new build will not post - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Please help, my new build will not post

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mong00se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Please help, my new build will not post

Folks, I need some help. I’m putting together a new/updated build and now that I have all the components installed I can’t get the computer to boot.

Components:
Ryzen 7 3700x with stock wraith cooler – New purchase
Asus TUF x570 ATX Mobo – New purchase
16gb corsair vengeance ram 3200mhz – have been using in a previous build with no issues
Silverstone 600w PSU – have been using in a previous build with no issues
Geforce 1080 ti – have been using in a previous build with no issues
Samsung 970 evo M.2 SSD – have been using in a previous build with no issues

When I turn on the PSU, the RGB on the motherboard lights up. However, when I push the power button on the case, the fans and wraith RGB light up very briefly and immediately power off. From there pushing the power button does nothing unless I turn back off/on the power supply. If I try again, the same thing happens.

I also have a SFX Power Supply which is also a 600w Silverstone. When I connect all the cables to this PSU, the RGB and fans will boot up for about 5-10 seconds before resetting and endlessly loop on this boot/restart cycle. I managed to get to the Bios screen just once using this PSU, but seemed to be a stroke of luck, as when I exited the same loop continued.

My assumption is that the Mobo is DOA given that the rest of my components have been working fine in other builds. Though the fact that I’m getting two different results with different PSUs makes me wonder if maybe I need a different, more powerful PSU? However I would think 600w should be plenty for a single GPU and this build.

Please help!
mong00se is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 07:08 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,064
Rep: 2739 (Unique: 1626)
Most SilverStone PSU´s are not very good so try a better brand and model before sending the motherboard in for RMA
The stock wraith is not all that good either by the way

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mong00se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
mong00se

I don't plan to keep the Wraith long term.

On the PSU, it seems surprising that the two PSUs that I've tried both failed in the build, when they both work just fine in other builds.
mong00se is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 07:31 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,064
Rep: 2739 (Unique: 1626)
What exact models are those SilverStone units? really hope you dont have a 600 watt Strider Titanium as those are god awful

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 07:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 226
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Most SilverStone PSU´s are not very good so try a better brand and model before sending the motherboard in for RMA
The stock wraith is not all that good either by the way
yeah this has nothing to do with his issue, his PSU should work just fine, switching to a 3700x and a new mobo wouldn't all of a sudden be non compatible.... He tried 2 psus...



Firstly reseat everything, power cables, mobo sata cables etc. Even your CPU if you have extra paste. Then I'd take out the mobo bios battery and to reset it. Then try one ram stick at a time. You could try to plug in both PSU's, use one for the GPU the rest for the mobo. See what happens. If the 2 PSUs work in a combo, then you would need a higher watt PSU.




Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Blower, Ryzen 2600 4.0 ghz, AIO Cool Mast Seidon 120mm, 3200 ddr3 cl16, B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt PSU.
treetops422 is online now  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 07:33 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,064
Rep: 2739 (Unique: 1626)
More wattage is going to make zero difference a 600 watt is more than enough power unless its broken and since its a SilverStone branded PSU i would consider that likely

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 413
Rep: 16 (Unique: 12)
Set the motherboard up outside of the case with bare minimals, i.e. 1 stick of ram, 1 vga and no hdd.


See if issues still exists........

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.43v | 15-15-17-10-28-42-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mong00se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks folks, I'll try the various suggestions tonight and see if I can narrow down the problem.

mong00se is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 11:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 413
Rep: 16 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by mong00se View Post
Thanks folks, I'll try the various suggestions tonight and see if I can narrow down the problem.
If that fails, reseat the CPU



SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.43v | 15-15-17-10-28-42-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mong00se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well now I'm worried that the CPU itself is bungled, which I didn't expect as I thought DOA CPUs were rare.

I took the motherboard out of the case and tried to get it to work with just a single stick of memory, the CPU, fan, and GPU without success.

I then tried a different kit of memory, tried a third PSU (850watt EVGA), tried a different motherboard (swapped for another ASUS Tuf x570 from bestbuy), and tried a GTX 1070 graphics card rather than my 1080ti.

I also reseated the CPU twice.

At this point the only explanation I can come up with is that the CPU itself is bad. Anyone seen this happen?


Last edited by mong00se; 09-12-2019 at 08:46 PM.
mong00se is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off