What is a quick stability test to run? - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

What is a quick stability test to run?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 03:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,180
Rep: 27 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Apex Legends does not use AVX instructions. The developer / programmer himself (Oriostorm) confirmed this directly. It uses SSE2 instructions and AVX is an extension of SSE2. Certain SSE2 instructions can trigger an AVX offset downclock. Overwatch doesn't use AVX either and even that game triggers AVX downclocks randomly.
Interesting. So the only game that does use AVX instructions is BFV? I've seen random AVX offset downclocks in two games I know don't use AVX. I was thinking of turning my AVX offset off because I don't have any applications that use AVX instructions at all except Prime95.
8051 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 04:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,927
Rep: 422 (Unique: 295)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Interesting. So the only game that does use AVX instructions is BFV? I've seen random AVX offset downclocks in two games I know don't use AVX. I was thinking of turning my AVX offset off because I don't have any applications that use AVX instructions at all except Prime95.
Battlefield 5 was never stated by EA or Dice to use AVX instructions, and no one knows what part of the game uses AVX. One person guessed it was part of the anti cheat routines.
Many games that use SSE2 instructions trigger an AVX downclock since AVX is an extension of SSE2.

Gigabyte checked a bug report on this and they found that on a fresh windows 10 (unknown what build) with NO extra drivers or packages (like C++) installed, besides basic chipset requirements, windows never triggered an AVX downclock on the desktop (e.g. opening start menu) or in non AVX games. But after they updated some runtimes and packages, AVX downclocks were happening even on the desktop. Gigabyte said that the packages were using AVX code in the background as part of windows. At least that was their conclusion.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #43 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 06:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,259
Rep: 175 (Unique: 111)
I'm out of the loop with the specifics of Intel CPUs, so what is the deal with AVX downclocks?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 10:00 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 9,483
Rep: 129 (Unique: 85)
Quote: Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
I'm out of the loop with the specifics of Intel CPUs, so what is the deal with AVX downclocks?
Hi,
avx offset allows higher clock for non avx stuff where it may crash a system so the avx offset if running 4.8 and you use avx 3 you'll down clock to 4.5 instead of crashing at 4.8

If you want to test use blender opendata benchmark it will throw avx content
Short test is about 8-10 minutes Long or full test is about 30-40minutes.

https://opendata.blender.org/

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
post #45 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 11:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,259
Rep: 175 (Unique: 111)
When did Intel start doing this? I'd be a little mad that they down clock the CPU for certain instructions. I know it's hardly a secret, but does it limit the boost or underclock it lower than the advertised base frequency?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #46 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 11:26 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 9,483
Rep: 129 (Unique: 85)
Quote: Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
When did Intel start doing this? I'd be a little mad that they down clock the CPU for certain instructions. I know it's hardly a secret, but does it limit the boost or underclock it lower than the advertised base frequency?
Hi,
Based clocks and using turbo = nobody does that
But would it really matter cpu already runs as it wants too if one or ... cores hit the turbo speed it did exactly what is advertised

Point is manual overclocking all core speeds and maxing it out beyond turbo clocks.
Quit a few benchmarks do not use avx cinebench R20/ 15.. doesn't usually trigger an avx offset neither does time spy/....

Games might.

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
post #47 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 02:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,180
Rep: 27 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
When did Intel start doing this? I'd be a little mad that they down clock the CPU for certain instructions. I know it's hardly a secret, but does it limit the boost or underclock it lower than the advertised base frequency?
From what I understand AMD runs AVX instructions at half the speed of the processor.
8051 is offline  
post #48 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 09:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,259
Rep: 175 (Unique: 111)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
From what I understand AMD runs AVX instructions at half the speed of the processor.
Are you talking about Zen and Zen plus taking two clocks to do AVX 256 bit?

That's not the same since Zen and Zen+ FPUs are only 128 bits wide.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #49 of 49 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 09:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 858
Rep: 16 (Unique: 11)
I have to say that I've never been a Prime95 fan as I think the heat generated is rediculous. I did however try it with my new 3950X at 4.2ghz using 1.1875vcore and it would run for sometimes 5 minutes, sometimes 10 minutes and on the odd occation 15 minutes before the system switch of and restart. Now I know maybe the vcore is too little, so I tried 1.2, 1.2124 and 1.225 as vcore but Prime95 would restart even sooner. So immediately I started looking at the VR-loop 1 & 2 uder hardwareinfo to check vr temps. Interestingly, the restart would happen the moment those readings are 50c or above, which is way inside aceptable for VRM. I checked the bios and found that I can set the VRM protection temp so I set it at 100c (the lowest I can set it) but still at 50c it would restart. Now understand during these runs the cpu temp is sitting between 80 and 81C so CPU temp is not an issue. I set in the bios VRM protection to 120, most is 125C and now it can go just past 50 but would still restart if over 51C.

Now interestingly I found that another bench that would quickly tell you if you have stability is the full Blender Benchmark and it also uses AVX2. Now I had it pass the full test at 4.2ghz using the 1.1875vcore and I noticed the highest the vrm temp 49c. Yesterday I ran it again, but ambient was sitting in the mid 30C so I quickly saw the VRM temp climb to 49C, I left the machine and 5 minutes later it restarted. So I do belive my processor to be stable. I ran AIDA64 stress test for 1 hours max cp temps around 79 to 80C and vrm temps was sitting at 47 to 48C.

AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
MSI Meg X570 Ace Bios V170
4 x 8GB G-Skill DDR4 3200 CL14 @ DDR4 3600 CL15
Palit Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
VPII is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off