Big troubles with ryzen build - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Big troubles with ryzen build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 04:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
i core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Big troubles with ryzen build

+

Hi i bought prebuild 3600x with b450 msi tomahawk b450 max mobo from retailer. I added to it new Nvme adata pcie 2tb drive, new Gskill Trident Z 3200c14 b die 2x8GB RAM and samsung evo 850 ,GTX1070 card, Evga 850 G2 PSU from previous computer. With all components PC is crashing more often. Problem is PC cant handle even win 10 install on auto settings and crashing with about 20 percent to finish the install with minimum components in it. I removed almost all parts just left 1 RAM , Samsung ssd and GC . Tried CPU override to 1.35v with no luck. Temperature looks ok its running cool with 3 case fans.
Everything is seated properly cant speak for CPU as it was pre assempled from retailer. BIOS is latest and sees all components no problem there.No idea what to check next this is my 1st build. I dont have any other components to swap and check atm .
Any advice will be much appreciate it

i core is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 04:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,721
Rep: 487 (Unique: 274)
When you say it crashes while installing windows 10, what does it actually do? Blue screen, freeze , black screen?
cssorkinman is offline  
post #3 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 04:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
i core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
When you say it crashes while installing windows 10, what does it actually do? Blue screen, freeze , black screen?
its like instant crash just went black for 1 sec. then Arsenal Gaming logo appears .Then on screen is error that pc has restarted and windows install cant be done

i core is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 05:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,721
Rep: 487 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by i core View Post
its like instant crash just went black for 1 sec. then Arsenal Gaming logo appears .Then on screen is error that pc has restarted and windows install cant be done
I guess i'd try clear cmos , set optimised defaults then bump up the ram voltage before starting win install.

Are you installing the os from a usb stick?

EDIT: if that fails I'd set cpu voltage from auto to overide and set it at 1.4 volts - good luck!

Last edited by cssorkinman; 01-12-2020 at 05:22 AM.
cssorkinman is offline  
post #5 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
i core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
I guess i'd try clear cmos , set optimised defaults then bump up the ram voltage before starting win install.

Are you installing the os from a usb stick?

EDIT: if that fails I'd set cpu voltage from auto to overide and set it at 1.4 volts - good luck!
yes from usb stick. It works well i did clean install with it before .i think cmos was cleared many times because im swapping power supply between old and new pc. Can you be clear please what optimised defaults mean.Also what RAM voltages do you recommend . I set cpu voltage override on 1.35v before with no luck. Any more suggestions before i swap PS to new pc

i core is offline  
post #6 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 05:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,721
Rep: 487 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by i core View Post
yes from usb stick. It works well i did clean install with it before .i think cmos was cleared many times because im swapping power supply between old and new pc. Can you be clear please what optimised defaults mean.Also what RAM voltages do you recommend . I set cpu voltage override on 1.35v before with no luck. Any more suggestions before i swap PS to new pc
I'd still go to 1.4 volts on the cpu and same on the ram. You still need to clear the cmos with a jumper or button if your board has it. The battery will save settings if you don't. Normally Pressing F5 will set optimised defaults,but your manual should tell you what it is for that motherboard.
cssorkinman is offline  
post #7 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
i core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
I'd still go to 1.4 volts on the cpu and same on the ram. You still need to clear the cmos with a jumper or button if your board has it. The battery will save settings if you don't. Normally Pressing F5 will set optimised defaults,but your manual should tell you what it is for that motherboard.
thanks will do that. Any follow up what to do next when i install win10. What to do next to avoid crashes because system is crazy unstable. thank you

i core is offline  
post #8 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 05:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 126
Rep: 10 (Unique: 7)
Do you have another drive you can try to install Windows on? Maybe that Evo 850 is on its last legs...

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
post #9 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
i core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Bad5ector View Post
Do you have another drive you can try to install Windows on? Maybe that Evo 850 is on its last legs...
hi . evo is fine. i did install on adata pcie and all unesesary componets were disconected . whole system is very unstable i doubt its ssds. Looks like problem between cpu, mobo ,ram, pcie ssd , power supply

i core is offline  
post #10 of 103 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
i core's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by i core View Post
thanks will do that. Any follow up what to do next when i install win10. What to do next to avoid crashes because system is crazy unstable. thank you
Big thanks for pointers so far so good now. Looks like upping ram voltage did the trick. I took ssd with win10 from old pc and it works now. Still didnt put in pcie drive just want to see how far it will go without crash. Only weird thing is happening on start up . In about 30secs reboots to black screen with BIOS logo screen then come back startup screen then black screen in about 40 sec. then start up screen and then black screen. Always after 3rd time reboot it works well then. Last time reboot said like it repairing c drive. Can i disable these check in BIOS somehow . Dont know why is that. 3 times reboot then it works well

i core is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off