Did i damage or ruin my ryzen cpu? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Did i damage or ruin my ryzen cpu?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Did i damage or ruin my ryzen cpu?

Hey guys..


i was messing with the bios earlier to adjust my vcore even more
i accidently did a positive offset instead of negative on my vcore and i accidently set my ryzen 5 1500x cpu at 1.6vcore!
i rebooted and went back into the bios i noticed it right away that its 1.6v so i RIGHT AWAY changed it back to default 1.2-1.3v.
but now im worried,the pc still works but did i just damage my cpu? did i reduced its life?

or is it fine?


my full specs are


ryzen 5 1500x 3.5ghz
asus prime a320m-k

16gb ddr4 3200
gtx 1050 ti 4gb
ssd
Marlo B N-Mercy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 03:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 856
Rep: 15 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by Marlo B N-Mercy View Post
Hey guys..


i was messing with the bios earlier to adjust my vcore even more
i accidently did a positive offset instead of negative on my vcore and i accidently set my ryzen 5 1500x cpu at 1.6vcore!
i rebooted and went back into the bios i noticed it right away that its 1.6v so i RIGHT AWAY changed it back to default 1.2-1.3v.
but now im worried,the pc still works but did i just damage my cpu? did i reduced its life?

or is it fine?


my full specs are


ryzen 5 1500x 3.5ghz
asus prime a320m-k

16gb ddr4 3200
gtx 1050 ti 4gb
ssd
I believe it should still be fine if you changed it back immediately, but that is just my opinion.

AMD Ryzen 9 3950X
MSI Meg X570 Ace Bios V170
4 x 8GB G-Skill DDR4 3200 CL14 @ DDR4 3600 CL15
Palit Geforce RTX 2080 Ti
VPII is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 03:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imprezzion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Gorredijk, Holland
Posts: 2,571
Rep: 102 (Unique: 89)
As long as you didn't put a load on the CPU it will be just fine. Ryzen is pretty resilient and 1.6v isn't even that high. People with more extreme cooling often bench way higher then that.

Cars:
-Crashed: (not my fault ) '94 Nissan 100NX GA16DE (a.k.a. NX1600). Renault Laguna Phase I facelift '99 1.6 K4M. (Broke a strut and smacked a tree).
-Sold: '00 Nissan Primera P11-144 QG18DE, '97 Honda Prelude F20A4, 03 Ignis Sport.
-Current daily: '07 Ford Focus 1.6 Futura.
-Current funcars: '03 Peugeot 206CC 2.0 RFN fully riced and tuned (Turbo coming soon)
Full-On Rainbowbarf
(16 items)
P45 power!
(9 items)
CPU
i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz 1.248v
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z390 ACE
GPU
MSI Armor GTX1080 Ti w/ Accelero IV @ 2063/6500Mhz
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB B-Die @ 4200 16-17-17-28-280-2T 1.54v
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB x2
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Cooling
EK MLC-Phoenix 280 Kit
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
Samsung S27B350H @ 1080p 75Hz OC
Monitor
Iiyama GB2788HS @ 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Trust GXT31
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 Large
Audio
Steelseries Siberia V2
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz (333x9)
Motherboard
MSI P45 Neo2-FR
GPU
MSI GTX760 Gaming X
RAM
6GB completely random 1 and 2GB sticks. All 4 different ones.
Hard Drive
A-Data 120GB SSD
Power Supply
AOpen 350w
Cooling
Some huge aluminum Xeon heatsink
Case
Cartboard box.
Operating System
W10 Pro x64
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1270v1 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8H61-i R2.0
GPU
Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X @ 1230Mhz core.
RAM
16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2400CL11 @ 1333CL6
Hard Drive
Kingston 240GB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair CX600
Cooling
Corsair H110i GTX
Case
Custom open test bench made from a cut-up CM690 v1
Operating System
W10 Pro X64
Monitor
Samsung 23" cheap thing
Keyboard
Cheapest one Aldi had
Mouse
Cheapest one Aldi had
Mousepad
The desk...
▲ hide details ▲
Imprezzion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 03:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Imprezzion View Post
As long as you didn't put a load on the CPU it will be just fine. Ryzen is pretty resilient and 1.6v isn't even that high. People with more extreme cooling often bench way higher then that.

nah i was in bios changed it too 1.6v ,rebooted then went straight back into the bios after the reboot and i saw 1.6v right away changed it back and reboot again thats all i did..
so it was maybe at 1.6v for maybe what 50-60seconds?? also when you are inside the bios is that considered idle?
thanks,scared me i thought i ruined it ,im pretty poor i cant afford a new cpu in a year =/
Marlo B N-Mercy is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 03:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by VPII View Post
I believe it should still be fine if you changed it back immediately, but that is just my opinion.

yeah right away i dont think it was longer than 1 minute maybe less, all i did was like i said is change it to 1.6v rebooted ,saw it was 1.6v changed it back
thanks scare the hell out of me i cant afford a new cpu soon =/
Marlo B N-Mercy is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 04:23 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,172
Rep: 42 (Unique: 25)
If it works, it works, if it doesn't, no one can prove it's your fault.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 04:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
If it works, it works, if it doesn't, no one can prove it's your fault.

that doesnt mean i didnt damage it ;p i mean i could of damaged it while its still working fine?
but i think im ok like the above people are saying
Marlo B N-Mercy is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 06:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
darkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
its ok
its AMD :-)

Offical Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!
AZ
darkage is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-16-2020, 10:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Did something similar to my R7 1700 -- 1.6v ... then I ran heavy benchmarks for several minutes ... and it didn't crash! When my AIO spun up to 100% I figured something seems wrong here ...

Still works fine. I guess they're tough.
Laughing hard is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 04:48 AM
Turtle Lives Matter
 
damric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Azalea City
Posts: 4,729
Rep: 431 (Unique: 332)
Seems like how I normally run CPU 😛

Borg Cube
(16 items)
Sky OC
(10 items)
CPU
R5 1600(14nm) @4100MHz
Motherboard
GA-AX370-Gaming K5
GPU
XFX RX 570 4GB
RAM
Ripjaws V @3466CL16
Hard Drive
VPN-100 NVMe
Power Supply
Rosewill CAPSTONE (SF GG)
Cooling
TCP-612
Cooling
2x EVGA FX 120mm Fan
Cooling
2x Cooler Master MasterFan Pro 140 Air Flow
Case
HAF XB
Operating System
10-64 PRO
Monitor
Samsung 4K 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G105
Mouse
Devastator II
Audio
Xonar SE
Audio
Logitech Z623
Motherboard
Z170 K4/D3
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
2x8GB RipjawsX
Hard Drive
Silicon Power A80
Power Supply
Supernova G3
Cooling
i7 Stock Cooler
Case
Aerocool Bolt
Operating System
10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung 58" 4K
▲ hide details ▲
damric is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off