EDC = 1, PBO TURBO BOOST - Page 38 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

EDC = 1, PBO TURBO BOOST

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #371 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 09:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by IXICALIBUR View Post
i have the same setup, 1.5v is fine for single threads. i remember a reddit post or yt vid that said CnQ is tied to pstates setting on some boards. my CCD0 cores each hit 4.6 if i open my window at night to lower ambiant (australia/summer) and CCD1 cores hit 4.4ghz.

Thanks cuz; thats pretty






EDIT: DAAANG; I just realized that mine is doing the exact same as yours mate. I'm concerned about the voltage though =/








EDIT2: holy OC heaven; one hit 4.7 all by itself!! - -- ahh cores, they grow up so fast. Seems like I was teaching them to walk just yesterday
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GreatliOC.png
Views:	25
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	326706  

Click image for larger version

Name:	OCInstall1.png
Views:	44
Size:	238.4 KB
ID:	326708  


DO OR B-DIE -- 3800C14-16GTZN
CPU
3900X
Motherboard
AsRock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
RAM
Trident Z Neo F43800C14D-16GTZN Samsung B-Die
Hard Drive
Seagate FireCuda 520 PCI-e 4.0 NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Pro SATA
Power Supply
NZXT HALE90 Fully Modular
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 72X 380mm Radiator
Cooling
Corsair RGB Fans x3
Case
Corsair Crystal 570x Mirrrored Black Finish
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Monoprice Zero-G 35" Curved Ultra-Wide
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech Trackball
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Greatli; 02-14-2020 at 11:13 AM.
Greatli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #372 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 01:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)


boosttester

my set

ppt 175
tdc 130
edc 25

scalar x8

max boost 200 mhz

llc 3 vcore



llc 3 vsoc
Giuseppe Io is offline  
post #373 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 09:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
My voltage is going APE - It wasn't like this before.


I turned on all-core OC earlier; ran some tests; then went back to our EDC feature here; and now HwInfo reports that voltage is going crazy - Like; 1.5v ALL THE TIME crazy- what the heck is going on? Am I going to die?


The heat output doesn't look like it is really @ 1.5v because its not even breaking 45c and RM reports 1.3v average instead of 1.5v? Is it just HWinfo giving me bs numbers err?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	eeekvoltage.png
Views:	44
Size:	207.2 KB
ID:	326874  


DO OR B-DIE -- 3800C14-16GTZN
CPU
3900X
Motherboard
AsRock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
RAM
Trident Z Neo F43800C14D-16GTZN Samsung B-Die
Hard Drive
Seagate FireCuda 520 PCI-e 4.0 NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Pro SATA
Power Supply
NZXT HALE90 Fully Modular
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 72X 380mm Radiator
Cooling
Corsair RGB Fans x3
Case
Corsair Crystal 570x Mirrrored Black Finish
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Monoprice Zero-G 35" Curved Ultra-Wide
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech Trackball
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Greatli; 02-15-2020 at 01:09 PM.
Greatli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #374 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 08:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Greatli View Post
My voltage is going APE - It wasn't like this before.


I turned on all-core OC earlier; ran some tests; then went back to our EDC feature here; and now HwInfo reports that voltage is going crazy - Like; 1.5v ALL THE TIME crazy- what the heck is going on? Am I going to die?


The heat output doesn't look like it is really @ 1.5v because its not even breaking 45c and RM reports 1.3v average instead of 1.5v? Is it just HWinfo giving me bs numbers err?

i just tested EDC 999->25, PPT 999, TDC 999 on X570 Aorus Master F11 and 3950X, NH-D15, LLC High, Scalar 5X. I get CB20 from 9524->9872 Cpu-Z single 556.8->560.4 multi 10986->11467, P95 162-174W 80oC -> 200-220W 95oC.



CnQ as C-states are enabled, i hit 4.7ghz in some cores.



However it seems to keep the low load voltages that exceed the 25 EDC limit high (aka 1.45-1.5V) as well as the clocks of the cores which might not be safe for continuous use. Temps stay low because the cores don't do much work, but this is not the normal behavior. Only when a core sleeps it goes down to low voltage. But basically i think voltages just follow the boost multiplier set. So this way PBO basically breaks since it's over the limit and boosts the hell out of any load other than 0%/sleep.
St0RM53 is offline  
post #375 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 09:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 809
Rep: 94 (Unique: 73)
Quote: Originally Posted by Greatli View Post
My voltage is going APE - It wasn't like this before.


I turned on all-core OC earlier; ran some tests; then went back to our EDC feature here; and now HwInfo reports that voltage is going crazy - Like; 1.5v ALL THE TIME crazy- what the heck is going on? Am I going to die?


The heat output doesn't look like it is really @ 1.5v because its not even breaking 45c and RM reports 1.3v average instead of 1.5v? Is it just HWinfo giving me bs numbers err?
The voltage that you showed is requesting that voltage.AMD CPU's almost think for themselves and change their operating parameters several (hundreds/thousands between 0.2v - 1.5v ) of times per second on default settings.It is almost impossible to get 100% accurate reading at a particular time with polling rates on third party software.

I would suggest for the most accurate temperature I would look at CPU (Tctl/Tdie)
I would suggest for the most accurate voltage I would look at CPU CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) and a lesser accurate vcore voltage.JMO
gerardfraser is offline  
post #376 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 11:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by gerardfraser View Post
The voltage that you showed is requesting that voltage.AMD CPU's almost think for themselves and change their operating parameters several (hundreds/thousands between 0.2v - 1.5v ) of times per second on default settings.It is almost impossible to get 100% accurate reading at a particular time with polling rates on third party software.

I would suggest for the most accurate temperature I would look at CPU (Tctl/Tdie)
I would suggest for the most accurate voltage I would look at CPU CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) and a lesser accurate vcore voltage.JMO



thanks mate; good suggestions

DO OR B-DIE -- 3800C14-16GTZN
CPU
3900X
Motherboard
AsRock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
RAM
Trident Z Neo F43800C14D-16GTZN Samsung B-Die
Hard Drive
Seagate FireCuda 520 PCI-e 4.0 NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Pro SATA
Power Supply
NZXT HALE90 Fully Modular
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 72X 380mm Radiator
Cooling
Corsair RGB Fans x3
Case
Corsair Crystal 570x Mirrrored Black Finish
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Monoprice Zero-G 35" Curved Ultra-Wide
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech Trackball
▲ hide details ▲
Greatli is offline  
post #377 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 04:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Can anyone with 3600x share settings? I was trying EDC from 1 to 10 but my system randomly throttle. Both MC and SC.
hadonbg is offline  
post #378 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-17-2020, 10:15 AM
Supra
 
MadSupra354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
No matter what I do, PBO Advanced just makes my system unstable, and PBO disabled makes no difference compared to it enabled with stock settings.

My 3600 boosts all cores to 4.2GHz with PBO disabled, on moderate workloads but still. Hangs around 3.9-4.05GHz on heavy workloads. Then, after some tweaking [91 PPT, 57 TDC, 75 EDC 1X +100MHz] got an extra 18 pts on CB R20 - 3622>3640. Single core then went up - 484>499. Then even if I run Aida for 10 minutes, I'll BSOD when web browsing or doing something irrelevant.

Should I just leave PBO alone?

Greyscale
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus AX370 GAMING-K5Q
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64 NITRO+
RAM
Corsair Dominator LPX
Hard Drive
Corsair Force GS
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Case
Silverstone Raven 3
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Monitor
Acer H236HLbmjd
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 104UG HiPro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix Alioth XL
Audio
Hifiman HE-500
▲ hide details ▲
MadSupra354 is offline  
post #379 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-17-2020, 02:10 PM
No u
 
savagebunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,130
Rep: 350 (Unique: 292)
Users struggling with SC in CB15/20 Geekbench once you set EDC of 0/1/10/16 varying CPU or whatever you do.

I was able to repeat this with CB15/CB20 so far. Makes sense with my other data which I'll post later looking into this "bug" whatever you wanna call it.

Parameters: 420 ppt/tdc 16 edc 10x scalar, 7/8/9x react the same. Ambient 18-19c. Noctua D15, GB Ultra BIOS F12b. Cool'n'Quiet is DISABLED. Only way for my chip to boost to 4.6 in Window if CNQ is disabled. Linux isn't broken and I can keep is enabled, but gotta love Windows. Someone probably mentioned it but doesn't work on ABBA.

cb15 211 / 3386 w/ ryzen master open v1472
190 RM closed
211 again RM open

cb20 477 / 7670 RM closed
521 / 7637 RM open

Geekbench5 responds the same way. low single score if Ryzen Master is closed. If I have Ryzen Master open, I gain score. I'm honestly confused. https://browser.geekbench.com/v5/cpu...seline=1244762

tl;dr Open Ryzen Master, HWiNFO. Have a program polling. Certain programs need this since it wont boost properly I'm assuming? Your SC scores should go up. YMMV.


My Build
GB Ultra F12b
3900x
GSkill 3200C14 @ 3733CL16 tuned sub timings.

Semper Fi Daniel



Last edited by savagebunny; 02-17-2020 at 02:16 PM.
savagebunny is offline  
post #380 of 396 (permalink) Old 02-18-2020, 01:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ManniX-ITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 84
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MadSupra354 View Post
No matter what I do, PBO Advanced just makes my system unstable, and PBO disabled makes no difference compared to it enabled with stock settings.

My 3600 boosts all cores to 4.2GHz with PBO disabled, on moderate workloads but still. Hangs around 3.9-4.05GHz on heavy workloads. Then, after some tweaking [91 PPT, 57 TDC, 75 EDC 1X +100MHz] got an extra 18 pts on CB R20 - 3622>3640. Single core then went up - 484>499. Then even if I run Aida for 10 minutes, I'll BSOD when web browsing or doing something irrelevant.

Should I just leave PBO alone?
Did you try a lower EDC value to profit from the boost bug?
My 3800x too is unstable unless using EDC at 0.
I had to struggle a bit to find the right settings to run with EDC at 1.

Pandorum
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
GigaByte X570 AORUS Master
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 F4-3600C16-GTZNC 16-18-19-32-48-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 970 PRO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
beQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
Case
Corsair 750D Airflow
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248 144MHz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed
▲ hide details ▲
ManniX-ITA is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off