VGA led new MSI X570 + 3800X - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

VGA led new MSI X570 + 3800X

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter
RGB Numba Wan!
 
wermad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, Cali
Posts: 23,308
Rep: 906 (Unique: 620)
VGA led new MSI X570 + 3800X

Update 2-21-2020: Solution - bought an asus board




After fighting my 6700k and z170 for months on stability issues and having a project due, I went to best buy and purchased a 3800x and MSI x570 Wifi edge. Was pretty excited but that was killed immediately with a VGA led. I did some searching online and ran to best buy to get another board. They only had the same board and i got the same led. Any ideas before I return these? I was so excited to finally go amd and this sucks tbh. Using sig rig components. Here's what I tested:

-amd + each gpu, using both slots
-changed ram (ballistics to ripjaws), did the whole 2nd dimm idea i found on the MSI boards
-tested both gpu on a g4400 + msi z170m5 and a 4170 + h80; both intel setups booted with no issues

Notes:

I'm using a mini displayport to hdmi 2.0 adapter for my TCL 4k 55 tv
The dvi is busted on these cards (damaged when they shipped to me)


Also, is this the so called "cold boot bug"???

Initially, i was planning on getting a 2700x (now a 2600) and Asus prime pro x470 or Strix x470 and save some money for some vega 64s (I run a lot of older games that still work well in xfire in 4k).

So is this just a crappy chain of events? The only thing I could think of is old bios that need an apu to boot and update bios. Best buy didn't have an apu and I didn't want to dump more money into this.

Just very perplexed that an amd setup does not like amd gpu's...





I'm still planning to go all air as I'm tired of dealing with the aio's on these gpu's (there were damaged in shipping). Thanks for the help guys!

"I always throw my golf club in the direction of the next hole" R. Reagan
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
GPU
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
GPU
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB
RAM
CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB PRO Light Enhancement Kit
Hard Drive
ADATA 1TB SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 1300G2
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Phanteks Lux2 (719)
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Glaive Pro
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by wermad; 02-21-2020 at 09:20 PM. Reason: solution
wermad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 08:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 847
Rep: 96 (Unique: 75)
Maybe just go back to Intel. I find it amazing that someone can switch from Intel to AMD and AMD just does not work.I own Intel and AMD machines.

You said-After fighting my 6700k and z170 for months on stability issues and having a project due, I went to best buy and purchased a 3800x and MSI x570 Wifi edge

Your using sig rig components
GPU
XFX 295x2 (Quad-fire)
RAM
G.skill Ripjaws 4 16GB (4x4GB) 2400
Power Supply
EVGA 1300G2

Then your getting getting a 2700x (now a 2600) and Asus prime pro x470 or Strix x470 and save some money for some vega 64s(I run a lot of older games that still work well in xfire in 4k).

You also then said -tested both gpu on a g4400 + msi z170m5 and a 4170 + h80; both intel setups booted with no issues

So I am stupid and confused.
I would try to help if anything you wrote made sense to me,yeah I still suggest go back to Intel.

I must say you have 23,000+ post on the forum,did someone steal your account,if not refer to the so I am stupid and confused part.

Last edited by gerardfraser; 02-16-2020 at 08:28 PM.
gerardfraser is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 10:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,876
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
It's not the cold boot bug.


I'd probably be looking to return the damaged gpu's myself , unless there's something I'm misunderstanding


cssorkinman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
RGB Numba Wan!
 
wermad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, Cali
Posts: 23,308
Rep: 906 (Unique: 620)
Thanks for the help. I gave up and returned them. I ordered a 2700x & x470 combo on special for almost half the cost. I have new gpu's (vega 64s) incoming and I'm hoping they will work. Best buy tried helping but I just wanted my money back and move on. I wasted a whole week and have been relying on a dual core setup I had lying around (z270 and g4400). I'm hoping the 2700x and x470 work immediately with the vega 64.

"I always throw my golf club in the direction of the next hole" R. Reagan
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
GPU
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
GPU
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB
RAM
CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB PRO Light Enhancement Kit
Hard Drive
ADATA 1TB SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 1300G2
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Phanteks Lux2 (719)
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Glaive Pro
▲ hide details ▲
wermad is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
RGB Numba Wan!
 
wermad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, Cali
Posts: 23,308
Rep: 906 (Unique: 620)
I just got my 2700X and Asus Strix F X470. I used the same gpu, same ram, and voila! It booted and i got the asus bios splash screen on the first try. As much as I respect MSI and other brands, I always find Asus to just work perfectly. Anyways, waiting on my Vega 64s to come in and I'm ordering a few more bits next week. Cheers!

"I always throw my golf club in the direction of the next hole" R. Reagan
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
GPU
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
GPU
Sapphire NITRO+ RX VEGA64 8G HBM2
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16GB
RAM
CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB PRO Light Enhancement Kit
Hard Drive
ADATA 1TB SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 1300G2
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Phanteks Lux2 (719)
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Glaive Pro
▲ hide details ▲
wermad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off