Computer dies when shutdown - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Computer dies when shutdown

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by tatmMRKIV View Post
I still think you should have put an older bios in it
Yeah, though this bios was working for well over a week before this occurred. But you are right, I should have tried downgrading (though I did laterally update) , I just got exhausted of troubleshooting especially since each reboot was a 5+ min process. Will start fresh whenever it gets back

otakunorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 09:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tatmMRKIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,045
Rep: 132 (Unique: 88)
yeah I mean thats within a window of time, to suspect that the bios change could have been the cause. Bios updates are pretty much like roulette in my experience. If nothings wrong don't change it.

(If y'all) ain’t ready for the old murder, then what you gonna do with the new me?
tatmMRKIV is offline  
post #33 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by tatmMRKIV View Post
I still think you should have put an older bios in it
You were 100%
I got it back from RMA and the same issue started again. I reverted the bios to 3.60 rather than 3.90 that it shipped with, and that I installed before the issue started, and for now it seems to be working.

otakunorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 10:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 15,000
Rep: 709 (Unique: 566)
Schmuckley is offline  
post #35 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-12-2020, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
(for the sake of anyone who stumbles on to this thread with the same issue)
So the issue started up again after I installed the latest AMD system/all in 1 driver, I uninstalled those and it went with the ones from the ASRock website (Aug 2019) and for now everything seems fine on a fresh windows install, I've fully shut down 3 times in a row no issue

otakunorth is offline  
post #36 of 36 (permalink) Old 03-14-2020, 03:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tatmMRKIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,045
Rep: 132 (Unique: 88)
Glad we got you sorted. Good luck and have fun!

(If y'all) ain’t ready for the old murder, then what you gonna do with the new me?
tatmMRKIV is offline  
Reply

Tags
power , ryzen , tech support , x470

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off