Computer dies when shutdown - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Computer dies when shutdown

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Computer dies when shutdown

I made like 20 reddit posts trying to problem solve this issue, will spare most of the details (though link to one of those posts below) to focus on the most prevalent issue.
I went away for a week and shut my PC down ( Ryzen 3600, x470 taichi, 16gb g-skill trident 3600, nvme drive, 750w corsair gold psu, 5700xt ) also unplugged it. When I got back it wasn't booting, it would power on but no screen would display, the boot code screen would give a couple of random codes (sometimes cpu, sometimes pcie, sometimes sata) and then just hard crash so hard that it would require being unplugged for 15 secs before i could attempt rebooting.

Every once in a while after one of those hard resets combined with a bios/cmos reset the computer would boot like normal, I even did fresh windows install, no problem until I shut down, then these issues would repeat.

I tried all the basics (I'm a system builder and A+ tech for over 15 years) replaced all parts excpt mobo and psu, running everything at its lowest settings, the fresh windows install was on a clean unedited bios. I'm betting on something on the motherboard gone bad, and filed for an RMA, but this issue is confusing as hell, especially since it will sometimes work fine until shutdown, (though sometimes this will happen when booting into windows)
https://www.reddit.com/r/pcgamingtec...unplugged_for/

Anyone seen anything like this before? can't tell if its the motehrboard/psu/or ****ty power in my house

otakunorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:29 AM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,384
Rep: 446 (Unique: 338)
Based on the reddit thread it sounds like you covered most everything that'd cause that...

My initial gun response was the ram or an overclock.

The only thing I haven't seen mentioned is what bios you're on. This could all easily be answered by it being an older version of the bios that isn't as stable

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
HTPC
(15 items)
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix B450-I
GPU
nVidia Titan XP
RAM
Corsair LPX 3200C16 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
IS-60 w/ A12x15 Chromax
Cooling
Accelero Xtreme III
Cooling
2x Noctua NF-A12x25
Case
Fractal Design Node 202
Monitor
LG C9
Keyboard
Logitech G613
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Mouse
Logitech G602
Audio
LG SK8Y and LG SPK8-S
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
Based on the reddit thread it sounds like you covered most everything that'd cause that...

My initial gun response was the ram or an overclock.

The only thing I haven't seen mentioned is what bios you're on. This could all easily be answered by it being an older version of the bios that isn't as stable
I re-flashed the bios with most recent, this bios was working for a week before this issue started, though could be the cause as I dont think it was unplugged after I initially updated until now.

otakunorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:33 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,500
Rep: 1408 (Unique: 724)
you replaced everything but what was the most likely?


try a new board. a wonky motherboard never caused me any issues exactly like yours but they can do some wonky things depending on what's specifically failing on the board.

if your electricity is dirty enough to corrupt an install immediately after you installed it then you'd have far more issues than just with your PC.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (MX Blue)
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Mousepad
X-Ray 27" x 14"
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by The Pook; 02-21-2020 at 09:36 AM.
The Pook is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
you replaced everything but what was the most likely?


try a new board. a wonky motherboard never caused me any issues exactly like yours but they can do some wonky things depending on what's specifically failing on the board.

if your electricity is dirty enough to corrupt an install immediately after you installed it then you'd have far more issues than just with your PC.
Because I dont have spare motherboards and high end PSU's just sitting around. This weekend I will dismatle my server for parts.
While my power does suck it doesn't suck enough to bypass my PSU, though my PSU may not be operating flawlessly


Last edited by otakunorth; 02-21-2020 at 09:49 AM.
otakunorth is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 10:07 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,385
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
What model is the PSU saying Corsair gold 750 watt is like saying you got a black car with a turbo which could be any number of models

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
What model is the PSU saying Corsair gold 750 watt is like saying you got a black car with a turbo which could be any number of models
CX750M

otakunorth is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 10:21 AM
Food Editor
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 24,657
Rep: 725 (Unique: 381)
i'd swap PSU, and operate at bone stock for awhile. if it happens at bone stock, start RMA'ing chips until it goes away. memory, then CPU, then board.

too many people around here trying to blame electricity recently. what's with this fad? I had issue in my 1970s home, but only when nearly tripping the breakers with thousands of watts of draw from 3x GK110 and a 3930k, and even then, it was just minor light flicker/dimming when zoning/blowing stuff up.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
otakunorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 366
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
i'd swap PSU, and operate at bone stock for awhile. if it happens at bone stock, start RMA'ing chips until it goes away. memory, then CPU, then board.

too many people around here trying to blame electricity recently. what's with this fad? I had issue in my 1970s home, but only when nearly tripping the breakers with thousands of watts of draw from 3x GK110 and a 3930k, and even then, it was just minor light flicker/dimming when zoning/blowing stuff up.
I'm not blaming the power, I know what a half-decent psu can handle, but yeah, will try a diffrent PSU tomorrow. Thanks

otakunorth is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 10:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 350
Rep: 20 (Unique: 12)
I always try to have a cheap spare part that I know is working handy, ie Ram and Video card. CPUs and motherboards a bit more $$$ but an older Ryzen 1500 and a used/open box AM4 motherboard can be had for very cheap and can be resold for minimal loss once you're done troubleshooting.

This ASRock B450 has some "used" options available less than $60:

https://www.amazon.com/ASRock-B450M-...1&s=pc&sr=1-22

Ryzen 1200 for similar price, less than $60:
https://www.amazon.com/AMD-Desktop-P...tronics&sr=1-1

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case

Last edited by StAndrew; 02-21-2020 at 11:01 AM.
StAndrew is offline  
Reply

Tags
power , ryzen , tech support , x470

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off