M2 SSD crashed, lost all data - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

M2 SSD crashed, lost all data

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-07-2020, 03:46 PM
Da Boss
 
NexusRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,874
Rep: 155 (Unique: 131)
Quote: Originally Posted by basschilperoord View Post
Sharkoon TG5 RGB case
Gigabyte X570 AORUS MASTER motherboard (latest BIOS, F12e from Gigabyte Tweaktown)
G.SKILL F4-3600C16D-16GTZN
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X cpu with BeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G graphics card
Samsung 970 Pro M.2 NVMe 512GB ssd
Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB hdd
Fractal Design ION+ 660W Platinum psu

I just booted my computer and everything was gone, all my Windows partitions, everything. *** happened!!

I regret every investment I have made in AMD and their ****ty buggy X570 platform. From day 1 to now I have only had problems instead of a normally working PC. I should have never made the move from Intel to AMD. My experience with AMD's X570 is horrifying.

I'm gonna try to re-install Windows (if at all possible).

Sorry for me ranting, but I'm really pissed.
I'm going to put my money on it wasn't AMD's fault in causing your issues. I'm going to put it on 1 of 2 things

1. The beta bios that you got from Tweaktown (NEVER EVER INSTALL BETA BIOS ON AN IMPORTANT SYSTEM OR FLASH TO A NEWER BIOS UNLESS YOU ARE HAVING ISSUES AND HAVE BEEN INSTRUCTION BUY THE MANUFACTURER). I'm suspecting that this reset your settings (possible that it changed your storage operation type or some other config)

2. You're using a Gigabyte motherboard (research you model, NOTORIOUS for issues)

This is a good lesson for you as well. Backup, Backup, and more Backups! At the least, you should have bought an external drive to back up your data and even a UPS to protect your system as a whole from power fluctuations which can also cause data deletion.
NexusRed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2020, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
basschilperoord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 148
Rep: 0
Well, got the next crash, but my files aren't gone. Cutting the power and re-enabling the power gets it to work again. Gonna try another step lower on 3333MHz instead of 3400MHz. Not happy with my purchases, it really has been a mess from the beginning.
basschilperoord is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-30-2020, 08:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,974
Rep: 892 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by basschilperoord View Post
Well, got the next crash, but my files aren't gone. Cutting the power and re-enabling the power gets it to work again. Gonna try another step lower on 3333MHz instead of 3400MHz. Not happy with my purchases, it really has been a mess from the beginning.
Just imaged my os from hdd to m2 drive. Kept the hdd as backup. I wish there is an app to just sync files between drives at regular intervals.

If true that you used a beta bios, revert back to the one from manufacturer.

Not a fan of Giga but i've read other horror stories about X570s.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 01:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 691
Rep: 24 (Unique: 19)
Too late for the OP,

but if you had data you really really needed you could, if you have the parts available to you. Install windows to a different drive and then use something like getdataback from runtime software

Excellent piece of software, saved my arse numerous times!

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2010SUS @ 4400 mhz @ 1.325v (prime95 load)
Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.52v | 14-15-14-14-28-42-252-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM
mongoled is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off