Ryzen 9 3950x Workstation Build - Any thoughts? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 9 3950x Workstation Build - Any thoughts?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
8564dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,757
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Ryzen 9 3950x Workstation Build - Any thoughts?

Hey all,

So, I'm now upgrading from my current rig (see my sig).

I think you'll agree, it's time.

I use it mostly for graphic, design, motion/animation work - 3D, GPU rendering, large scenes, video editing etc... Hardly any gaming.

I've put a build together down below that I think is a great starting point for me.

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 3.5 GHz 16-Core Processor (£679.99 @ Amazon UK)
CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition 42.34 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler (£149.44 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: MSI MEG X570 ACE ATX AM4 Motherboard (£319.99 @ AWD-IT)
Memory: G.Skill Trident Z Neo 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory (£360.30 @ Newegg UK)
Storage: Samsung 860 Evo 2 TB 2.5" Solid State Drive (£279.86 @ Box Limited)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB GAMING X Video Card
Case: Lian Li O11D XL-X ATX Full Tower Case (£189.95 @ CCL Computers)
Power Supply: Corsair AX 850 W 80+ Titanium Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply (£181.96 @ Ebuyer)
Total: £2161.49
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-04-09 17:12 BST+0100

The case doesn't come with any fans, so I'd appreciate any advice on decent fans that are RGB and can also be controlled because I want a quiet PC where possible. Currently I use Speedfan.

I want to future-proof as much as possible which is why I'm going for the higher-end motherboard so I can add more m.2 drives in the future etc...

Also, in the future, yes I will be doing a custom loop which is why I'm going for this case. I can't afford to right now so have picked the highest end AIO cooler I can find.

I am transferring over 3 SSDs from my current rig into this new build to add to the storage of the m.2 drive.

The PSU may be overkill but I'm not too fussed as I may add another GPU in the future. As long as the PSU is decent, which I've been told the AX series is.

I assume the RAM is ok. This will be doubled eventually to 128GB.

As I said before, this initial purchase is all about setting myself up for a solid amount of years again before needing to upgrade.

My current rig still has the original motherboard and RAM installed that is now 10 years old... at the time, it was expensive but it's definitely paid for itself.

Any advice or suggestions to my build would be appreciated if there are any.

Thanks!

My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon 5670 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard
Asus P6tD Deluxe
GPU
GTX 1080 TI
RAM
12GB Corsair 1600MHz DDR3
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
1TB + 500GB HDD
Optical Drive
LG Bluray Writer + DVD RW
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 650w
Cooling
Noctua u12p
Case
Coolermaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 64Bit
Monitor
Dell u2711
Keyboard
Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Deathadder 3500dpi
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by 8564dan; 04-09-2020 at 09:52 AM.
8564dan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 09:52 AM
Still kinda lost
 
Awsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Trance city (Sana'a,Yemen)
Posts: 3,157
Rep: 120 (Unique: 90)
This is a good build for your work case, but just a few points:

1-Just get an NH-D15 instead of the water cooler its quieter and you are going with a custom loop later.

2-You can just get an MSI unify instead of the ACE its basically the ACE with no LEDs + its cheaper (Both have 3 M.2 and 4 Sata, So if you want more than those make sure to change the board)

3-I would recommend getting the 3600mhz neos instead because you wont need to do anything other than activating XMP (Ocing the ram to 3600mhz to match the stock FCLK might show some instability which is very bad for a workstation)

4-For the storage the 860 is nice but take a look at the WD blue and MX500 as both are much cheaper and will perform similarly.

Godzilla HAF red
(18 items)
The Son Of Godzilla
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3950x
Motherboard
MSI MEG UNIFY X570
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING BLACK
RAM
G.Skill Trident NEO 32GB 3600mhz
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket 4.0 1TB
Hard Drive
WD blue 2tb SSD
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 650w
Cooling
Nh-D15 Chromax
Case
CM H500
Operating System
Windows 10 pro
Monitor
LG24GM77-b
Keyboard
Corsair K95 platinum
Mouse
Logitech G502 SE
Mousepad
Red Gear
Audio
AD900x
Audio
Beyerdynamic Custom Studio
Audio
Schiit Modi 3
Audio
JDS ATOM
CPU
Intel Core i7 Extreme 2920XM/Intel Core i7 2860QM
Motherboard
P180HMx
GPU
AMD Radeon HD 6990M
GPU
AMD Radeon HD 6990M
RAM
Samsung
RAM
Samsung
RAM
Samsung
Hard Drive
Seagate 750GB 7200RPM
Optical Drive
Blu-Ray reader
Power Supply
300W+8 cells battery
Cooling
Sager Cooling + CM SF-19 USB 3.0
Case
SagerNP8180
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate X64
Monitor
18.4 1920x1080 Glossy 16:9 Plastic covered
Keyboard
Gigabyte wirless
Mouse
Gigabyte wireless
Mouse
Table
Audio
ultrasone pro 550 + FiiO E7++ on board 5.1 sound system
▲ hide details ▲
Awsan is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
8564dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,757
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Awsan View Post
This is a good build for your work case, but just a few points:

1-Just get an NH-D15 instead of the water cooler its quieter and you are going with a custom loop later.

2-You can just get an MSI unify instead of the ACE its basically the ACE with no LEDs + its cheaper (Both have 3 M.2 and 4 Sata, So if you want more than those make sure to change the board)

3-I would recommend getting the 3600mhz neos instead because you wont need to do anything other than activating XMP (Ocing the ram to 3600mhz to match the stock FCLK might show some instability which is very bad for a workstation)

4-For the storage the 860 is nice but take a look at the WD blue and MX500 as both are much cheaper and will perform similarly.
Thanks Awsan.

I'll check out the suggestions you mentioned.

Regarding the RAM, I can't seem to find 2x32gb at 3600mhz.

I know it exists here - https://www.gskill.com/product/165/3...4GTZN-Overview

Does this really matter? 4x16gb at 3600mhz or 2x32gb at 3600mhz?

I suppose what I really want to be able to do is by 2x32 now and then 2x32 later to simply double it.

My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon 5670 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard
Asus P6tD Deluxe
GPU
GTX 1080 TI
RAM
12GB Corsair 1600MHz DDR3
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
1TB + 500GB HDD
Optical Drive
LG Bluray Writer + DVD RW
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 650w
Cooling
Noctua u12p
Case
Coolermaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 64Bit
Monitor
Dell u2711
Keyboard
Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Deathadder 3500dpi
▲ hide details ▲
8564dan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Greg121986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,604
Rep: 186 (Unique: 162)
I am also trying to understand the 64+ GB of memory running at 3600Mhz problem. I'm having 24 workstations built with 3950X and Gigabyte Auros Master. As far as I can tell, 3200Mhz is the standard speed supported when you're using 64GB of RAM. There seems to be some relationship with the capacity of the memory going up while the speed needs to go down, or at least not exceed 3200 Mhz. I am trying to ensure I can get a kit that will run 3600 Mhz easily and allow for 64GB to begin with, and possibly 128GB later. For my case since I have so many systems, I need something with XMP that will not require me to do any tuning. The best I can commit to is having each user go into their own BIOS and make sure XMP is enabled. Beyond that, I can't do any fine tuning of the memory.




Last edited by Greg121986; 04-09-2020 at 10:51 AM.
Greg121986 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 10:42 AM
Back at it again.
 
Avacado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,388
Rep: 100 (Unique: 75)
Looking for @Veii to chime in on this one.

22643 Time Spy https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/46344026?

https://folding.extremeoverclocking....e.php?u=207393
White Lightning
(12 items)
CPU
i7 9700k @ 5.1GHz 1.385v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A
GPU
Evga 2080 Ti Black Gamer
RAM
32GB GSkill TridentZ DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
2 x 1 TB Samsung EVO 970 Raid 0
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro
Case
CORSAIR Crystal 570X White Mid Tower
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Alienware 1900R 34.1" @ 120Hz
Keyboard
Loigitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G700s
▲ hide details ▲


Avacado is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 11:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 133
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Greg121986 View Post
I am also trying to understand the 64+ GB of memory running at 3600Mhz problem. I'm having 24 workstations built with 3950X and Gigabyte Auros Master. As far as I can tell, 3200Mhz is the standard speed supported when you're using 64GB of RAM. There seems to be some relationship with the capacity of the memory going up while the speed needs to go down, or at least not exceed 3200 Mhz. I am trying to ensure I can get a kit that will run 3600 Mhz easily and allow for 64GB to begin with, and possibly 128GB later. For my case since I have so many systems, I need something with XMP that will not require me to do any tuning. The best I can commit to is having each user go into their own BIOS and make sure XMP is enabled. Beyond that, I can't do any fine tuning of the memory.

Running the RAM at 3600 keeps the Infinity Fabric where it should be which is 1800Mhz.

MSI MEG X570 Ace
AMD Ryzen 9 3900x
Corsair H115i Platinum, Corsair Crystal 570x RGB Case
32GB Corsair Vengence RGB Pro 3600 @3800
MSI Geforce RTX 2080 Super Ventus SX OC w/ Acer Predator X34P
jamie1073 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 12:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Greg121986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,604
Rep: 186 (Unique: 162)
Quote: Originally Posted by jamie1073 View Post
Running the RAM at 3600 keeps the Infinity Fabric where it should be which is 1800Mhz.
I know that, but I have seen some indication that higher capacity memory has trouble playing with X570 when you attempt to run at higher speeds. I am trying to confirm a high capacity kit that will run its XMP profile reliably.

Case in point, I have a Gigabyte Aorus Pro Wifi X570, AMD 3900X, with a 3200Mhz 4x16GB kit. It would not boot at all at 3200Mhz on the F11 BIOS with 64GB (4x16GB). I had to drop down to 2 DIMMs for 32GB in order to run it at 3200MHz. I have been running a beta F12 BIOS from Gigabyte that I had to hunt down which improved things. But I don't actually have the other 32GB of memory anymore to test it. I see they have officially released an F12e BIOS which I am about to load up, but I still cannot test 64GB of RAM at this point on my system. I do not know if these issues are just immature BIOS from Gigabyte (F11 was the WORST BIOS experience I've ever had) or if there is an inherent issue with the X570 chipset.



Greg121986 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 01:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cata79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 127
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
On f11, 3900x&aorus pro, I'm running gskill 4x16Gb 3466Mhz, just xmp enabled.
Cata79 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 01:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sgtgates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,275
Rep: 57 (Unique: 52)
Agree with finding a low CAS 3600 kit, going good air cooler. Ballistics makes a 2x32 kit, with micron die's which are good, especially if not tinkering further than xmp standard overclock.
Would also request further insight to "sweet spot" infinity fabric which we all know when using higher GB count on max dimm slots. Only played with max 32gb x 4 dimms total.

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/

This might give you more time to find out which rgb fans and control hubs you truly want vs being stuck with the fans from the aio and always having this solid back up between custom loop building.

Cheers-cheers.gif
SgtGates
ninja.gifNZXT H-Series Memberninja.gif
sgtgates is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
8564dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,757
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
So I'm looking at my specific motherboard here.

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...support-mem-19

G.skill 32gb 3600mhz sticks aren't supported from the looks of it. Only 2666mhz. There is only one Corsair stick that is supported at 2600.

So, if 3600 is the recommended, how are we meant to get 128gb at that speed?

EDIT

I've updated the list with new RAM. Corsair.

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 3.5 GHz 16-Core Processor (£679.99 @ Amazon UK)
CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition 42.34 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler (£149.44 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: MSI MEG X570 ACE ATX AM4 Motherboard (£319.99 @ AWD-IT)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 Memory (£365.38 @ Newegg UK)
Storage: Samsung 860 Evo 2 TB 2.5" Solid State Drive (£279.86 @ Box Limited)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB GAMING X Video Card
Case: Lian Li O11D XL-X ATX Full Tower Case (£189.95 @ CCL Computers)
Power Supply: Corsair AX 850 W 80+ Titanium Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply (£178.47 @ Amazon UK)
Total: £2163.08
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-04-09 22:25 BST+0100

Seems this is the only compatible RAM from Corsair for 128gb

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Catego...8GX4M4A2400C16

My Rig
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon 5670 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard
Asus P6tD Deluxe
GPU
GTX 1080 TI
RAM
12GB Corsair 1600MHz DDR3
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
1TB + 500GB HDD
Optical Drive
LG Bluray Writer + DVD RW
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 650w
Cooling
Noctua u12p
Case
Coolermaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 64Bit
Monitor
Dell u2711
Keyboard
Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Deathadder 3500dpi
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by 8564dan; 04-09-2020 at 02:51 PM.
8564dan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off