Errors in memtest86 using stock settings (2700X) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Errors in memtest86 using stock settings (2700X)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-08-2020, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Errors in memtest86 using stock settings (2700X)

Hey all, my computer is crashing using stock settings and I'm hoping someone can help me troubleshoot what's going on with my build. I was using a 1700 in this build previously and don't recall coming across any issues.

Specs:
CPU: R7 2700X
Mobo: X370 Crosshair 6 Hero
Memory: Corsair 2x8GB 3200Mhz CL16
PSU: EVGA G2 750W PSU
GPU: 1080 Ti

What prompted me to start troubleshooting the memory is when I tried running it at it's XMP profile (3200Mhz) and it started rebooting & crashing. I played around with the timings for a few days. Nothing worked, so I kept reducing the memory clock until I went back down to stock, using memtest86 to check errors.

Decided to clear the CMOS and run memtest86 using stock settings.
- Seeing 0-50 errors on each pass (error logs attached).
- All errors are on one CPU thread (10)
- Tried each stick in each DIMM slot, no errors encountered at all (no errors in single channel)
- Changed BIOS from 7704 to 6401, no change.

I don't have spare parts that I can use to determine exactly which part is causing the errors, though I suspect it is the CPU as I don't recall noticing any issues when an R7 1700 was in the same build and all memtest86 errors are shown on only one thread.

Is there anything else I could try? And if not, should I RMA the CPU or memory first?
Aim is for least down time as possible.

Thanks in advance
Alex
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	memtest1.PNG
Views:	8
Size:	71.4 KB
ID:	344892  

Click image for larger version

Name:	memtest2.PNG
Views:	5
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	344894  

Click image for larger version

Name:	memtest3.PNG
Views:	4
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	344896  

Click image for larger version

Name:	memtest4.PNG
Views:	5
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	344898  


Last edited by alox; 05-08-2020 at 09:33 PM.
alox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-09-2020, 01:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
So I've been running memtest86 non-stop since posting this, and no errors have been found.
This has happened a few times over the past few days, but after playing some games and going back to memtest, I'll see the same errors...

Just thought this might be worth adding...
alox is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Bump. Still seeing errors in newest version of memtest86.

Hasn't crashed in game for a few days, but do see crashes as soon as I even apply a 2666Mhz RAM OC at 1.36v and really loose timings which is a huge pain given I paid extra for fast RAM as well as an open loop through the CPU & VRM.

Any advice is appreciated.
alox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 03:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,711
Rep: 886 (Unique: 640)
Two things.

1. I'm not sure if Memtest is a good test to run on Ryzen. Not sure if it has been updated for newer architecture. I suggest using something else. Follow this thread . . .

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...ram-bench.html

2. Is that RAM kit Vengeance? I've seen other having issues with Corsair RAM on Ryzens but with the help of the DRAM Calculator you might get it to run the manufacturer's spec.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 04:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Two things.

1. I'm not sure if Memtest is a good test to run on Ryzen. Not sure if it has been updated for newer architecture. I suggest using something else. Follow this thread . . .

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...ram-bench.html

2. Is that RAM kit Vengeance? I've seen other having issues with Corsair RAM on Ryzens but with the help of the DRAM Calculator you might get it to run the manufacturer's spec.
Thanks for the response.

Judging by the change logs, looks like memtest has been updates for Ryzen, but I'll absolutely try other options.

Yes, the kit is Samsung E-Die Vengeance 3200 C16. I can boot with "safe" timings but crashes 5 min into a game even when I raise voltages.
alox is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 04:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,711
Rep: 886 (Unique: 640)
Quote: Originally Posted by alox View Post
Thanks for the response.

Judging by the change logs, looks like memtest has been updates for Ryzen, but I'll absolutely try other options.

Yes, the kit is Samsung E-Die Vengeance 3200 C16. I can boot with "safe" timings but crashes 5 min into a game even when I raise voltages.
You can try setting DOCP 3200 MHz but raise the voltage a bit. Say 1.37v? If still no go, then go use the Calculator again. There is a new version of the DRAM Calculator out. When you use it, try all the recommended inputs and their alternates.

Check post #7400. Use the TM5 included by Kedarwolf. Run as Administrator.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...bench-740.html

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-11-2020 at 04:50 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
Reply

Tags
2700x , am4 , Crosshair , hero

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off