The Socket 939 Appreciation Club and Knowledgebase [Official] - Page 2541 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Socket 939 Appreciation Club and Knowledgebase [Official]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25401 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StormX2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jerzey
Posts: 10,625
Rep: 260 (Unique: 209)
Ive never had a chip with unlocked multi, I was alway s a fanb of, get the base model, and make it the top model lol

Unfortunately I have yet to really figure out this damn i7 , BCLK and QPI its all so rediculous.

I want an APU so badly for a super small build so badly

*R.I.P Syrillian, May your Words and Actions Live forever!*
†he cu|†
(13 items)
CPU
Opty 165 CCBBE @ 300fsb
Motherboard
DFI LanP UT SLI-DR
GPU
eVGA 8800gts 640mb
RAM
2x1gb Corsair XMS TwinX P
Hard Drive
250 g sataII Max†or
Optical Drive
NEC DVD+/-DL
Power Supply
OCZ GameXstream 600w
Case
Spire Baby!
Operating System
XP pro
Monitor
20.1 inch wide 5ms
Keyboard
Some old Thing
Mouse
Logitech G5
Mouse
What?
▲ hide details ▲


StormX2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25402 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
toughacton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shirley. IN
Posts: 396
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Well here i think is my highest bootable with this setup (at least without my new HSF)
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2510981
This isnt stable though. Got maybe 5 mins into Prime95 then failed. Would loosening up my RAM timings help any?








"You have been recruited Starfighter, to defend the frontier against Zur and the Ko-Dan Armada!"
toughacton is offline  
post #25403 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:19 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by toughacton View Post

Well here i think is my highest bootable with this setup (at least without my new HSF)
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2510981
This isnt stable though. Got maybe 5 mins into Prime95 then failed. Would loosening up my RAM timings help any?

You could try loosening to 3-3-3-8-2T and see if that helps any. I don't really think you'll need more voltage at this point (as of yet). I think its a RAM problem.

Whats your HT Link at? Looks like 4x, if so that's fine there.

You could also try increasing your NB voltage a notch. Seems you have a pretty low end board, you might be reaching the board's limitations as well at this point.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25404 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
toughacton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shirley. IN
Posts: 396
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud View Post

You could try loosening to 3-3-3-8-2T and see if that helps any. I don't really think you'll need more voltage at this point (as of yet). I think its a RAM problem.
Whats your HT Link at? Looks like 4x, if so that's fine there.
You could also try increasing your NB voltage a notch. Seems you have a pretty low end board, you might be reaching the board's limitations as well at this point.

I think you very well may be right. I tried 230FSB but windows never fully booted. I can unfortunately not change voltages on this board (it is pretty low end) Funny thing is I've seen it going for around $150 on ebay and such (maybe new, but still....)

Also I figured I'd post my 3200+ stepping that I had in this machine originally. I think its one of the later Venice ones, but I'm not sure.
Its NBBWE 0608GPMW Any idea if (on a good board) it would be a good OCer?

Oh yeah and will I ever make the club list? Or do I need to be on here longer?








"You have been recruited Starfighter, to defend the frontier against Zur and the Ko-Dan Armada!"
toughacton is offline  
post #25405 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:42 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by toughacton View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud View Post

You could try loosening to 3-3-3-8-2T and see if that helps any. I don't really think you'll need more voltage at this point (as of yet). I think its a RAM problem.
Whats your HT Link at? Looks like 4x, if so that's fine there.
You could also try increasing your NB voltage a notch. Seems you have a pretty low end board, you might be reaching the board's limitations as well at this point.

I think you very well may be right. I tried 230FSB but windows never fully booted. I can unfortunately not change voltages on this board (it is pretty low end) Funny thing is I've seen it going for around $150 on ebay and such (maybe new, but still....)

Also I figured I'd post my 3200+ stepping that I had in this machine originally. I think its one of the later Venice ones, but I'm not sure.
Its NBBWE 0608GPMW Any idea if (on a good board) it would be a good OCer?

Oh yeah and will I ever make the club list? Or do I need to be on here longer?

Unfortunately, txtmstrjoe has been missing in action for quite a while. I don't think he'd mind if I added you though, so I'll dig up your CPUz link post, and add you myself. smile.gif

The Venice...ehh, those were hit or miss. Most of my Venice chips topped out at 2.5-2.6GHz with 1.55v.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #25406 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
toughacton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shirley. IN
Posts: 396
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Awesome! biggrin.gif Thanks! I've been scoping out better boards. Although honestly for a really decent 939 board I'd be halfway paid to a current board. Unless you know of any that don't go for any more 40 or 50 buck that are still good. I don't ever plan on making this a heavy gamer so It wouldn't need to be a SLI board or even full ATX just something with better/more Bios options. Yikes I'm budget upgrading my budget build from 6 years ago!tongue.gif AT least aside from the new dual core I haven't bought anything that wouldn't go into a new rig.








"You have been recruited Starfighter, to defend the frontier against Zur and the Ko-Dan Armada!"
toughacton is offline  
post #25407 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 06:53 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by toughacton View Post

Awesome! biggrin.gif Thanks! I've been scoping out better boards. Although honestly for a really decent 939 board I'd be halfway paid to a current board. Unless you know of any that don't go for more 40 or 50 buck that are still good. I don't ever plan on making this a heavy gamer so It wouldn't need to be a SLI board or even full ATX just something with better/more Bios options. Yikes I'm budget upgrading my budget build from 6 years ago!tongue.gif AT least aside from the new dual core I haven't bought anything that wouldn't go into a new rig.

Unless you find a really good deal on a used board here at OCN, or on ebay (or any other tech site), I wouldn't bother. And that would ONLY be if you can find one for say $40 or less. It's just not worth the money to upgrade these rigs anymore.....UNLESS its for nostalgia purposes.

I just bought an Opteron 165 and a Gigabyte NF4 SLI board, and I have some spare GSkill HZ's laying around. But I've already got a couple more modern systems to play with, so I got those parts mostly to tinker with, and also for a solid HTPC / Server / number crunching rig of some kind (haven't made my mind up yet).

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #25408 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-14-2012, 07:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
toughacton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shirley. IN
Posts: 396
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Well I can hope smile.gif I'll keep trying to snipe something off ebay. Spent our comp budget on my wife's new A6-3670k rig ( I've got it mildly OCed to 3.1 without her knowing wink.gif ) Partly why I have the GPU I do is so when I build my own rig i can xfire this with her APU.








"You have been recruited Starfighter, to defend the frontier against Zur and the Ko-Dan Armada!"
toughacton is offline  
post #25409 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-15-2012, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DannyOcean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 45
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by toughacton View Post

Well I can hope smile.gif I'll keep trying to snipe something off ebay. Spent our comp budget on my wife's new A6-3670k rig ( I've got it mildly OCed to 3.1 without her knowing wink.gif ) Partly why I have the GPU I do is so when I build my own rig i can xfire this with her APU.
Sometimes you can score some deals on ebay. Just last week I sold a Opty 180 for $40 that would run 2.9Ghz on stock volts, that was on water though but still impressed me. I've also sold two DFI NF4 boards and a Asus A8N Premium all for $40 each. Being that the Opty 180 is 2.4GHz to start with you could probably easily get 2.8 on your board. Granted its an aging socket but can do well for older games. If you can find someone selling an FX60 cheap, they have an unlocked multi but in my experience didn't overclock as high as my Opty's

DannyOcean is offline  
post #25410 of 28841 (permalink) Old 09-15-2012, 04:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
toughacton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shirley. IN
Posts: 396
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
Well I'm 100% stable at 2.4 stress test.bmp 3600k .bmp file

Well for 7 hours at any rate. Although thats probably long enough. Thanks to everyone for advice thus far. I'll be adding the new heat sink whenever it gets here and try getting more out of this ol rig when i get the temps down a bit. Now to reap the rewards of my labor by playing old games like Heroes of might and magic 5 which actually run well now! biggrin.gif

Who knows maybe I'll get a new board that can really put my chips through their paces. smile.gif
Attached Images
File Type: bmp stress test.bmp (3.52 MB, 4 views)








"You have been recruited Starfighter, to defend the frontier against Zur and the Ko-Dan Armada!"
toughacton is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off