Quad Core for About $400!!! - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Quad Core for About $400!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 12:08 PM
_02
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 7,860
Rep: 195 (Unique: 157)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeodorant View Post
You're doing it wrong.
You have obviously not punched someone with a hammer.

_02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 12:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Riskitall84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,683
Rep: 159 (Unique: 121)
Wow you guys in the states get all the best deals

Riskitall84 is offline  
post #23 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:07 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 7,821
Rep: 711 (Unique: 516)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lxcivic2k1 View Post
They can't even label the Motherboard correctly, says it's an AM3, but supports DDR2. I'd be scared to order that and have DDR2 and an AM2+ CPU and end up getting a board that has an AM3 socket which won't fit either of those, lol.

Either way it's a horrible deal, Phenom I are things not to touch especially the 9650.

EDIT: Newegg labels it correctly as an AM2+ motherboard, lol. TigerDirect FAIL!
Its probably works with a AM3 processor without an BIOS update but it just doesn't have a DDR3 IMC. Nonetheless, its a terrible marketing ad because it isn't a AM3 mobo.
youra6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
webguru1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Flat Rock
Posts: 202
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Would be good for playing Unreal Tournament G.O.T.Y Probably not on max tho..... LOL

webguru1985 is offline  
post #25 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: america *awesome guitar*
Posts: 349
Rep: 38 (Unique: 35)
its quite a good mobo, and yes, it does work with AM3

and my video card is crying because of you guys, thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by iandh go_quote.gif
An i5 and i7 "destroy" a Phenom II if all you do is jack off to benchmarks all day... if you actually use your computer, there is almost no difference.
Droid Eris a 749 mhz with Eris Lighning
eljitto is offline  
post #26 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 832
Rep: 67 (Unique: 60)
You guys do realize that there are people out there who think they are getting a deal. Not everyone overclocks and I have used that Phenom I x4 9650 before and it's a fine chip. Sure it doesn't overclock well, but for 97% of the general populous who doesn't overclock its perfectly fine.

I don't like the "gaming" nomenclature because it isn't a gaming machine by any real standards, but I also don't like many of the responses here because they are so narrow minded to "we are all overclockers so if chip X can't overclock it has no use in the world". It goes along with many of the posts that say "Quad cores are useless because gaming isn't improved on them" which brings about the people who state that computers aren't just used for gaming, and this website doesn't just have gamers on it. Realize that Tiger Direct didn't post their ad HERE, where all of us would say it was a joke, and that their word choice really does sell off a mainstream style computer for a non gamer as a "gaming machine". This isn't me trying to be a mod, this is me trying to stop stupid responses so I don't have to read through pages and pages of misinformed posts.

Back on topic, it really doesn't seem too bad of a computer, but I would trust parts and service from the egg over Tiger Direct any day of the week.

There are no choppers, only tumors.

My Audi features the ubiquitous "Add Noise" button.

BlackHoleSun is offline  
post #27 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
Stealin Yer Sammich!
 
Erick Silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: STEALIN' YER SAMMICH!!
Posts: 9,870
Rep: 302 (Unique: 254)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_ View Post
+1 and the memory is ddr2 677 lol
HEY! I use DDR2 667 Memory. Its all I can afford. At least its not PC3200

"I REJECT YOUR REALITY, AND SUBSITUTE MY OWN!" - Adam Savage
I FOLD FOR: MY MOTHER IN LAW. A 2X BREAST CANCER SURVIVOR.~MY SISTER IN LAW. A LUNG CANCER SURVIVOR~MY SISTER TAKEN AT AGE 25 BY OVARIAN CANCER.~MY MOTHER TAKEN AT AGE 50 BY OVARIAN CANCER~MY GRANDMOTHER TAKEN BY CANCER AND ALZHEIMERS DISEASE.
PLEASE. DON'T TRY AND PERSUADE ME NOT TO FOLD, IT WILL FALL ON DEAF EARS

Red Steel
(19 items)
Blue Butterfly
(12 items)
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T >STOCK<
Motherboard
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z
GPU
ASUS Geforce GTX 1050 Ti ROG STRIX
RAM
Avexir Core Series 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Memory Kit Model AVD3U16001108G-1CIR
Hard Drive
Seagate 250GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250310AS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD320KJ 320GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA
Optical Drive
Lightscribe DVD/RW
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ 750FX
Cooling
Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push/Pull
Case
HAF 922 Custom Painted
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Monitor
Phillips 32" LCD Flatscreen @ 1920x1080
Keyboard
Ducky DK1008 w/ Cherry MX Bkack Switches
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
Ratpadz XT
Audio
EACH G2000
Other
Lamptron FC6 Fan Controller
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz
Motherboard
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe AM3
GPU
Asus R7 260X OC 2GB
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600MHZ
Hard Drive
>>320GB with a 1TB External<<
Optical Drive
>>DVD/RW<<
Cooling
Xigmatek Dark Night
Case
>>Antec 902 w/ Blue LED Fans<<
Operating System
>>Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit<<
Monitor
>>22" Westinghouse WS<<
Keyboard
CM Storm Devastator MB24
Mouse
CM Storm Devastator MS2K
▲ hide details ▲


Erick Silver is offline  
post #28 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 04:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: At home
Posts: 756
Rep: 46 (Unique: 42)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaedrus2129 View Post
1.) The Phenom I x4s that end in "50" are the later revision that fixed the TLB bug that gave the Phenoms their bad name. It's an ok processor, but it is near the bottom of the quad core heap.

2.) The RAM doesn't suck because it's DDR2. It sucks because it's generic 667MHz RAM. DDR2 800 and 1066 are just fine.



Do your research before spouting things like that.
Stop trying to be a smartass because all you are doing is putting your foot into your mouth.

1. I didnt mention any bugs, why i said to stay clear of them is because they dont OC as much as PII and the architecture was pretty slow compared to PII, just as an example even my x3 beats that 9650.

2. Where did i exactly say "it sucks" ? Only thing i said it was that it was slowly becoming outdated, i never said it is obsolete nor that it IS outdated and the fact is that is started to become outdated the moment DDR3 came out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socko1965 go_quote.gif
My wife said "It's me or the computer!" I still miss her.
ovyeminem is offline  
post #29 of 45 (permalink) Old 02-10-2010, 04:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Evermind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 643
Rep: 53 (Unique: 51)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovyeminem View Post
Stop trying to be a smartass because all you are doing is putting your foot into your mouth.

1. I didnt mention any bugs, why i said to stay clear of them is because they dont OC as much as PII and the architecture was pretty slow compared to PII, just as an example even my x3 beats that 9650.

2. Where did i exactly say "it sucks" ? Only thing i said it was that it was slowly becoming outdated, i never said it is obsolete nor that it IS outdated and the fact is that is started to become outdated the moment DDR3 came out.
Lol, I was thinking the same thing when I read his response to your post.

Evermind is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off