VLC ridiculously high CPU usage - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

VLC ridiculously high CPU usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bomfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,663
Rep: 133 (Unique: 119)
When playing videos on VLC, its CPU usage in my quad-core Xeon (E3-1230) lingers typically around 20%-50% (depending on quality and format), and frequently jumps to 100% for about a second or two, causing all video to freeze (not only the video being played itself, but all applications stop responding altogether and the mouse pointer won't move). The sound plays just fine without interruption even during these freezes, however. This only appears to happen in VLC, dragon player works just fine (but I much prefer VLC).

Anyone know what's up? I have Radeon HD4670 with free drivers on Debian testing if that matters (I disabled both GPU acceleration and hardware overlay, neither of which made any difference).

I don't use Linux because it's free. I use Linux because it works.
bomfunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:16 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Rookie1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 8,555
Rep: 389 (Unique: 296)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bomfunk View Post

When playing videos on VLC, its CPU usage in my quad-core Xeon (E3-1230) lingers typically around 20%-50% (depending on quality and format), and frequently jumps to 100% for about a second or two, causing all video to freeze (not only the video being played itself, but all applications stop responding altogether and the mouse pointer won't move). The sound plays just fine without interruption even during these freezes, however. This only appears to happen in VLC, dragon player works just fine (but I much prefer VLC).
Anyone know what's up? I have Radeon HD4670 with free drivers on Debian testing if that matters (I disabled both GPU acceleration and hardware overlay, neither of which made any difference).

Um that is your problem right there. You've basically told the GPU to do just about nothing and the CPU to do everything. Also sounds like you might have a bad driver and VLC build.
Rookie1337 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bomfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,663
Rep: 133 (Unique: 119)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie1337 View Post

Um that is your problem right there. You've basically told the GPU to do just about nothing and the CPU to do everything. Also sounds like you might have a bad driver and VLC build.
Oh, yea, I should clarify.

They were both enabled, disabling them didn't make any difference.

I don't use Linux because it's free. I use Linux because it works.
bomfunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 624
Rep: 57 (Unique: 44)
Is this something new or has this always happened? VLC uses 1% cpu usage while watching 720p and 2-4% while watching 1080p for me. If you have the latest VLC player and have GPU acceleration on, then it may be a codec problem. Download Klite codec pack.

I have Mcdonald's fries, but at home, I only have packets of Burger King ketchup.
Will the food still work even though they're not compatible models?

Cha0s_Cha0 is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 08:00 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Rookie1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 8,555
Rep: 389 (Unique: 296)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cha0s_Cha0 View Post

Is this something new or has this always happened? VLC uses 1% cpu usage while watching 720p and 2-4% while watching 1080p for me. If you have the latest VLC player and have GPU acceleration on, then it may be a codec problem. Download Klite codec pack.

Please pay attention to what section you're posting in. This is not Windows.

Again though bomfunk you should try out the proprietary drivers as I know with Nvidias you lose many HD features using the FOSS ones. The FOSS drivers to GPUs to me just don't make sense beyond testing out a distro, or light usage (which doesn't mean HD).
Rookie1337 is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bomfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,663
Rep: 133 (Unique: 119)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie1337 View Post

Again though bomfunk you should try out the proprietary drivers as I know with Nvidias you lose many HD features using the FOSS ones. The FOSS drivers to GPUs to me just don't make sense beyond testing out a distro, or light usage (which doesn't mean HD).
AFAIK the 4-series GPUs aren't supported by the proprietary drivers any more, and I'm frankly not interested in fighting with old drivers and Xorg (I imagine that's what it would entail, anyway). Regardless, the free drivers have worked just fine and since even HD video plays just fine in Dragon player, I don't think it's a GPU issue.

I don't use Linux because it's free. I use Linux because it works.
bomfunk is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 09:21 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Rookie1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 8,555
Rep: 389 (Unique: 296)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bomfunk View Post

AFAIK the 4-series GPUs aren't supported by the proprietary drivers any more, and I'm frankly not interested in fighting with old drivers and Xorg (I imagine that's what it would entail, anyway). Regardless, the free drivers have worked just fine and since even HD video plays just fine in Dragon player, I don't think it's a GPU issue.

Oh damn I didn't know the 4000s were killed off from AMD's drivers. Thank god I got an Nvidia GPU or I'd be SOL as my mobo is ATI4250. Yeah...I guess you'd need to check the VLC build but I just checked mine and lo-and-behold it uses way more CPU than any of my other players (dragon and XBMC). So I guess it's just VLC's coding.
Rookie1337 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 10:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jrl1357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,510
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie1337 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cha0s_Cha0 View Post

Is this something new or has this always happened? VLC uses 1% cpu usage while watching 720p and 2-4% while watching 1080p for me. If you have the latest VLC player and have GPU acceleration on, then it may be a codec problem. Download Klite codec pack.

Please pay attention to what section you're posting in. This is not Windows.

Again though bomfunk you should try out the proprietary drivers as I know with Nvidias you lose many HD features using the FOSS ones. The FOSS drivers to GPUs to me just don't make sense beyond testing out a distro, or light usage (which doesn't mean HD).

not really correct. I can play flawless 1080p blueray rips on my tiny 4250 iGPU with the FOSS stuff no problem. no reason for the AMD stuff unless gaming.



jrl1357 is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 10:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Nixers / Reddit
Posts: 10,323
Rep: 605 (Unique: 370)
I would say if it's just recently, then possibly a borked update. Have you updated lately ? tongue.gif
Shrak is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bomfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,663
Rep: 133 (Unique: 119)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie1337 View Post

Oh damn I didn't know the 4000s were killed off from AMD's drivers. Thank god I got an Nvidia GPU or I'd be SOL as my mobo is ATI4250. Yeah...I guess you'd need to check the VLC build but I just checked mine and lo-and-behold it uses way more CPU than any of my other players (dragon and XBMC). So I guess it's just VLC's coding.
Hm... what version do you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrak View Post

I would say if it's just recently, then possibly a borked update. Have you updated lately ? tongue.gif
I have, though I don't recall VLC being in the updates... and I can't actually remember how long this has been going for. It only started getting really annoying lately because summer heat and no AC combined with high CPU usage makes my rig sound like a jet engine... especially annoying during the spikes.

I don't use Linux because it's free. I use Linux because it works.
bomfunk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off