[solved] BtrFS root - booting read only - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[solved] BtrFS root - booting read only

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 8,040
Rep: 574 (Unique: 277)
I used the btrfs-convert tool on my ext4 volume and while the conversion was a success, now ArchLinux mounts root as read only. (I know the file system is fine as I can remount the file system once the OS has started)

I'm using syslinux, but I'm pretty sure it's not the boot menu that's the issue. I think it's a Linux config file I've missed somewhere; likely a really obvious and dumb mistake that I've over looked.

I believe the fstab is correct (and I have changed a few settings in there just in case). And I've added btrfs to mkinitcpio.

Anyone else have any suggestions?
Plan9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 06:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
particleman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 57
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
can you mount rw after boot?

# mount -o remount,rw /;
particleman72 is offline  
post #3 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 07:13 PM
 
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 29,448
Post fstab (cat /etc/fstab) and post the last 100 lines of dmesg (dmesg | tail -n 100) after boot.

What does OCN offer as a site?
What are infractions and warnings?
How to make quality posts
#well
(19 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H
GPU
Sapphire RX 580
RAM
2x G.Skill F3-2400C10-8GTX
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Optical Drive
Generic DVD±RW Burner
Power Supply
Corsair TX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Fractal Design Core 2500
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Dell U2711
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Monitor
LG W2453TQ
Keyboard
Ducky DK9008G2, Cherry MX Blue, Overclock.net Edition
Mouse
Logitech G303
Mouse
Xtrfy GP3 HeatoN
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT-770 80 Ohm
Audio
AntLion ModMic v3
Audio
M-Audio Fast Track USB
▲ hide details ▲


gonX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 11:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CaptainBlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 560
Rep: 24 (Unique: 18)
You used a file system conversion tool; you are braver than me biggrin.gif
CaptainBlame is offline  
post #5 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 02:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 8,040
Rep: 574 (Unique: 277)
Quote:
Originally Posted by particleman72 View Post

can you mount rw after boot?

# mount -o remount,rw /;
I did already say I could tongue.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonX View Post

Post fstab (cat /etc/fstab) and post the last 100 lines of dmesg (dmesg | tail -n 100) after boot.
The last 100 lines wouldn't be of much use as that's all just wifi and other such crap. There is this further up though:
Code:
$ dmesg | egrep -i "(btrfs|sda)"                                                                                                                
[    0.000000] Command line: root=/dev/sda1 ro initrd=../initramfs-linux.img BOOT_IMAGE=../vmlinuz-linux                                                                
[    0.000000] Kernel command line: root=/dev/sda1 ro initrd=../initramfs-linux.img BOOT_IMAGE=../vmlinuz-linux 
[    1.412671] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 125045424 512-byte logical blocks: (64.0 GB/59.6 GiB)
[    1.412745] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
[    1.412749] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
[    1.412782] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[    1.414982]  sda: sda1
[    1.415445] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk
[    1.487440] Btrfs loaded
[    1.488171] device fsid b9a11d9a-7db6-46c3-b2f4-9b651f3e108b devid 1 transid 395 /dev/sda1
[    1.806315] device fsid b9a11d9a-7db6-46c3-b2f4-9b651f3e108b devid 1 transid 395 /dev/sda1
[    2.245862] device fsid b9a11d9a-7db6-46c3-b2f4-9b651f3e108b devid 1 transid 395 /dev/sda1
[    2.460893] device fsid b9a11d9a-7db6-46c3-b2f4-9b651f3e108b devid 1 transid 395 /dev/sda1
[    2.461807] btrfs: disk space caching is enabled
[    2.463332] btrfs: mismatching generation and generation_v2 found in root item. This root was probably mounted with an older kernel. Resetting all new fields.
[    2.463794] btrfs: mismatching generation and generation_v2 found in root item. This root was probably mounted with an older kernel. Resetting all new fields.
[    2.480639] Btrfs detected SSD devices, enabling SSD mode
[    2.481025] btrfs: mismatching generation and generation_v2 found in root item. This root was probably mounted with an older kernel. Resetting all new fields.
[    5.786825] device fsid b9a11d9a-7db6-46c3-b2f4-9b651f3e108b devid 1 transid 397 /dev/sda1
[    5.787612] btrfs: disk space caching is enabled
[    5.809776] Btrfs detected SSD devices, enabling SSD mode
[    5.809797] btrfs: mismatching generation and generation_v2 found in root item. This root was probably mounted with an older kernel. Resetting all new fields.
[    6.465721] device fsid b9a11d9a-7db6-46c3-b2f4-9b651f3e108b devid 1 transid 397 /dev/sda1
[   25.171509] btrfs: disk space caching is enabled
Code:
#UUID=58a3c64f-ba75-4f44-bad2-a24b05331b6a      /               btrfs           defaults,compress,ssd,discard           0 0
UUID=/dev/sda1               /               btrfs           defaults,noatime,discard,ssd,compress   0 0
I've just noticed that I've garbled up the fstab (used a block device against UUID), so going to fix that and reboot

[edit]
yeah that fixed it. Dumb mistake. I can't believe I missed that yesterday. Still, I did suspect it was something stupid I'd overlooked.

Thanks for your help
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainBlame View Post

You used a file system conversion tool; you are braver than me biggrin.gif
I know what you mean. I'm hoping to convert my work desktop to Btrfs to take advantage of snapshotting, however I thought I'd better check the conversion tool at home (where it matters less) first. Plus I wanted to get the feel of just how mature Btrfs is before committing to it.

Honestly though, even just with these little tests (and I'm not in any way blaming the booting in read only on Btrfs), I'm largely unimpressed. It's pretty obvious from using it that it's designed to be a copy of ZFS, yet the CLI tools aren't near as clean and user friendly. I honestly do wish Oracle (or whoever's decision it was) just wrote new ZFS drivers for Linux instead of trying to reinvent a crappier version of ZFS.
Plan9 is offline  
post #6 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 04:49 AM
 
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 29,448
Good to hear you fixed it. You don't need to use the 'defaults' option in the fstab if you are specifying something else.

What does OCN offer as a site?
What are infractions and warnings?
How to make quality posts
#well
(19 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4770k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H
GPU
Sapphire RX 580
RAM
2x G.Skill F3-2400C10-8GTX
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Optical Drive
Generic DVD±RW Burner
Power Supply
Corsair TX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Fractal Design Core 2500
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Dell U2711
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Monitor
LG W2453TQ
Keyboard
Ducky DK9008G2, Cherry MX Blue, Overclock.net Edition
Mouse
Logitech G303
Mouse
Xtrfy GP3 HeatoN
Audio
Beyerdynamic DT-770 80 Ohm
Audio
AntLion ModMic v3
Audio
M-Audio Fast Track USB
▲ hide details ▲


gonX is offline  
post #7 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 8,040
Rep: 574 (Unique: 277)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonX View Post

Good to hear you fixed it. You don't need to use the 'defaults' option in the fstab if you are specifying something else.

This is what I thought too, but every single article I found, when googling the problem, did put defaults + other options:
https://btrfs.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/SysadminGuide
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Installing_on_Btrfs_root#.2Fetc.2Ffstab
http://tincman.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/installing-arch-linux-onto-a-gpt-partitioned-btrfs-root-ssd-on-a-legacy-bios-system/
Plan9 is offline  
post #8 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 8,040
Rep: 574 (Unique: 277)
Btrfs is an abomination.

Every single thing that ZFS got right, btrfs completely cocked up. There isn't even a simple was to roll back snapshots. Its just the worst.
Plan9 is offline  
post #9 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 10:24 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Rookie1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 8,555
Rep: 389 (Unique: 296)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plan9 View Post

Btrfs is an abomination.

Every single thing that ZFS got right, btrfs completely cocked up. There isn't even a simple was to roll back snapshots. Its just the worst.

Wait so snapshots don't work or what? I'm totally confused on Btrfs as when I first used it back in 2010 with MeeGo it was faster than it is now...it also seemed to have less features working. So what's the point in going to btrfs (IIRC isn't it supposed to be the ext4 replacement in the future?) because I'm trying it on one Linux install and it has atrocious slow boots now and shutdowns.
Rookie1337 is offline  
post #10 of 45 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Plan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 8,040
Rep: 574 (Unique: 277)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie1337 View Post

Wait so snapshots don't work or what? I'm totally confused on Btrfs as when I first used it back in 2010 with MeeGo it was faster than it is now...it also seemed to have less features working. So what's the point in going to btrfs (IIRC isn't it supposed to be the ext4 replacement in the future?) because I'm trying it on one Linux install and it has atrocious slow boots now and shutdowns.

It's snapshots fine. It doesn't have any in built rollback feature (or at least none that I can fine) so you're basically expected to rsync your data manually (as one guide suggests)
Plan9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off