Which Linux Distro? Ubuntu or Mint? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Which Linux Distro? Ubuntu or Mint?

post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 33 (Unique: 29)
Which Linux Distro? Ubuntu or Mint?

Hello and sorry for the long question but input and experiences are appreciated.

I am planning an building a Dual Boot system using Windows and a Linux Distro. I have NO experience with Linux and wanted to get opinions on which is easier for a noob, will have driver updates sooner ect.

The system is expected as follows

8c16t or 12c/24t Ryzen 3000 CPU (When they launch)
16gb ram
AMD RX590 or NAVI GPU if they are out by Christmas.
3 monitors= Two 2560x1440 and 3440x1440

Will be used for general home computing tasks and web browsing as a way to get more familiar with Linux.

What is going to be the most straightforward and plug and play distro to use? I am not interested in tweaking programs and registration files or customizing the heck out of it. I want it to "just work"

Suggestions, thoughts and things I should be aware of or concerned about?

Self Proclaimed Gaming Nutt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 11:48 AM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
I myself have chosen Mint because I'm lazy..

Reasons I don't use ubuntu: 1 was unity before and 2nd is gnome3 now
Suggestions for other distros: KDE Neon, MX Linux, ElementaryOS
Ease of use: I rould rate Mint easier compared to ubuntu because of gnome3 ********ness.. but thats my opinion.

It has been said that if you place an infinite amount of monkies by one typewriter each, one of them will eventually write a literary masterpiece. The Internet has proven that this is not the case.

Current Rig
Old Rig
the machine
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.4
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark II
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill Sniper 8GB 2133
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Power Supply