Linux and touch screen? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Linux and touch screen?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2019, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,103
Rep: 162 (Unique: 119)
Linux and touch screen?

Thinking about getting a Lenovo Flex with the AMD CPU. It will be my road warrior laptop for light stuff, even some basic gaming. I plan to run Arch or Manjero with KDE on it. Since it has the whole 2in1 thing going on, how is that in Linux? I have never used a Linux laptop with touch on it, so, have no real frame of reference for its performance.

Does anyone have first-hand experience running something like the Flex with Linux? Any particular issues getting it working?
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2019, 12:36 PM
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,464
Rep: 116 (Unique: 69)
I doubt Arch or anything not so mainstream has good support for touch screens.

Either Ubuntu or Linux Mint is probably the best bet.

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Main rig
(16 items)
Parents (2nd) PC
(13 items)
CPU
AMD R7 1700
Motherboard
ASRock X570 Fatal1ty Gaming K4
GPU
Sapphire RX480 4GB Nitro+
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Corsair ForceLS SSD
Hard Drive
250GB Maxtor SATA 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
250GB Seagate Baracuda SATA 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
500GB WesternDigital Blue 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 EVO
Case
Thermaltake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 1607
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH 21.5" 1080p IPS
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
A4 Tech Bloody v5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
XFX RX470 4GB SingleFan
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green 500GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
120GB Kingston SSD
Optical Drive
ASUS DVD+RW x52
Power Supply
Corsair VS650
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
DeepCool Tesseract
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Monitor
ASUS VS228H 21.5"
Keyboard
Logitech K120
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2019, 04:18 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,493
I have been running Arch on a Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga for almost 4 years.

General touchscreen operations worked pretty much out of the box.

I did have to run a few scripts when it was brand new to get some things like auto-rotation to work correctly, but depending on the model you are getting it should work pretty well on the latest kernel. Not sure how it works with different DE's since I just run i3, but Gnome, KDE, and Cinnamon should all be able to make whatever adjustments you need to the touchscreen or touchpad.


I still have a few scripts that I run, but those are related to input rotation when I'm using the digitizer. I use xournal/xournal++ daily in tablet mode with the Wacom pen.


Click image for larger version

Name:	archYoga.png
Views:	9
Size:	668.8 KB
ID:	307706


tictoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2019, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Prophet4NO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3,103
Rep: 162 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by tictoc View Post
I have been running Arch on a Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga for almost 4 years.

General touchscreen operations worked pretty much out of the box.

I did have to run a few scripts when it was brand new to get some things like auto-rotation to work correctly, but depending on the model you are getting it should work pretty well on the latest kernel. Not sure how it works with different DE's since I just run i3, but Gnome, KDE, and Cinnamon should all be able to make whatever adjustments you need to the touchscreen or touchpad.


I still have a few scripts that I run, but those are related to input rotation when I'm using the digitizer. I use xournal/xournal++ daily in tablet mode with the Wacom pen.


Attachment 307706
Good to know. It seems like no major issues then. I might just migrate my current Arch install to the new machine then. Looks like it will be a minor issue getting things working if anything does not work. Tahnks.
Prophet4NO1 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2019, 06:52 PM
2+2=5
 
tictoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,493
Getting automatic screen rotation is really the only thing that might taking some fiddling. The Wiki has what looks to be a decent page of info on the subject: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tablet_PC#Rotation


tictoc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off