Linux Performance Tuning - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Linux Performance Tuning

post #1 of 77 (permalink) Old 09-21-2008, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff

Rep: 1516 (Unique: 918)
You're running Linux, now it's time to make it run faster! I've been using Linux since 1993 () and I learned a few things along the way.

Most of these changes will improve your performance, a few I threw in because they'll make your system more stable. Enjoy!

Sysctl

The system control facility lets you tune dozens of little bits of the Linux kernel. For performance gains only a few of them are really relevant. You change these by editing the /etc/sysctl.conf file and then running sysctl -p (or rebooting).

vm.oom_kill_allocating_task = 1
By default when Linux runs out of memory it goes through the process list and starts killing off processes that it thinks are using too much memory. This sysctl makes Linux kill the runaway process that made the system run out of memory instead, which is usually what you want.

vm.page-cluster = 5
When Linux reads from the swap file it reads 2^page-cluster pages at once. It won't help to raise it past 5 because the swap is laid out in 32-page clusters.

Disk I/O

relatime
This option is a more intelligent way of tracking disk accesses that dramatically reduces disk writes and increases disk performance. Check your /etc/fstab file and for your filesystems that are listed as ext2/ext3 in the third column, in the fourth column take out "defaults" or "noatime" if they're present and replace them with "relatime". If neither of those two are present in the fourth column, then add ",noatime" to whatever is there. You need to reboot for this to take effect.

Defragmentation