Windows 98 on a 1090t - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Windows 98 on a 1090t

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Agressive Perfector
 
kabj06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ur mom lulz
Posts: 1,308
Rep: 31 (Unique: 29)
I'm preparing to install Windows 98 on my rig for no reason whatsoever. I plan on first trying to get it to boot with just one core enabled (I'll keep the clock speed the same) and then experimenting with getting it to run with 2 or more cores. I would like tips from anyone who, like me, has been adventurous with this stuff. I'll also post pictures and the steps I took.

wth.gif It took a 5 GHz Piledriver to beat an i7 2600k in PCMark. lachen.gif


kabj06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Atomfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Caerphilly, Wales
Posts: 5,824
Rep: 193 (Unique: 161)
Not sure if Windows 98 is multi-core enabled, unless Microsoft released a patch for it.

PSN: ATO3FIX

STEAM: Atomfix


Atomfix is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,051
Rep: 45 (Unique: 39)
i installed 98SE on a 478 P4 rig i had and let me tell you it was a nightmare... I mess with comp since win 3.1 but i had forgot how terribad to install 31,/95/98 were.... i mean it's a real pain to find the drivers that will actually work, but once you get them it's half bad rolleyes.gif

gl ! thumb.gif

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif


Frank33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jeff78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 714
Rep: 69 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomfix View Post

Not sure if Windows 98 is multi-core enabled, unless Microsoft released a patch for it.
It will run on multiple cores but it is not optimized for it, IE. it won't perform the proper resolutions to tasks. I'm not quite sure whether this will translate to more or less performance, the most likely situation is that it won't give near the difference in operation as going from singe to dual core on an OS written with multiple cores in mind.
Jeff78 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:12 PM
boof
 
andrews2547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 13,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomfix View Post

Not sure if Windows 98 is multi-core enabled, unless Microsoft released a patch for it.

There might be an official patch for it. The last update for 98 was in 2006

Quote:Originally Posted by TheBadBull https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gif

I'm a level 5 vegan. I don't eat anything that casts a shadow.

It's also why I eat my bacon in the dark ????????????????
Computer of Theseus
(16 items)
RIP Athlon '01-'11
(10 items)
PC MK1
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 1600
Motherboard
Asus PRIME B350 PLUS
GPU
EVGA RTX 2070 8GB
RAM
16GB Corsair Vengence (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 32LD450
Monitor
Dell
Monitor
Valve Index Headset
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Midnight MX Blue
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 310
Other
Valve Index Base Station
Other
Logitech G29
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair V
GPU
nVidia GTX 550Ti
RAM
12GB DDR3
Hard Drive
500GB WD Blue
Cooling
Coolermaster Evo
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Operating System
Windows 8 Pro
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
AMD Athlon 1300 1.3Ghz
Motherboard
Asrock
GPU
nVidia 7200GS
RAM
1GB
Hard Drive
80GB IDE
Operating System
Windows XP
▲ hide details ▲
andrews2547 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:15 PM
How many volts!?
 
Dustin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,427
Rep: 208 (Unique: 174)
Make sure you download 3DMark11 and run it.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

Currently Playing :
Destiny - Xbox One
Gamertag - Em Wolb yeH


Dustin1 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Agressive Perfector
 
kabj06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ur mom lulz
Posts: 1,308
Rep: 31 (Unique: 29)
400
Windoze is whining about a missing driver for the CDROM drive. What do I do now?

Update: I'm running the fdisk tool and creating a DOS partition (it seems to be stuck on verifying drive integrity although the drive is 200 GB in size). I almost forgot how to use even the most basic versions of it!

wth.gif It took a 5 GHz Piledriver to beat an i7 2600k in PCMark. lachen.gif


kabj06 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Agressive Perfector
 
kabj06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ur mom lulz
Posts: 1,308
Rep: 31 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin1 View Post

Make sure you download 3DMark11 and run it.
Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

If I can get it to work, suuuuuurrrreee.

wth.gif It took a 5 GHz Piledriver to beat an i7 2600k in PCMark. lachen.gif


kabj06 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:45 PM
I Am Gooble Gobble
 
PCSarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Big Gig In The Sky
Posts: 6,594
Rep: 252 (Unique: 229)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kabj06 View Post

400
Windoze is whining about a missing driver for the CDROM drive. What do I do now?
Update: I'm running the fdisk tool and creating a DOS partition (it seems to be stuck on verifying drive integrity although the drive is 200 GB in size). I almost forgot how to use even the most basic versions of it!

DEATH TO THE A:\ DRIVE! we dont use those anymore! lol

download the driver for your CD-rom drive off the companies website

Quote:Originally Posted by PCSarge https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gif

Like Some Dirty Pleb http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/yessir.gif
Orange Angel
(23 items)
CPU
i5 7600K @ 5.0Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Strix Z270I Gaming
GPU
Visiontek RX 480 [EK FC nickel/Acetal]
RAM
16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Hard Drive
Crucial M300 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Firecuda 2TB
Hard Drive
Intel 525S 256GB M.2
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i
Cooling
EK Supreme LTX CSQ [Canadian Special Edition]
Cooling
MCP 35X 10W W/ EK CSQ X-TOP
Cooling
EK Coolstream PE 240
Cooling
Bitspower Multi Tank 80
Cooling
Bitspower Matte Black Rotary Fittings/ Feser Matte Black Barbs
Case
Corsair Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
Monitor
Samsung 32 Inch 4K TV
Monitor
Acer S231H
Keyboard
NKPC V60 65% custom
Mouse
Razer Deathadder 2013
Mouse
Stelseries QCK+
Audio
Astro A40 TR+ Mixamp Pro
Other
AKRacing Arctica Gaming Chair
▲ hide details ▲


PCSarge is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2012, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Agressive Perfector
 
kabj06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ur mom lulz
Posts: 1,308
Rep: 31 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCSarge View Post

DEATH TO THE A:\ DRIVE! we dont use those anymore! lol
download the driver for your CD-rom drive off the companies website

After I download the driver what do I do with it?


wth.gif It took a 5 GHz Piledriver to beat an i7 2600k in PCMark. lachen.gif


kabj06 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off