[Screens] Windows 8 Consumer - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Screens] Windows 8 Consumer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,862
Here are screens from a clean install of Windows 8 Consumer. If there is any part of Windows 8 in particular you wish to see feel free to post and I will upload a screen for you. Maybe I will find the time to write a review of Windows 8 Consumer. For starts I would like to tell you Windows install is about 3x faster then Windows 7 (about 10 minutes on single core and 7200rpm HDD). thumb.gif

338

338

338

338

338

338

338

338

338

338

338

Here is the system resource usage of a fresh Windows 8 boot on a 2.4ghz Athlon 64 (single core) and 3GB of DDR (400mhz) memory.

338

Looks like Microsoft has done its homework with reducing memory consumption of Windows 8 compared to Windows 7.


Warmonger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:46 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Evil Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,029
Rep: 150 (Unique: 129)
Where's the start button in classic mode? D:

“Take the risk of thinking for yourself , much more happiness , truth, beauty, and wisdom will come to you that way ..” - Christopher Hitchens
Threadzilla
(8 items)
CPU
Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX
Motherboard
MSI X399 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 580 GAMING X 8G
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14D-32GTZKW
Hard Drive
WD Black 2280 NVMe SSD
Power Supply
Antec HCP-1300 Platinum
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S
Case
Fractal Design Define R6 Black
▲ hide details ▲
Evil Penguin is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Penguin View Post

Where's the start button in classic mode? D:

During the last builds of Windows 8 Consumer the entire start menu got striped from the OS (from what I heard).


Warmonger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ML241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 435
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
It wont let me install for some reason.

300
ML241 is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML241 View Post

It wont let me install for some reason.
300

Try changing your computers power mode to "high performance" then re-run setup. Or download a ISO instead and burn it to a disk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warmonger View Post

Downloading to test drive this. tongue.gif Below are ISO files.
English
64-bit (x64) Download (3.3 GB) Sha 1 hash — 1288519C5035BCAC83CBFA23A33038CCF5522749
32-bit (x86) Download (2.5 GB) Sha 1 hash — E91ED665B01A46F4344C36D9D88C8BF78E9A1B39
Product Key: DNJXJ-7XBW8-2378T-X22TX-BKG7J


Warmonger is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ML241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 435
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warmonger View Post

Try changing your computers power mode to "high performance" then re-run setup. Or download a ISO instead and burn it to a disk.

I already tried the high performance trick and it didn't work. Thanks for the ISO link. thumb.gif
ML241 is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:22 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Evil Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,029
Rep: 150 (Unique: 129)
Meh... No Windows 8 drivers for the HD 7xx0 series.

“Take the risk of thinking for yourself , much more happiness , truth, beauty, and wisdom will come to you that way ..” - Christopher Hitchens
Threadzilla
(8 items)
CPU
Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX
Motherboard
MSI X399 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 580 GAMING X 8G
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14D-32GTZKW
Hard Drive
WD Black 2280 NVMe SSD
Power Supply
Antec HCP-1300 Platinum
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S
Case
Fractal Design Define R6 Black
▲ hide details ▲
Evil Penguin is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Penguin View Post

Meh... No Windows 8 drivers for the HD 7xx0 series.

Same with the HD 4xx0 series. When I tried to install 12.1 there was no "Display Adapter" option to check redface.gif


Warmonger is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:38 PM
Waiting for 7nm EUV
 
tpi2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11,469
Rep: 898 (Unique: 504)
What ? The Consumer Preview still has all the problems I mentioned in my Developer Preview Review ? Unbelievable.

Why does the Wireless panel use all that space, convering desktop space ? What is that for ? So you can potentially see 50 wireless connections at the same time ?

You still can't search from within the desktop environment ? Why do you have to be taken away from what is happening on the desktop - running applications, apps and notifications to do a search ? If you search for UAC does it still require you to select the right category, meaning more mouse clicks ?

Why is the control panel still full screen as if this was a tablet version of Windows ?

Why the dumbing down duplication of the location you're at in all windows ?

I love the efficient internals of Windows 8, but the interface is a disrespect to desktop users.

In some of these things Microsoft forgot two fundamental things: people like Windows because it's not Mac OS; second, they forgot the multitasking nature of the OS. Having to go away from the desktop to do a search or to use the control panel are excellent examples that they forgot what Windows is about. This should not be modelled after a tablet OS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warmonger View Post

During the last builds of Windows 8 Consumer the entire start menu got striped from the OS (from what I heard).

What ? Say goodbye to Windows 8 then. It will flop.


tpi2007 is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 1,094
Rep: 91 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warmonger View Post

During the last builds of Windows 8 Consumer the entire start menu got striped from the OS (from what I heard).

Thank you Microsoft, I'm happy with Windows 7 -____-



strych9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off