Clean Windows 7 installation - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Clean Windows 7 installation

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dcb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Hi,
I’ve bought a customer returns laptop with Windows Home Premium OA pre installed. Now after a few months of use there is about 160GB of back up files that I want to get rid of. All I have is the windows sticker with license key on the back of the laptop,no disks. Does the OA version is ready to use,already activated version? Or did previous user had to activate it personally? The reason for asking is that I would like to download Windows 7 image,install clean version and use the license key that I already own. That's perfectly legit as far as I am concerned.
Thank you for your input
dcb1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 08:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 510
Rep: 20 (Unique: 18)
Most likely the computer was pre-activated by the manufacturer. If you go to "My Computer", right click, select properties, wright down the windows OS version (Home, Pro, Ultimate ect), and when you download or use a new OS disc make sure the two versions match up and you will have no issue at the time of activation.

Ryzen Master
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix X470-I Gaming AM4 AMD X470
GPU
GIGABYTE GeForce RTX 2080 DirectX 12 GV-N2080WF3-8GC 8GB 256-Bit GDDR6
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 750W Smart Zero Fan
Cooling
Corsair Hydro Series H100i PRO Low Noise 240mm RGB Water/Liquid CPU Cooler
Case
Thermaltake View 32 RGB Tempered Glass ATX TT LCS
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
▲ hide details ▲
charlesC8188 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dcb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Since my reasons are genuine can you recommend any tried and tested link for Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit image,please? OA version or not does not matter,right?
dcb1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 04:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
grss1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 996
Rep: 70 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb1 View Post

Since my reasons are genuine can you recommend any tried and tested link for Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit image,please? OA version or not does not matter,right?

https://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/seans-windows-7-install-optimization-guide-for-ssds-hdds

CPU: Sempron 2500+ / P4 2.8E / P4 2.6C / A64 x2 4000+ / E6420 / E8500 / i5-3470 / i7-3770
GPU: TNT2 M64 / Radeon 9000 / MX 440-SE / 7300GT / Radeon 4670 / GTS 250 / Radeon 7950 / 660 Ti

Main Rig
(15 items)
CPU
Intel i7-3770
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-P45
GPU
ASUS GTX 660 Ti DirectCU (2GB DDR5)
RAM
16GB of RAM (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
2x1TB HDD (Seagate and Western Digital)
Optical Drive
ASUS DVD-RW
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II-620 PSU
Cooling
Stock Cooling
Case
Antec 300
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
22" HP LED Backlit LCD (1920x1080)
Keyboard
Dell
Mouse
Razer
Mouse
Dell
Audio
Onboard
▲ hide details ▲
grss1982 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dcb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Rep: 0

Spot on,much obliged.
dcb1 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dcb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Just realized I didn't get any hardware drivers cd with the laptop. Do I need those drivers separately with new installation of Windows 7 or it will recognize hardware?
In worst case I have backup image but I would really like to install from scratch.
Thanks
dcb1 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 10:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 314
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
It will recognize some of the hardware, but you will need drivers for mostly everything else like LAN, any GPU, sometimes USB (if there are 3.0 ports), fingerprint scanners, etc. You can download them from the manufacturer's website.

It will recognize anything you need to get into the desktop though.

Always torn between roots and wings.
aoya is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 06:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
grss1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 996
Rep: 70 (Unique: 64)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb1 View Post

Just realized I didn't get any hardware drivers cd with the laptop. Do I need those drivers separately with new installation of Windows 7 or it will recognize hardware?
In worst case I have backup image but I would really like to install from scratch.
Thanks

Just make sure to have a copy for the drivers of the LAN or WLAN of your computer. Windows 7 has come to the point that it's stock drivers are not enough for newer LAN or WLAN. Encountered this issue with the Intel 82578DM Network Controller on several HP computers when doing a clean installation with both a Win7 disk that has no SP1 and one that has SP1.

CPU: Sempron 2500+ / P4 2.8E / P4 2.6C / A64 x2 4000+ / E6420 / E8500 / i5-3470 / i7-3770
GPU: TNT2 M64 / Radeon 9000 / MX 440-SE / 7300GT / Radeon 4670 / GTS 250 / Radeon 7950 / 660 Ti

Main Rig
(15 items)
CPU
Intel i7-3770
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-P45
GPU
ASUS GTX 660 Ti DirectCU (2GB DDR5)
RAM
16GB of RAM (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
2x1TB HDD (Seagate and Western Digital)
Optical Drive
ASUS DVD-RW
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II-620 PSU
Cooling
Stock Cooling
Case
Antec 300
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
22" HP LED Backlit LCD (1920x1080)
Keyboard
Dell
Mouse
Razer
Mouse
Dell
Audio
Onboard
▲ hide details ▲
grss1982 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 06:19 AM
Rust Buckets for Days
 
axipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 13,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb1 View Post

Just realized I didn't get any hardware drivers cd with the laptop. Do I need those drivers separately with new installation of Windows 7 or it will recognize hardware?
In worst case I have backup image but I would really like to install from scratch.
Thanks

The drivers are normally pre-loaded on the recovery partition that it loads from during a factory reset. If you set up the laptop yourself out of the box, you probably noticed it went through an initial setup state (Acer shows you the progress, Toshiba just has a full screen window that takes about an hour or two, most HP's are already pre-installed)

If it went through an initial driver install, you can probably access the drivers in a folder somewhere on a recovery image, or the recovery partition. If not you'll have to get them all from the manufacturer's website.

Most desktop hardware is recognized by Windows 7 no problem, laptops are a little trickier though. Windows might find generic drivers that work, but you will be losing some performance and most likely quite a bit of battery life as well.



Spoiler!


axipher is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off