Desperate for help! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Desperate for help!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-10-2012, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,008
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
No idea which forum to put this in but I have just tried to reinstall win7 on my main rig and after loading it up and clicking format on my first partition to do a clean install, when I try installing it, it wont allow it it says it has an MBR on it and it needs a GPK because of my EFI BIOS. I tried deleting it and re-creating the partition but it won't allow it. I have important data on my second partition that I don't have backed up anywhere, I tried loading up a live cd with ubuntu on it to try and copy the data off that second partition but it can't gain access to it. Is there anything I can do to save my data or to be able to reinstall my windows without having delete my raid setup and start again???

Urgent for help as that is my only working rig.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-10-2012, 07:25 AM
Retired Staff
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,024
Rep: 1156 (Unique: 763)
If it were me I'd do this:
1) get another drive, at least temporarily
2) install that other drive, and remove the cables to your existing RAID setup (unplug them from the drives, not the board cause you want to keep them connected to the same sata headers ... probably won't matter but just to be safe that's what I'd do. And make sure you can (later) plug each cable back into same the drive it was unplugged from ... don't get them reversed).
3) Turn off RAID in the bios, install windows to the new drive, make sure it works and such, install the stuff from the mobo disc including the raid drivers and array management stuff.
4) Shut down and reconnect the cables to the RAID drives, turn RAID back on in the bios, restart, check the boot order in bios, and restart windows from the new drive.
5) at this point you may have to re-activate the RAID via the disk manager or the raid manager software that comes on your mobo disc.
6) now you should have access to the stuff on your RAID partition.

I'm not going to say it's impossible to fix your problem here w/o getting another HD, but this way I describe is likely going to be WAY safer and simpler. It's worth the investment if you really care about that data.

BTW, you should really not have set up your system like this in the first place, or if you did, you should've had a backup system going on for your 2nd partition wink.gif

Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56 (Nano-based) With Samsung OC'ing in Progress!
CPU
xeon X5675 6c/12t @ 4.1ghz (1.29v, 20x205 +ht) Gen 1 I7 Baby!!!
Motherboard
rampage iii extreme
GPU
Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56 (Samsung) Stock Bios For Now!
RAM
3 x 2gb corsair xms3 pc12800 ([email protected])
Hard Drive
hynix 250gb ssd (boot), 2tb deskstar (apps),1tb spinpoint (bu)
Optical Drive
plextor px-712sa - still the best optical drive ever
Power Supply
abs sl (enermax revolution) * single 70A rail 850w
Cooling
corsair h8o v2 aio
Case
silverstone rv-03
Operating System
W10 home
Monitor
LG Ultrawide QHD 21:9 Curved IPS Monitor 3440 x 1440 AMD FreeSync
Audio
XFi Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
brettjv is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-10-2012, 07:39 AM
Retired Staff
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,024
Rep: 1156 (Unique: 763)
Note that I've made edits above since I originally posted thumb.gif

Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56 (Nano-based) With Samsung OC'ing in Progress!
CPU
xeon X5675 6c/12t @ 4.1ghz (1.29v, 20x205 +ht) Gen 1 I7 Baby!!!
Motherboard
rampage iii extreme
GPU
Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56 (Samsung) Stock Bios For Now!
RAM
3 x 2gb corsair xms3 pc12800 ([email protected])
Hard Drive
hynix 250gb ssd (boot), 2tb deskstar (apps),1tb spinpoint (bu)
Optical Drive
plextor px-712sa - still the best optical drive ever
Power Supply
abs sl (enermax revolution) * single 70A rail 850w
Cooling
corsair h8o v2 aio
Case
silverstone rv-03
Operating System
W10 home
Monitor
LG Ultrawide QHD 21:9 Curved IPS Monitor 3440 x 1440 AMD FreeSync
Audio
XFi Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
brettjv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-10-2012, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,008
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Ok, I see the logic to your suggestion, but when I have even done something like a bios update, as soon as the RAID gets turned off, I lose everything even if I go back into the BIOS and turn the RAID back on before anything else happens I still have to go into the RAID manager and configure them which erases everything, it always comes back as drive one being member disk and drive two being a non-member disk which screws everything up.

So I don't want to have to try installing onto a single drive (i do have one) because I will definitely lose my stuff. I have most of my stuff backed up but this is the last 200GB that wouldn't fit on my external drive.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off