OS Info. Question! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

OS Info. Question!

Closed Thread

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-2004, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hi,
I have a few questions that I need to ask you guys.

Windows XP Upgrade version:
If I run a windows ME, I can use Windows XP Upgrade version to upgrade my ME to XP right?

Windows XP Pro OEM:
Is there anything different from Windowx XP Pro "RETAIL"? Do they both work the same, but juse OEM and RETAIL?

Last of all: do any of you guys know where I can buy wholesale for computer parts and OSes? I'm trying to run a business in Computer Services & Web Design. To get started I need to know where to purchase cheap parts and OSes. Can't hop to Fry's or Best to get the parts. LOL. I graduated with the BS in CS recently but no job. I'm in Southern CA. Thanks in advance.

GuardianX
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-2004, 04:04 PM
Retired Staff

Rep: 354 (Unique: 187)
Yes, Windows ME will upgrade to XP (anything 98 and later). But if you want to do a fresh install, you will have to reinstall ME, then install XP right after. W/ the upgrade you keep all your programs and everything.

The only differences w/ OEM and Retail are:
No MS customer support.
No nice manual (I dunno how nice of a one comes w/ retail)
No box
and I think that's it.

If you wanna install XP on multiple comps, then order one OEM licence and CD. Then order only licences for the rest. I buy most of my software from www.saveateagle.com. Check them out. But no, I don't know of a good "whole saler".

Fold for the cure & team 37726!!
H2O cooling: Chevette heatercore, 172mm 258CFM fan, Apogee GT, and Ehiem 1250. Load temp @ 1.45vcore 41C.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-2004, 04:34 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 76 (Unique: 44)
What's OEM stand for?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-06-2004, 05:34 PM
Retired Staff