Windows Vista Home Premium Download/ISO? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Windows Vista Home Premium Download/ISO?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
werds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,881
Rep: 147 (Unique: 137)

So managed to snag a core2quad system with 8GB of ram and all components but no OS installed on ebay for cheap... BUT it has a Certification of Authenticity on the tower. Now the problem arises that I need to get a hand on the installation software... as I would prefer to use the COA rather than using up a software key from one of my other spares (all legit). Where can I go to download a LEGIT ISO or copy of the install DVD for Vista Home Premium (32 and 64 bit as I assume it should be 64 bit but the seller states it is a COA for 32 bit via correspondence). 




werds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 10:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blade 117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: united states of messed up politics
Posts: 906
Rep: 46 (Unique: 40)
call microsoft and tell them that your hdd has failed. I believe you can use a legit copy and different code that microsoft will supply you upon contacting them.

Ryzen_Up
(14 items)
Homemade NAS
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus 370 k7
GPU
Evga gtx 1070 ftw
RAM
corsair
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro m2
Hard Drive
seagate firecude 2tb
Optical Drive
blu ray
Power Supply
evga g2 750w
Cooling
h110
Case
Corsair 600d
Operating System
windows 10
Monitor
acer
Keyboard
blackwidow
Mouse
rat 5
CPU
amd apu a6-5400k
Motherboard
msi
GPU
onboard
RAM
corsair
Hard Drive
western digital 2tb
Hard Drive
western digital 2tb
Hard Drive
hgst deskstar 3tb
Hard Drive
hgst deskstar 3tb
Optical Drive
none
Power Supply
logisys 480
Case
logisys
Operating System
nas4free
Monitor
hp
▲ hide details ▲
Blade 117 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
werds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,881
Rep: 147 (Unique: 137)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade 117 View Post

call microsoft and tell them that your hdd has failed. I believe you can use a legit copy and different code that microsoft will supply you upon contacting them.

 

I think maybe I confused everyone with my OP, I have legit key. Require the discs to do the install but do not have - where can I download copy of legit ISO so I can burn to disc and therefore do the install.




werds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 11:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tom.slick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,012
Rep: 158 (Unique: 128)
Links to Digital River downloads and instructions for burning to dvd
http://www.raymond.cc/blog/how-to-burn-downloaded-windows-vista-to-dvd/


tom.slick is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 12:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hyperkite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 424
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
hyperkite is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
werds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,881
Rep: 147 (Unique: 137)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperkite View Post

To use the COA you would have to contact original manufacturer of PC
and get software from them..


Well that sucks, I thought the COA had the product key information that I could use to activate an installed version...




werds is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-07-2013, 06:24 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Lshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 930
Rep: 59 (Unique: 55)
Here is a legit sight to retrieve windows from.. Hope this helps you out!!! wink.gif

http://www.mydigitallife.info/download-windows-7-iso-official-32-bit-and-64-bit-direct-download-links/

Lshuman is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
werds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,881
Rep: 147 (Unique: 137)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lshuman View Post

Here is a legit sight to retrieve windows from.. Hope this helps you out!!! wink.gif

http://www.mydigitallife.info/download-windows-7-iso-official-32-bit-and-64-bit-direct-download-links/

 

Awesome thanks!

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperkite View Post

To use the COA you would have to contact original manufacturer of PC
and get software from them..

 

I sure as hell hope that isn't the case, as every COA I have seen has a product key directly on it. So you mean that using regular retail install software will result in a no go when applying the COA product key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom.slick View Post

Links to Digital River downloads and instructions for burning to dvd
http://www.raymond.cc/blog/how-to-burn-downloaded-windows-vista-to-dvd/

 

More alternatives =)




werds is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 11:21 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Jared2608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 1,333
Rep: 60 (Unique: 52)
If the COA has a licence key on it like "xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx" etc, then I see no reason why it will not work. I got a Toshiba laptop from my uncle, that was downgraded to XP. It was very slow, so I decided to intall Vista again, because it had the COA with the key on. I used my Vista upgrade DVD to install Vista Business(All vista has all versions on the dvd's), and it worked like a charm with the Vista Business key and the Upgrade DVD.

Download the ISO and use the licence on the COA, and I'm 99% sure you won't have a problem. If online activation doesn't work(I've seen this on a totally legit pc at a clients office), then just use over the phone activation.

Big Red
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Fatal1ty Gaming K4
GPU
Sapphire RX580 Nitro+ 8GB
RAM
16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHz RGB (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
500GB Western Digital Blue SSD
Hard Drive
1TB Western Digital Blue HDD
Power Supply
750W Super Flower Leadex II Fully Modular
Cooling
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Turbo LED
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro Special Edition Full Tower
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 22MP48 22'' IPS
Mouse
Sharkoon Drakonia Dark
Mousepad
Red Dragon Archelon
Audio
Asus Cerberus Headset
▲ hide details ▲
Jared2608 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-12-2013, 10:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
grss1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 999
Rep: 71 (Unique: 65)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jared2608 View Post

If the COA has a licence key on it like "xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx" etc, then I see no reason why it will not work. I got a Toshiba laptop from my uncle, that was downgraded to XP. It was very slow, so I decided to intall Vista again, because it had the COA with the key on. I used my Vista upgrade DVD to install Vista Business(All vista has all versions on the dvd's), and it worked like a charm with the Vista Business key and the Upgrade DVD.

Download the ISO and use the licence on the COA, and I'm 99% sure you won't have a problem. If online activation doesn't work(I've seen this on a totally legit pc at a clients office), then just use over the phone activation.

Seen this happen twice already when using a COA product key and a retail Windows installer. Got resolved though through phone activation. biggrin.gif

CPU: Sempron 2500+ / P4 2.8E / P4 2.6C / A64 x2 4000+ / E6420 / E8500 / i5-3470 / i7-3770
GPU: TNT2 M64 / Radeon 9000 / MX 440-SE / 7300GT / Radeon 4670 / GTS 250 / Radeon 7950 / 660 Ti

Main Rig
(15 items)
CPU
Intel i7-3770
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-P45
GPU
ASUS GTX 660 Ti DirectCU (2GB DDR5)
RAM
16GB of RAM (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
2x1TB HDD (Seagate and Western Digital)
Optical Drive
ASUS DVD-RW
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II-620 PSU
Cooling
Stock Cooling
Case
Antec 300
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
22" HP LED Backlit LCD (1920x1080)
Keyboard
Dell
Mouse
Razer
Mouse
Dell
Audio
Onboard
▲ hide details ▲
grss1982 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off