How to convert disk to GPT outside of windows (window install screen) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to convert disk to GPT outside of windows (window install screen)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-08-2013, 07:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 8,215
Rep: 452
Well there was no warning anywhere that if I reinstalled windows using a UEFI bios board that I could no longer use the normal whatever boot record. Windows disk decided to tell me AFTER I formatted my drive that it can't install windows unless it's formated to that GPT format. Well everything I see online only shows how to do that in windows, which is SUCH A HUGE HELP.

How the heck do I do it outside of windows.....any way? The heck do I do now? This bios is nice but it isn't worth the headache it's giving me.

Edit: I found this online somewhere on the interwebs and it allowed me to install windows. The "ESP" and "SYSTEM" do require the quotation marks when you get to it. After you do it, start the installation over, IE go back to the blue install button screen.

Shift + F10 at the windows installer then do the following.

Type diskpart, press Enter
Type lis dis , press Enter
Type sel dis X (where X is the number your drive shows up as), press Enter
Type cle, press Enter
Type convert gpt, press Enter
Type cre par efi size=100, press Enter
Type for quick fs=fat32 label="ESP", press Enter
Type cre par msr size=128, press Enter
Type cre par pri align=4096 , press Enter
Type for quick fs=ntfs label="SYSTEM", press Enter
Type ass letter=C noerr, press Enter
Type exi, press Enter
Close command then install to "System" (Name can be changed after install).
SpykeZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-08-2013, 07:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Yungbenny911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 3,673
Rep: 240
I think i know what you are talking about, i fixed this beofore in dos mode or something... shid.. i can't remember confusedsmiley.png.. I'll tell you if i find something.

And let me get this straight, you can't install windows on your HDD because it is in a particular format or so right? confused.gif... can you type the error code as you see it?
Yungbenny911 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-08-2013, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 8,215
Rep: 452
Wouldn't let me reinstall windows because it was in NTFS format or something and needed to be in GPT format

I did find something on google
Quote:
Shift + F10 at the windows installer then do the following.

Type diskpart, press Enter
Type lis dis , press Enter
Type sel dis X (where X is the number your drive shows up as), press Enter
Type cle, press Enter
Type convert gpt, press Enter
+Type cre par efi size=100, press Enter
+Type for quick fs=fat32 label="ESP", press Enter
+Type cre par msr size=128, press Enter
+Type cre par pri align=4096 , press Enter
Type for quick fs=ntfs label="SYSTEM", press Enter
Type ass letter=C noerr, press Enter
Type exi, press Enter
Close command then install to "System" (Name can be changed after install).

and I did it, and it's installing now granted I only know about half of what the stuff means lol. Stuff with a + next to it makes no sense on why I needed to do it. Sitting at the Expanding Windows files right now so I guess we'll see how it goes. This is kind of annoying considering how "awesome" this new technology is supposed to be. I'm using a Samsung 830 128GB btw
SpykeZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-08-2013, 08:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Yungbenny911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 3,673
Rep: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpykeZ View Post

Wouldn't let me reinstall windows because it was in NTFS format or something and needed to be in GPT format

I did find something on google
and I did it, and it's installing now granted I only know about half of what the stuff means lol. Stuff with a + next to it makes no sense on why I needed to do it. Sitting at the Expanding Windows files right now so I guess we'll see how it goes. This is kind of annoying considering how "awesome" this new technology is supposed to be. I'm using a Samsung 830 128GB btw

I guess that's what i did tongue.gif , i could not understand half of what i was doing, that's why i did not remember what i did. I have had this issue about 3 times now, and i have fixed it on all occasions, but i fail to remember the process biggrin.gif... i guess you are good to go thumb.gif
Yungbenny911 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-08-2013, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 8,215
Rep: 452
SpykeZ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off