My mouse cursor is showing up as dotted line? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My mouse cursor is showing up as dotted line?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 10:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Andypandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Rep: 0
I installed Windows 7 64bit and updated everything. Then I plugged in my external HDD and my mouse cursor changed to dotted lines. I never had this happen before. What caused this? Is it AMDs new driver? Is it corrupt Windows OS? Or is it faulty hardware? When I restarted my PC, the cursor was back to normal.

This is my PC spec

Intel 3770K 3.5Ghz
16GB XMS 3 Corsair Ram
Sapphire AMD HD 7950 3GB
ASUS P8Z77-V motherboard
Samsung SSD 128GB
2TB Seagate HDD
Samsung Blu Ray drive


Andypandy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-08-2013, 02:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Silvos00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 2,175
Rep: 77 (Unique: 62)
I've seen this on all of my GPUs, from the 8800 to the 7950 I have now. It happens after I opened certain programs. No clue as to a solution, however. I just restarted and it fixed it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Choggs396 go_quote.gif
I went outside once and thought real life looked worse than Crysis. Haven't been out since. rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by superj1977 go_quote.gif
Ooohh wow...that just brought my rig to its knees,lol.
Silvos00 is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 09-08-2013, 09:19 AM
Ever Forward.
 
PR-Imagery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Headed to the top.
Posts: 6,504
Rep: 231 (Unique: 166)

Most likely, GPU/driver related, possibly software.

 

I have a 7970 and 5770 installed currently, and when it happens, it only appears as a dotted line on the monitor connected to the 7970, when I move it to the other monitors connected to the 5770, it appears normal. Did the same thing when I had a 6670 installed along with the 7970.

For me, it was caused primarily by the flimsiness of the Gigabyte pcb/weight of the heatsink bending the board and mostly only happened when the card started artifacting - tying the card to the case to remove the bend improved the artifacting greatly. The other thing that caused it for me, was hardware acceleration in Firefox, disabling that eliminated it completely for the most part; it has only happened once in the past ~4 months.


"The greatest good you can do for another is not just to share your riches but to reveal to him his own."


PR-Imagery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-16-2014, 11:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
djnsty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Shake it! Shake, Shake it! Shake it like a polaroid picture!

Just try it.

djnsty is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 05:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 228
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
I have this issue all the time. I used to just reboot to fix it, but on my machine I found that if I hover over the show desktop square in the far right of the task bar it returns to normal.
Don't know why it happens but it does.

Macnemarion is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-21-2014, 05:48 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Brulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 489
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
i usually get it on my eyefinity setup when the mouse cursor goes from 1 screen to the other.... just shake it till it goes away biggrin.gif


I'm pretty sure the problem is in the SCSI bus processor uplink to the motherboard gigahertz memory. Could you check the IDE case for an improper blue-screened CD-ROM packet? I stored the information on a thumbgig so you could Windows Excel it.



The Internet: Where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.
Brulf is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-22-2014, 04:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,542
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
I always get that, seems to go away after a few minutes though,

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-22-2014, 04:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mrawesome421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,996
Rep: 91 (Unique: 80)
Thought I was the only one that had this issue from time to time. Guess not. And yes, moving the mouse back and forth very quickly does make it change back to normal.



_______________

"We will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as
the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders),
when we have a good faith belief that doing so is necessary."


-Microsoft Windows 10 Terms of Service and User Agreement
__________
mrawesome421 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-22-2014, 04:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
linkin93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,189
Rep: 267 (Unique: 236)
From my experience it's either a bad driver, or faulty hardware. It's a graphical artefact after all.

The AMD ASRock Extreme Series Motherboard Club
Rkingsmiley.png FLAC > Essence STX > Beyerdynamic DT880 250 Ohm thumbsupsmiley.png
Quote:
Originally Posted by skitzogreg go_quote.gif

Hmm, I don't know of any other company that charges $15 for a kick to the testicles.
linkin93 is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-22-2014, 04:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,542
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkin93 View Post

From my experience it's either a bad driver, or faulty hardware. It's a graphical artefact after all.

Nah, had it on all my cards through all the drivers.

No idea what it is, but it's harmless.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off