Severe dwm.exe Memory Leak (4.9GB Usage) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Severe dwm.exe Memory Leak (4.9GB Usage)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DoctorWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 94
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I've noticed recently that the Desktop Window Manager (dwm.exe) has been using an insane amount of memory recently. On average, it uses over a gigabyte of RAM. When I got home today, I noticed Task Manager reporting that it was using over 4 gigabytes. I decided to google it, and a thread suggested to check it out in Process Explorer, and now I've realised that it's also filled up my page file. This has caused performance issues, obviously, such as stuttering that goes away on reboot.

What could make dwm.exe use up such an ungodly amount of memory?
I'm running Windows 8, and all I really run on it are Chrome (with GPU compositing on), Pidgin, MSI Afterburner, and Steam.
I can't turn off dwm.exe, as W8 forces compositing.

My system has:
Intel i5-750
8GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 770
All of these components are heavily overclocked.

Can anybody help me diagnose and solve this problem?
DoctorWorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 05:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
OldMX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 421
Rep: 24 (Unique: 23)
Is your windows fully updated as well as all your hardware?

Windows software is licensed, not sold. This agreement only gives you some rights to use the software. Microsoft reserves all other rights.
OldMX is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DoctorWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 94
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Just fully updated Windows, and dwm seems to be behaving a bit better, after an hour of uptime it's only using 43mb. I'll see if it's still under 50mb tomorrow.
DoctorWorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DoctorWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 94
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Nope, still leaking like crazy. Just played half an hour of TF2, and dwm.exe is at 83mb, at just 2 hours of uptime.
DoctorWorm is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2013, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DoctorWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 94
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Anybody have any ideas? This issue is forcing me to reboot daily because of the memory usage.
DoctorWorm is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-08-2013, 08:32 AM
Windows Wrangler
 
Techie007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,217
Rep: 340 (Unique: 250)
    You should be able to terminate "dwm.exe" to get the memory back without rebooting.  The screen will flash black, and then "dwm.exe" will be restarted.

Techie007 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-08-2018, 04:34 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
If your windows fully updated as well as all your hardware and you have only installation problem means that missing file.
download missing file and install it.
rajan5 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off