Need a small windows program made for you? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Need a small windows program made for you?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
sɪɴɢɪɴɢ ɢᴏᴅᴅᴇss
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 35.190.36.24
Posts: 3,356
Rep: 352 (Unique: 304)
Dear Mods: Putting this here, instead of Programming, because this is meant for non-programmers.

I've been coding in C# which is a language used to develop Windows apps.
I've got bored and can't think of stuff to do that would be useful for me.

Here's the kicker!
You don't need to know anything about coding.
All you need is an idea.

So give me an idea and I will make it for you.
If I don't think your idea is possible I will let you know.

It might take me a day, or a week, up to a month depending on how large the request is and how many I get.
If the idea is already made, I don't care. I will still make MY version of it for you.
The simpler the idea, the quicker it will be made.

A "simple" idea would be one that doesn't require me to modify other processes (like trying to control another program than the one I create).

Obviously no ideas that involve anything illegal or hacking anything.
I would however still entertain the idea of a fake "virus" that is to say a program that acts like a virus but doesn't harm the PC.
An example of this would be a program that says "You Can't Close Me" and keeps moving itself around the screen when you go to close it. The user could simply end the process in TaskManager and it doesn't actually hurt anything. Stuff like that.


Any program I make will be open-source.



Update: All programs will now be listed under one link!
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ve8p6p14z8c8kyh/AACUu-qHiUQK9hHbFJNlFzrHa?dl=0

This will always link to the latest uploads of all the programs I make.

Programs (Click to show)
Quote:
Active Programs
Ken's Download Helper (Beta) - A simple download manager.
Quote:
Inactive Programs
Runescape Calc - Compares items in runescape.
Quote:
Completed Programs
Aʟʟ ᴘʀᴏɢʀᴀᴍs ʀᴇǫᴜɪʀᴇ Wɪɴᴅᴏᴡs XP ᴀɴᴅ ᴜᴘ ᴜɴʟᴇss ᴏᴛʜᴇʀᴡɪsᴇ ɴᴏᴛᴇᴅ.
Quote:
Music Master
Status: Completed fully.

Description: Control iTunes and Windows volume while other apps are active (such as fullscreen games).
Quote:
Window Snapper
Status: Completed fully.

Description: Starts up and places designated programs at certain places on a specified screen.
Quote:
Customer Tracker
Status: Completed fully.

Description: Keep track of your customers! Add, Remove, Search, Save, and Load are all included in this package!
Quote:
Guess Me If You Can
Status: Completed fully.

Description: Auto generates a random customizable password every second.
Quote:
Rate My PC
Status: Completed fully.

Description: Uses Windows Experience Index (WEI) to display your system's score.
Quote:
Gate Master
Status: Completed fully.

Description: Creates/Deletes Windows firewall rules to control which IP address a program's traffic goes though.
Quote:
Defunct Programs
Quote:
Game Controller - Let's you send a single keyboard input, for a duration, to any program. (POSSIBLE / DIFFICULT)
-Requires hooking into Windows UI and emulating a virtual keyboard.
-Language is different than what I use.
-Most games disable virtual keyboards to prevent bot programs (I think, not sure).
-Information Gathered:code snippet MSDN
Quote:
Xbox 360 Controller Interface - Let's you control the Xbox 360 controller as if it was a mouse. (MAYBE POSSIBLE? / DIFFICULT)
-No built in code.
-Not much support.
-No experience on this matter.

Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." ― Carl Sagan
"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." ― Christopher Hitchens
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it." ― Neil deGrasse Tyson


kennyparker1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 11:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 909
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
I have an odd one... Probably really hard to do as well, but I'll post it none the less. tongue.gif

Would it be possible to make a window snap (CPUZ as an example) to a certain location (pixel x / pixel y)?

It's kinda hard to explain, but basically it would snap a program to the bottom left of the screen for example, with 10 pixels to the left, and 10 pixels from the bottom.

Ahnt is offline  
post #3 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 12:13 AM
Getting used to 'new'
 
AcEsSalvation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 5,116
Rep: 220 (Unique: 163)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post

I have an odd one... Probably really hard to do as well, but I'll post it none the less. tongue.gif

Would it be possible to make a window snap (CPUZ as an example) to a certain location (pixel x / pixel y)?

It's kinda hard to explain, but basically it would snap a program to the bottom left of the screen for example, with 10 pixels to the left, and 10 pixels from the bottom.
Sounds like using the 'auto arrange icons' for the desktop, just with a window of an application.

I could use two things. First one might be a little hard, but it's okay. It's lowest priority. Could you make something like beantunes.exe - except that it can work with all games. I cannot control it in a few like Civ5... a little irritating. I cannot use the new Steam beta as my client always crashes.

Second one should be easy. I need something similar to an auto typer. It needs to press a key (x) and hold it for a second or so, then let it go. Then press the key again... etc. The reason why is the damn golden saucer on FF7. I would like to be able to get easy GP for the battle section, but the basketball game is annoying.

Let me know if you can do these. I honestly don't mind if you can't. I figured that I could let you test yourself with this if you wanted.

Sig's kind of broke a little. It's okay, I needed to update it anyway XD


AcEsSalvation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 01:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 909
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcEsSalvation View Post

Sounds like using the 'auto arrange icons' for the desktop, just with a window of an application.

Not really. Like I said it's kinda hard to explain what I mean. Basically when you open a program (I'll use CPUZ for an example) it opens up centered in the main monitor. I'm wanting it to open up and snap automatically to a specified location.

In my case, snap to the second monitor and locate itself to the bottom left corner without having to manually drag it there.

Basically snap [insert program here] to monitor [x] and locate at x,x pixel.

Ahnt is offline  
post #5 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 02:02 AM
Getting used to 'new'
 
AcEsSalvation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 5,116
Rep: 220 (Unique: 163)
I see... I could use that. Move 'Task Manager', 'HWMonitor', and 'EVGA Precision X' to my second monitor.
I saw someone say they are using that for their workstation. They had it set up on a key bind.

Sig's kind of broke a little. It's okay, I needed to update it anyway XD


AcEsSalvation is offline  
post #6 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 02:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 909
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Exactly. It comes in handy on suicide runs when you only have a few seconds to get a screen. Have everything setup to snap to a designated location / monitor when launched, then screen shot, save and done. thumb.gif

Ahnt is offline  
post #7 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter
sɪɴɢɪɴɢ ɢᴏᴅᴅᴇss
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 35.190.36.24
Posts: 3,356
Rep: 352 (Unique: 304)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post

I have an odd one... Probably really hard to do as well, but I'll post it none the less. tongue.gif

Would it be possible to make a window snap (CPUZ as an example) to a certain location (pixel x / pixel y)?

It's kinda hard to explain, but basically it would snap a program to the bottom left of the screen for example, with 10 pixels to the left, and 10 pixels from the bottom.

This can be done but it's not built in to the language. I would have to "steal" code from Windows to use it which is a bit difficult as it's like writing in another language.

I'll see what I can do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcEsSalvation View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post

I have an odd one... Probably really hard to do as well, but I'll post it none the less. tongue.gif

Would it be possible to make a window snap (CPUZ as an example) to a certain location (pixel x / pixel y)?

It's kinda hard to explain, but basically it would snap a program to the bottom left of the screen for example, with 10 pixels to the left, and 10 pixels from the bottom.
Sounds like using the 'auto arrange icons' for the desktop, just with a window of an application.

I could use two things. First one might be a little hard, but it's okay. It's lowest priority. Could you make something like beantunes.exe - except that it can work with all games. I cannot control it in a few like Civ5... a little irritating. I cannot use the new Steam beta as my client always crashes.

Second one should be easy. I need something similar to an auto typer. It needs to press a key (x) and hold it for a second or so, then let it go. Then press the key again... etc. The reason why is the damn golden saucer on FF7. I would like to be able to get easy GP for the battle section, but the basketball game is annoying.

Let me know if you can do these. I honestly don't mind if you can't. I figured that I could let you test yourself with this if you wanted.

Your first program's issue might be the same issue I'm running into on your 2nd request.
You said beantunes won't work on games.
I believe that is because the key signals it sends out is ignored by the game because the game uses a graphics API to read input signals from the keyboard instead of listening for Windows to send the signal.

Unfortunately C# has the same issue. It's built in Keyboard controller uses the Windows API which is ignored by any app (usually games) that don't use it.

Would be the same as the above request. Can be done but would require writing code in a different language.

Right now I have my program sending out keystrokes but I'm having difficulties in controlling how long the key stays pressed down.
I think your first request would be easier since it doesn't require prolonging the key press.

I think I'm about to head to bed but when I get back on the PC I will work on your first request.

As a side note, this program requires a driver to be installed. (Which I have tested myself and it works fine.)

Complete Overclocking Guide: Sandy Bridge & Ivy Bridge | *ASRock Edition*
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." ― Carl Sagan
"That which can be asserted without evidence, can be dismissed without evidence." ― Christopher Hitchens
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it." ― Neil deGrasse Tyson


kennyparker1337 is offline  
post #8 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 04:09 PM
Getting used to 'new'
 
AcEsSalvation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dayton, OH.
Posts: 5,116
Rep: 220 (Unique: 163)
Some games ti would work, as long as I'm not using a key that the game is using like Skyrim. Other games like Civ5 just won't work period. Like I said, it's fine if you can't do this. I don't mind using Alt+Tab to swap songs. The main reason why I hated doing that was my Skyrim crashed a lot. I now have my modpack stable, so that's not an issue anymore.

And I'm not sure if it would be easier about the key press, but you could make it press a button on a controller. I have a X360 controller that I can remap the buttons for.

Sig's kind of broke a little. It's okay, I needed to update it anyway XD


AcEsSalvation is offline  
post #9 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 09:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
subassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,500
Rep: 72 (Unique: 57)
I have an idea: I'd like to use a gamepad with Balder's gate 2 (the one you get from gog). Also something to make it work on a win 8 touch screen. Again this is the 15 or so old one so running windowed would work and I assume a sendkey wrapper hack thing is as fancy as would be required. Feel free to use a fancier method and...I guess it could be generic instead of bg2 specific.
subassy is offline  
post #10 of 117 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 10:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
subassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,500
Rep: 72 (Unique: 57)
I have an idea: I'd like to use a gamepad with Balder's gate 2 (the one you get from gog). Also something to make it work on a win 8 touch screen. Again this is the 15 or so old one so running windowed would work and I assume a sendkey wrapper hack thing is as fancy as would be required. Feel free to use a fancier method and...I guess it could be generic instead of bg2 specific.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcEsSalvation View Post

Sounds like using the 'auto arrange icons' for the desktop, just with a window of an application.

I could use two things. First one might be a little hard, but it's okay. It's lowest priority. Could you make something like beantunes.exe - except that it can work with all games. I cannot control it in a few like Civ5... a little irritating. I cannot use the new Steam beta as my client always crashes.

Second one should be easy. I need something similar to an auto typer. It needs to press a key (x) and hold it for a second or so, then let it go. Then press the key again... etc. The reason why is the damn golden saucer on FF7. I would like to be able to get easy GP for the battle section, but the basketball game is annoying.

Let me know if you can do these. I honestly don't mind if you can't. I figured that I could let you test yourself with this if you wanted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyparker1337 View Post

This can be done but it's not built in to the language. I would have to "steal" code from Windows to use it which is a bit difficult as it's like writing in another language.

I'll see what I can do.
Your first program's issue might be the same issue I'm running into on your 2nd request.
You said beantunes won't work on games.
I believe that is because the key signals it sends out is ignored by the game because the game uses a graphics API to read input signals from the keyboard instead of listening for Windows to send the signal.

Unfortunately C# has the same issue. It's built in Keyboard controller uses the Windows API which is ignored by any app (usually games) that don't use it.

Would be the same as the above request. Can be done but would require writing code in a different language.

Right now I have my program sending out keystrokes but I'm having difficulties in controlling how long the key stays pressed down.
I think your first request would be easier since it doesn't require prolonging the key press.

I think I'm about to head to bed but when I get back on the PC I will work on your first request.

As a side note, this program requires a driver to be installed. (Which I have tested myself and it works fine.)

For what it's worth I used to do something similar to what you're describing with Morrowind using AutoHotkey. I wrote a little checker loop that would check and make sure morrowind was running, if so then make sure the window had focus (and give it focus if it didn't) and only then do a sendkey to that window and that window only. It was really simple, just send the "quick save" key every five minutes (seems like I lost hours of experience on a fairly regular basis due to game or windows crashes or whatever).

I think the same thing could be done with Windows Script Host in VBScrit or JavaScript (my windows programming experience only goes back to 2006 or so so that's all I know).

Autohotkey could work for your FF7 task. There's a huge community library of scripts I'm sure holding it for a second or two at a time is more than possible. If you do go authotkey having a multi-monitor setup is helpful for debugging (one screen for the game, key outputs on the second). I didn't know any game had a built-in way of blocking raw sendkeys calls like that. I suppose it's possible as an anti-cheating or something.
subassy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off