[Official] The Windows 10 Club - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] The Windows 10 Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:12 AM
Computer Repair Tech
 
DiaSin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,527
Rep: 60 (Unique: 55)
After some major issues when I tried to install this as an update through Win7 I ended up just reformatting and starting fresh. Now that I have had some time to get things setup and actually use it I am starting to quite like it. There are DEFINITELY some tell-tale signs that this was built off the base of windows 8, such as settings for features that don't even exist anymore in Win10, which I assume will be gone by the time the CONSUMER preview comes around, but they don't have any real impact on usage.

But um.. anyone know a free antivirus with active protection that works on Win10? I need something temporary until avast gets updated to be compatible, as I have the paid version of that but it doesn't work on 10 yet.

I also need (if it exists) an alternative driver for my G35 headset. It won't let me install the Logitech Gaming Software. The installer picks up that it's not really windows 8 and says unsupported OS.
DiaSin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:14 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
fragamemnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 3,850
Rep: 248 (Unique: 187)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacrossewacker View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by fragamemnon View Post

Do you know any shortcuts regarding the virtual desktops?
I am experimenting through TeamViewer and then VirtualBox, so it is a bit uncomfortable to test with various modifier keys.

Not to switch between the workspaces individually .

Alt+Tab brings up ALL of your opened applications, based on the application you select the workspace it sits in will open.

So if there's a workspace open with Word/Excel and the Calculator opened and you Alt+Tab'd and selected the Calc, you'd open up to those 3 applications.


Now if I was to have a suggestion, I'd suggest the ability to reorganize the virtual workspaces. I'd like to see them all and drag them into a different order. Just in case by the 5th or 6th workspace, if it's closely tied to workspace desktop 1 I'd like to drag them closer together.


I agree with the prompt. Would you like to close the applications? If "no" then they just get pushed into another workspace.

Yes I got that, but alas, Alt+Tab is general behaviour. I would really like easier navigation and transportation instead of relying on it. For example, Ctrl+Alt+[Arrow] shifts to the desktop in the selected direction. Ctrl+Shift+Alt+[Arrow] moves your currently active window (and the desktop focus, respectively) left or right. This is default in Linux. Perhaps the Start key could be implemented as a modifier, I don't know.
I might give it a deep thought in a couple of hours as I get back home and post a proper proposal through their feedback system.

And regarding the prompt - yeah. Sounds pretty good. It could be done like so:
Code:
| YES ||  NO  |
          |
           ---> Move to Desktop 1
           ---> Move to Desktop 2
           ---> etc...

When you select NO, you get your desktops listed (or as thumbnails) in order to choose their destination.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DiaSin View Post

After some major issues when I tried to install this as an update through Win7 I ended up just reformatting and starting fresh. Now that I have had some time to get things setup and actually use it I am starting to quite like it. There are DEFINITELY some tell-tale signs that this was built off the base of windows 8, such as settings for features that don't even exist anymore in Win10, which I assume will be gone by the time the CONSUMER preview comes around, but they don't have any real impact on usage.

But um.. anyone know a free antivirus with active protection that works on Win10? I need something temporary until avast gets updated to be compatible, as I have the paid version of that but it doesn't work on 10 yet.

I also need (if it exists) an alternative driver for my G35 headset. It won't let me install the Logitech Gaming Software. The installer picks up that it's not really windows 8 and says unsupported OS.

Have you tried running their setups in compatibility mode for previous Windows versions? I've managed to install all the software I've attempted to so far like this.

MEGATRON
(17 items)
GIGATRON
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Gigabyte RX 580
RAM
2x8 G.Skill Trident 3200 CAS14 @ 3466 CAS14
Hard Drive
2x1TB WD Black RAID 0
Hard Drive
3TB WD Red
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
Power Supply
FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Cooling
Stock... hue hue
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Monitor
Benq XL2411Z
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Keyboard
KBC Poker II MX Clears
Mouse
Zowie ZA11
Mouse
old school Razer Goliathus
Audio
Aune T1 -> Yamaha A-720 -> Sennheiser HD650 | Sony MDR-XB500
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DAL-i
GPU
nay
RAM
2x8GB (for now) Kingston DDR4 @ 2133MHz/C16
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 120GB
Power Supply
SeaSonic SS850-AM
Cooling
EK-Vardar F4 on an Arctic Freezer i11
Case
overrated
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲


fragamemnon is online now  
post #13 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
andre02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 471
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Just installed it , first impression - seems pretty nice, but can i make it look like Windows 7 ? Everything is blocky with some pastelized colors and the buttons are not well delimitated(?) like they are floating.

Anybody knows what is up with the text, why it looks blurry and semi-bolded like it's something wrong with it ? Everybody has this problem ?
andre02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:23 AM
Computer Repair Tech
 
DiaSin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,527
Rep: 60 (Unique: 55)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fragamemnon View Post


Have you tried running their setups in compatibility mode for previous Windows versions? I've managed to install all the software I've attempted to so far like this.

You would think that would work, but the problem is its not WINDOWS saying its incompatible, its the INSTALLER. It detects that the OS is not on their supported list and won't let you even launch the installer.

Edit: Microsoft just pushed out another live update I think, it is now letting me install the software and driver package.
DiaSin is offline  
post #15 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:24 AM
Crayon Evangelist
 
inedenimadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 7,584
Rep: 469 (Unique: 321)
I installed it on a Celeron based laptop for my wife as she was none to happy with the change to Win8, and she is much more satisfied with it.

I am getting ready to trash my current install and give it a try on this slightly aging gaming system.

Edit to add:

Pulled a dumb move and when I was cleaning drives with disk part, selected the wrong disk and cleaned my install media


Might be a hot minute before my rig is back up and running.

Quote: Originally Posted by tpi2007 View Post
Computex 2018: 'Ladies and Gentleman, people of all chromatic sensibilities and lighting clownery, we are proud to present the aaarrrrgggeeebeeee Circus Maximus!'
Quote: Originally Posted by TFL Replica View Post
I was initially interested in Fallout 76, but my enthusiasm was nuked.
Quote: Originally Posted by rush2049 View Post
If I lob a grenade and die and respawn before it exploded does it still explode?
inedenimadam is offline  
post #16 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:36 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
fragamemnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 3,850
Rep: 248 (Unique: 187)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiaSin View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by fragamemnon View Post


Have you tried running their setups in compatibility mode for previous Windows versions? I've managed to install all the software I've attempted to so far like this.

You would think that would work, but the problem is its not WINDOWS saying its incompatible, its the INSTALLER. It detects that the OS is not on their supported list and won't let you even launch the installer.

Edit: Microsoft just pushed out another live update I think, it is now letting me install the software and driver package.

Heheh yeah, I feel you.
A man has got to ask.


Hm.... Regarding your edit - unless it was silent, I haven't received any notification whatsoever of something being updated. Let me check my history...

Nope. Only two Defender definitions and one big update that I installed before testing the Avast installer. It still won't let me. headscratch.gif

MEGATRON
(17 items)
GIGATRON
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Gigabyte RX 580
RAM
2x8 G.Skill Trident 3200 CAS14 @ 3466 CAS14
Hard Drive
2x1TB WD Black RAID 0
Hard Drive
3TB WD Red
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
Power Supply
FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Cooling
Stock... hue hue
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Monitor
Benq XL2411Z
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Keyboard
KBC Poker II MX Clears
Mouse
Zowie ZA11
Mouse
old school Razer Goliathus
Audio
Aune T1 -> Yamaha A-720 -> Sennheiser HD650 | Sony MDR-XB500
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DAL-i
GPU
nay
RAM
2x8GB (for now) Kingston DDR4 @ 2133MHz/C16
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 120GB
Power Supply
SeaSonic SS850-AM
Cooling
EK-Vardar F4 on an Arctic Freezer i11
Case
overrated
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲


fragamemnon is online now  
post #17 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMadProfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 949
Rep: 39 (Unique: 30)
So how are the visualization options? Can we get away from the flat look, or are we stuck with it?

Mad science means never stopping to ask "What's the worst that could happen?"
********************************************************************
Hilarious Out of Context Quotes:

"Any chance we could get a sample of the poo from you so we can send it over to be checked." - Mayhem

********************************************************************
TheMadProfessor is offline  
post #18 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:41 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
fragamemnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 3,850
Rep: 248 (Unique: 187)
It seems that we're s(t)uck.

Third-party programs will have to take care of this, but I have to admit that I am more or less keen on it - apart from the colours. But I fade and dull them.
In terms of flexibility, I observe various improvements and advancements, but there are steps taken in the wrong direction, too.

MEGATRON
(17 items)
GIGATRON
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Gigabyte RX 580
RAM
2x8 G.Skill Trident 3200 CAS14 @ 3466 CAS14
Hard Drive
2x1TB WD Black RAID 0
Hard Drive
3TB WD Red
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
Power Supply
FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Cooling
Stock... hue hue
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Monitor
Benq XL2411Z
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Keyboard
KBC Poker II MX Clears
Mouse
Zowie ZA11
Mouse
old school Razer Goliathus
Audio
Aune T1 -> Yamaha A-720 -> Sennheiser HD650 | Sony MDR-XB500
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DAL-i
GPU
nay
RAM
2x8GB (for now) Kingston DDR4 @ 2133MHz/C16
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 120GB
Power Supply
SeaSonic SS850-AM
Cooling
EK-Vardar F4 on an Arctic Freezer i11
Case
overrated
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲


fragamemnon is online now  
post #19 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheMadProfessor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 949
Rep: 39 (Unique: 30)
Ugh. I hate the flat look.

It works fine for Windows Phone (and makes sense, given the screen size), but a full size OS can (and SHOULD) afford to have some texture. The flat look OS makes it seem less like a mainstream OS and more like something you'd start children out on to teach them about primary colors and shapes.

Blech.

Mad science means never stopping to ask "What's the worst that could happen?"
********************************************************************
Hilarious Out of Context Quotes:

"Any chance we could get a sample of the poo from you so we can send it over to be checked." - Mayhem

********************************************************************
TheMadProfessor is offline  
post #20 of 9168 (permalink) Old 10-02-2014, 06:55 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
fragamemnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 3,850
Rep: 248 (Unique: 187)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadProfessor View Post

Ugh. I hate the flat look.

It works fine for Windows Phone (and makes sense, given the screen size), but a full size OS can (and SHOULD) afford to have some texture. The flat look OS makes it seem less like a mainstream OS and more like something you'd start children out on to teach them about primary colors and shapes.

Blech.

Textures - yes, I feel strongly about them, too. But I like flat, and all the glossary and '3D' tires me out a bit.

MEGATRON
(17 items)
GIGATRON
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Gigabyte RX 580
RAM
2x8 G.Skill Trident 3200 CAS14 @ 3466 CAS14
Hard Drive
2x1TB WD Black RAID 0
Hard Drive
3TB WD Red
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
Power Supply
FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Cooling
Stock... hue hue
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Monitor
Benq XL2411Z
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Monitor
Dell U2412M
Keyboard
KBC Poker II MX Clears
Mouse
Zowie ZA11
Mouse
old school Razer Goliathus
Audio
Aune T1 -> Yamaha A-720 -> Sennheiser HD650 | Sony MDR-XB500
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2650 v4 @ 2.00GHz
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DAL-i
GPU
nay
RAM
2x8GB (for now) Kingston DDR4 @ 2133MHz/C16
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 120GB
Power Supply
SeaSonic SS850-AM
Cooling
EK-Vardar F4 on an Arctic Freezer i11
Case
overrated
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲


fragamemnon is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off