New Win Error - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

New Win Error

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Doom5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
So i re-did my Windows little over a week ago.
Everything was fine until all of a sudden is get this (0xc0000142) error when i try and run some of my program setups.
I have run antivirus (panda), spybot and malware and found nothing.

Here's a link to a screenshot.

I have lowered the UAC and still nothing.

Any help would be much appreciated as im not looking to format again after just having my pc with everything installed up and "running"

Acid Wind
(13 items)
CPU
6600K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
GPU
Asus 1080 Strix
RAM
ADATA RGB Spectrix D41
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Corsair SPEC OMEGA RGB Black
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung KU7000 4K
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
Mionix Sargas XXLarge
Audio
ASTRO A40 TR
▲ hide details ▲
Doom5003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 04:34 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

I think it's because you have to reinstall the program. When you reinstall Windows, programs that were once installed are no longer installed because now you have a new Windows environment - and so all of your programs and games and whatnot need to be installed into this new Windows environment.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Doom5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
That's just it, i cant run some of the setup.exe files
I can even run cmd, get the same error

Acid Wind
(13 items)
CPU
6600K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
GPU
Asus 1080 Strix
RAM
ADATA RGB Spectrix D41
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Corsair SPEC OMEGA RGB Black
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung KU7000 4K
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
Mionix Sargas XXLarge
Audio
ASTRO A40 TR
▲ hide details ▲
Doom5003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 04:41 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

So that's what you meant by "program setups". I was about to ask since the title of that dialog box is for some kind of a setup file.

 

Well, now I don't know what to say. Before I understood that you can't even open setup files, I thought this was just a matter of you being unable to open certain programs that you haven't tried to open until now.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Doom5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
So far every program that is installed runs and works just fine, but it is trying to run new setups, that's the problem.
Cant see myself doing Windows over AGAIN, just after having it all installed, updated and running...except for this ****.
Really hope someone here can give me some idea or advice one how to fix this.
I have no idea why cmd wont even run.....

Acid Wind
(13 items)
CPU
6600K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
GPU
Asus 1080 Strix
RAM
ADATA RGB Spectrix D41
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Corsair SPEC OMEGA RGB Black
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung KU7000 4K
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
Mionix Sargas XXLarge
Audio
ASTRO A40 TR
▲ hide details ▲
Doom5003 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 04:54 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

I'm curious, and don't be offended. Is your CPU overclocked?



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Doom5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Yes, 6600K @4.2
I read, a long time ago, that you should install windows with a CPU that has been oc'ed, but still, everything ran fine until recently.
So i doubt it has something to do with my oc

Acid Wind
(13 items)
CPU
6600K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
GPU
Asus 1080 Strix
RAM
ADATA RGB Spectrix D41
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Corsair H80i
Case
Corsair SPEC OMEGA RGB Black
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung KU7000 4K
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
Mionix Sargas XXLarge
Audio
ASTRO A40 TR
▲ hide details ▲
Doom5003 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2017, 05:18 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

Yeah, even if you think it's stable, it shouldn't be done because you never know what might happen while installing Windows. The installation needs to be done at stock. Of course, I don't know if this is the culprit.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off