Can't define monthly scheduled trigger in task scheduler Windows 10 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can't define monthly scheduled trigger in task scheduler Windows 10

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-15-2018, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
swingarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 160
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Can't define monthly scheduled trigger in task scheduler Windows 10

The pull down windows indicated by the red arrows do not work, you click on them and they just do a quick blink. I tried the following commands based on the only relevant google result I found:

sfc /scannow
dism.exe /online /cleanup-image /scanhealth

They didn't fix it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	task.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	218356  





Last edited by swingarm; 09-15-2018 at 09:24 AM.
swingarm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-15-2018, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
swingarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 160
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Tried system restore back to the earliest date listed(9-2-18), didn't work.



swingarm is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-15-2018, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
swingarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 160
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
For now I exported a similar task on another computer to an XML file, edited it, and then imported it into my computer to get what I wanted. Really still bugs me that I can't figure it out.



swingarm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-21-2018, 03:08 PM
Linux Noob
 
Beagle Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: /home
Posts: 870
Rep: 41 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by swingarm View Post
The pull down windows indicated by the red arrows do not work, you click on them and they just do a quick blink. I tried the following commands based on the only relevant google result I found:

sfc /scannow
dism.exe /online /cleanup-image /scanhealth

They didn't fix it.
Could it be a permissions issue? Is your Administrator account active? Are you logged in as you?

I did Latty's Linux Challenge and I now run Linux!
The Beagle Box
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8086K
Motherboard
MSI Z370 Gaming M5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X 8GB
RAM
G.Skill Flare X 16GB 2 x 8GB DDR4-3200 PC4-25600 CL14 Dual Channel
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB MLC V-NAND PCIe Gen 3 x4 NVMe M.2 2280 Internal SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB MLC NAND M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2 1000 Watt 80 Plus Platinum Modular ATX Power Supply
Cooling
Swiftech 220X2
Cooling
Corsair ML120 Pro White LED Magnetic Levitation 120mm Case Fan
Cooling
Corsair ML120 Magnetic Levitation 120mm Case Fan
Case
Corsair Vengeance C70
Operating System
Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.0
▲ hide details ▲
Beagle Box is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-05-2018, 11:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
swingarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 160
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I am logged in as me and I am an Administrator. Is the Administrator account different then a user with Administrative privileges?

Sorry for the delay.



swingarm is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-10-2018, 06:50 PM
Linux Noob
 
Beagle Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: /home
Posts: 870
Rep: 41 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by swingarm View Post
I am logged in as me and I am an Administrator. Is the Administrator account different then a user with Administrative privileges?

Sorry for the delay.
Most times, being an Administrator = being THE Administrator, but they aren't exactly the same. I no longer have a Windows 10 PC, so you'll need to research how to activate the Administrator Account and then log in as the Administrator.

You'll then need to see if you can schedule your task as the Administrator. If you can, there's something wrong with the admin-equivalent permissions on your user account. If you still can't set up your user task as the Administrator, you'll probably need to research the ways how to take ownership of files and directories.

I did Latty's Linux Challenge and I now run Linux!
The Beagle Box
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8086K
Motherboard
MSI Z370 Gaming M5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X 8GB
RAM
G.Skill Flare X 16GB 2 x 8GB DDR4-3200 PC4-25600 CL14 Dual Channel
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB MLC V-NAND PCIe Gen 3 x4 NVMe M.2 2280 Internal SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB MLC NAND M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2 1000 Watt 80 Plus Platinum Modular ATX Power Supply
Cooling
Swiftech 220X2
Cooling
Corsair ML120 Pro White LED Magnetic Levitation 120mm Case Fan
Cooling
Corsair ML120 Magnetic Levitation 120mm Case Fan
Case
Corsair Vengeance C70
Operating System
Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.0
▲ hide details ▲
Beagle Box is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-10-2018, 07:42 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,524
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
Ive had this issue in the past, though obviously not windows 10.


I generally was able to skirt around it by creating a one time task, saving it, rebooting after setting a trigger later in the same day.


Then I edited the task to be monthly and made sure trigger was set to what I actually wanted.
mattliston is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2018, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
swingarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 160
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I just export a similar task from another computer(XML file), edit it for my computer, and then import it. Works like a charm.



swingarm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off