[WIN10] New system, old disk - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[WIN10] New system, old disk

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Since C64
 
_LDC_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 556
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
[WIN10] New system, old disk

I'm about to receive my new PC (the one in signature sadly died, RIP) but the SSD with Windows is still perfect. Is there any chance to plug it into the new and have the operating system work fine, or should I abandon such wishful thinking at all?

Best Story Driven Games thread
The Creature 2
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME B350-PLUS
GPU
MSI RX580 8Gb Armor
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex3
Power Supply
Corsair TX550
Cooling
Arctic Freezer 12 CPU Cooler
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X
Operating System
LINUX LTS
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Quickfire TK
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 100
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
▲ hide details ▲
_LDC_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jedi Mind Trick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,406
Rep: 78 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by _LDC_ View Post
I'm about to receive my new PC (the one in signature sadly died, RIP) but the SSD with Windows is still perfect. Is there any chance to plug it into the new and have the operating system work fine, or should I abandon such wishful thinking at all?
For the most part it should work okay, and if not you can 'reset' windows and keep your personal files intact. It will remove installed applications and give you a list of everything that was removed.

Not sure why, but I had an issue going from one laptop to another (Dell Inspiron 15 3000 to Dell Latitude E5520), but had no issues taking the E5520's SSD with windows on it and sticking it in a Ryzen system and a X58 system (one after the other); so your mileage may vary.
Jedi Mind Trick is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 09:39 AM
Packet Pusher
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,314
Rep: 230 (Unique: 145)
Is it a totally new systems with different chipsets and all that?

If it is, most likely the reset Jedi mentioned will have to be performed. Since it removes all you apps anyways, a fresh install would be better. Unless you have files you need of course (pic, music, etc).

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours

What's in your hardware wallet?

[Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Owner's Club]
Project Blackout
(24 items)
CPU
i9 7900X Delidded
Motherboard
ASUS TUF X299 Mark 1
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
Hard Drive
4x 1TB Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
2x 480GB Kingston HyperX Savage SSD
Hard Drive
2x ADATA Ultimate SU800 1TB 3D NAND
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4
Hard Drive
INTEL® RAID ADAPTER RSP3DD080F
Hard Drive
2x 2TB Western Digital Green
Power Supply
CORSAIR HX Series HX1000
Cooling
Custom Water Cooling Setup
Cooling
Bitspower MonoBlock ASX299TUF RGB-Nickel
Case
Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Operating System
Winders 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Pixio PX276h 27"
Monitor
Acer GN276HL 27"
Monitor
HP EliteDisplay E222 22"
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM - Cherry MX Speed - Gunmetal
Mouse
HP Omen Reactor
Mousepad
Corsair Gaming MM800 RGB Polaris
Audio
Sades SA926 Gaming Headset
▲ hide details ▲


Renegade5399 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Since C64
 
_LDC_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 556
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jedi Mind Trick View Post
For the most part it should work okay, and if not you can 'reset' windows and keep your personal files intact. It will remove installed applications and give you a list of everything that was removed.

Not sure why, but I had an issue going from one laptop to another (Dell Inspiron 15 3000 to Dell Latitude E5520), but had no issues taking the E5520's SSD with windows on it and sticking it in a Ryzen system and a X58 system (one after the other); so your mileage may vary.
thanks a lot, this is a reassuring and useful information
I use mainly Linux and am not very familiar with Windows so is there any reliable guide that teaches how to perform said "reset"?

Quote: Originally Posted by Renegade5399 View Post
Is it a totally new systems with different chipsets and all that?

If it is, most likely the reset Jedi mentioned will have to be performed. Since it removes all you apps anyways, a fresh install would be better. Unless you have files you need of course (pic, music, etc).
I will be moving from i7 to Ryzen with AMD graphic adapter, I truly hope the transition will go smoothly...

Best Story Driven Games thread
The Creature 2
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME B350-PLUS
GPU
MSI RX580 8Gb Armor
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex3
Power Supply
Corsair TX550
Cooling
Arctic Freezer 12 CPU Cooler
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X
Operating System
LINUX LTS
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Quickfire TK
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 100
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
▲ hide details ▲
_LDC_ is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 01:19 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,348
Rep: 1031 (Unique: 619)
I went from Z97 to Z170 to Z390 without a reinstall, but eventually did for peace of mind.

Your old graphics driver shouldn't be an issue, it'll detect it's changed and won't load the old driver. Though if it does boot and work fine, run DDU, wipe the old driver, and reinstall the new one versus just installing the right one over.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Since C64
 
_LDC_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 556
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
I went from Z97 to Z170 to Z390 without a reinstall, but eventually did for peace of mind.

Your old graphics driver shouldn't be an issue, it'll detect it's changed and won't load the old driver. Though if it does boot and work fine, run DDU, wipe the old driver, and reinstall the new one versus just installing the right one over.
on that disk there is literally just Windows and Steam, and the graphic driver has already been removed before extracting the disk

Best Story Driven Games thread
The Creature 2
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME B350-PLUS
GPU
MSI RX580 8Gb Armor
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex3
Power Supply
Corsair TX550
Cooling
Arctic Freezer 12 CPU Cooler
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X
Operating System
LINUX LTS
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Quickfire TK
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 100
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
▲ hide details ▲
_LDC_ is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-15-2019, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Since C64
 
_LDC_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 556
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
ok I got the new PC, installed the old disks and both OS worked fine at the first run.
Just some updates (especially on Windows, which also required to activate it again) but everything went perfectly smooth, so if anybody else is having/will have the same issue...just relax, everything is going to be fine!

Best Story Driven Games thread
The Creature 2
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME B350-PLUS
GPU
MSI RX580 8Gb Armor
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex3
Power Supply
Corsair TX550
Cooling
Arctic Freezer 12 CPU Cooler
Case
Corsair Crystal 460X
Operating System
LINUX LTS
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450
Keyboard
CoolerMaster Quickfire TK
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 100
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
▲ hide details ▲
_LDC_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off