Help! Just cloned SSD from HDD for an upgrade and now getting class not registered errors! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help! Just cloned SSD from HDD for an upgrade and now getting class not registered errors!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-26-2019, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,932
Rep: 107 (Unique: 92)
Help! Just cloned SSD from HDD for an upgrade and now getting class not registered errors!

Title says it all, the start button also doesn't work and wifi doesn't work

I followed Partition Wizard's walkthrough from start to finish. I was relieved to see that after the clone was complete and removing the old drive/ installing the SSD, Windows booted right up. But when I try to hit the Windows start menu and even the clock, nothing happens. When I try to run a Windows application such as IE or Edge I get "class not registered" errors.

. So far I've tried this:

https://www.easeus.com/backup-recove...indows-10.html

But no errors come up when I run sfc /scannow

Please help!

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(17 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by bajer29; 04-26-2019 at 03:44 PM.
bajer29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,932
Rep: 107 (Unique: 92)
Fixed, I guess... Since I needed to get his back to my FIL today, I just purchased a new Win 10 Home key and re-installed Windows. All seems to work again, just wish I knew why Windows un-authenticated itself and wouldn't let me re-authenticate. Also, wonder why most of the core Windows systems weren't working and any time I scanned for corrupted Windows files nothing would come up. I couldn't even repair because of said clean Windows health scan. Oh well...

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(17 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


bajer29 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 09:15 AM
Retired Staff
 
JedixJarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 9,406
Rep: 305 (Unique: 244)
Any time the key doesn't re-auth you should be able to call up msoft licensing and reset the activations.


JedixJarf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 10:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,091
Rep: 535 (Unique: 304)
i'd recommend using third party cloning software next time, like macrium reflect
Quote: Originally Posted by JedixJarf View Post
Any time the key doesn't re-auth you should be able to call up msoft licensing and reset the activations.
this too, even with questionable keys. Almost like if you take the time to get thru that ridiculous voice system they just let you have it.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,932
Rep: 107 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
i'd recommend using third party cloning software next time, like macrium reflect


this too, even with questionable keys. Almost like if you take the time to get thru that ridiculous voice system they just let you have it.
I mean to say that the Windows version didn't even allow me to open the authentication app or really do anything.

I used Partition Wizard and attempted to use ShadowMaker. ShadowMaker wouldn't copy the last 3% of the files and Partition Wizard worked but basically stripped all Windows authentication and core functionality.

The problem was, I didn't have the old Windows key that came with the laptop originally and I was under a time crunch. Either way, I'm happy with the results. Not happy that I had to spend extra money, but *shrug* it's done now.

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(17 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


bajer29 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off