Possible to activate Windows like this? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Possible to activate Windows like this?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xP_0nex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 745
Rep: 25 (Unique: 21)
Possible to activate Windows like this?

I have a software that I am currently using, however, I am only allowed to activate the software and related software once. I know that Windows 10 is tied to a motherboard and once moved to another board it gets un-activated.

I had be contemplating down-sizing and to a ITX build, but don't want to do a clean install of Windows because I don't want to lose access to the software I am using. In theory, could I move the drive to a new build and when/if it gets un-activated can I purchase a new key and activate it by going to Activation and update the product key by "change product key"?
xP_0nex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 08:20 AM
PC Enthusiast
 
Ashura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 769
Rep: 44 (Unique: 32)
I haven't tried this, so someone with experience may wanna chime in.

But, on paper, it can be done. I don't see why not.

Nowadays chances are slim , but there's always the issue that some drivers/ some other random issue with windows may force you to format & do a clean install.

PolaRyz
(15 items)
Venomous FX
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus GTX 1060 6Gb
RAM
Hyper X Predator 3000Mhz 32gb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Toshiba DC01ACA300
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Mouse
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Mouse
Steelseries Qck Mass
CPU
AMD FX 8350
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA Gaming
GPU
XFX R9 290 DD
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 16GB [4x4GB] 1600MHz CL9 @1.5v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Dell ST2420L
Monitor
AOC e2243Fwk 21.5"
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
SteelSeries QcK Mass
▲ hide details ▲
Ashura is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 08:27 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,802
Rep: 81 (Unique: 60)
Hi,
I've just swapped ssd's/ installs many times into new builds works fine just need to do a little driver clean up after
Windows it's self could need a new activation key though ebay has plenty of cheap oem 10 keys for like 20.us+ that work if they don't report as fraud and get another.

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 09:24 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,982
Rep: 1126 (Unique: 648)
if your key is tied to an MS Account then you can change motherboards and keep your license (as long as you log into your MS Account on the new install). I upgraded from Z97 to Z170 to Z390 and kept my license.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 09:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,716
Rep: 563 (Unique: 321)
Quote: Originally Posted by xP_0nex View Post
I have a software that I am currently using, however, I am only allowed to activate the software and related software once. I know that Windows 10 is tied to a motherboard and once moved to another board it gets un-activated.

I had be contemplating down-sizing and to a ITX build, but don't want to do a clean install of Windows because I don't want to lose access to the software I am using. In theory, could I move the drive to a new build and when/if it gets un-activated can I purchase a new key and activate it by going to Activation and update the product key by "change product key"?
yes, but why throw in the towel so quickly?

google belarc, use it to get the key, see if it works on the new machine.

I did this recently with an OEM lenovo that wouldn't automatically license to a replacement drive.
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
if your key is tied to an MS Account then you can change motherboards and keep your license (as long as you log into your MS Account on the new install). I upgraded from Z97 to Z170 to Z390 and kept my license.
also this

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 10:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,314
Rep: 397 (Unique: 283)
Quote: Originally Posted by xP_0nex View Post
I have a software that I am currently using, however, I am only allowed to activate the software and related software once. I know that Windows 10 is tied to a motherboard and once moved to another board it gets un-activated.

I had be contemplating down-sizing and to a ITX build, but don't want to do a clean install of Windows because I don't want to lose access to the software I am using. In theory, could I move the drive to a new build and when/if it gets un-activated can I purchase a new key and activate it by going to Activation and update the product key by "change product key"?
Software won't get deactivated if you have to reactivate windows, unless it's tied to some strange hardware ID. It would only get deactivated if you reinstalled windows without keeping previous apps info.
I changed the windows product key from Enterprise to Pro, and I think only one program whined about it.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off