Windows XP installation help - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Windows XP installation help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2004, 09:12 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 2,896
Rep: 472 (Unique: 266)
Take it off cable select first!!!!!! Archer was 1000000% right on this one. Cable select is old school uber legacy, and creates nothing but problems on current chipsets. Then, update BIOS and if that doesn't give you access to more than 137 GB of the drive, you will have to make a minor registry edit. There's instructions at M$'s site, just google it.

Intel Overclocking Guide
RAM 101 (Intel systems in particular)

All statements, posts, recommendations, etc. are my 2cents.gif. Sometimes they're worth a nickel, sometimes they're worth a penny, but I always do my best to at least ensure that my opinions are educated ones. smile.gif
NoAffinity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2004, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 645
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
yeah well my mobo wont support it, but my 80 GB harddrive .... one of the 4 power pins got removed by my secondary computers power supply. I can still see the pin sitting in the connecter!! anyone have any ideas how to take the pin out and somehow attach it on... its not that i dont want to buy a new one.. i just want my files! my doom3 save

drum.gif i play drumset and marching drums. If you do too drop me a PM.
AtoMicMoNkEy15 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2004, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 723
Rep: 76 (Unique: 44)
Dude that sucks. Maybe try attatching a wire between where the pin is supposed to connect and the power connecter's corresponding hole. And then see if it will get power. This is a temporary idea to get your files, i don't think that you will be able to reattatch the pin though.

Aeolus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-06-2004, 12:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
phlegm!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: richardson, tx
Posts: 204
Rep: 26 (Unique: 14)
The easiest way to repair it is to solder it back on. This might be hard to do in such a small area, so you might want to try cutting off the plastic underneath it to get the iron in there.


phlegm! is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off