Win XP - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Win XP

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,267
Rep: 173 (Unique: 136)
Pretend i have a computer running with no monitor or keyboard or mouse "like a server" that runs on xp how do i set it up so that when i just turn it on, i can use another computer to remote acces it


aznchowboy650 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 06:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,559
Rep: 297 (Unique: 183)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznchowboy650
Pretend i have a computer running with no monitor or keyboard or mouse "like a server" that runs on xp how do i set it up so that when i just turn it on, i can use another computer to remote acces it
i have not used it before but here is a how-to article. ---> http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...moteintro.mspx
archer_456 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 07:52 PM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer_456
i have not used it before but here is a how-to article. ---> http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...moteintro.mspx
All I gotta say is, remote access is or can be a royal pain in the ....

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-09-2004, 08:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
ive done it before, it helps if you have a router, that way you dont have to worry about ip's, for the server machien, make sure u set it to a custom ip, eg 192.168.100.153, that way it wont take another ip, then make sure it has Xp PROFESSTIONAL, Home will nto work as a remote desktop host. Then right click on my computer go to properties, then click on remote tab, then check the checkbox that allows people to connect. then on the workstation machine, run remote desktop, (start all prog, accessories, connectivity, remote desktop) then type the ip of the server, then click connect. you should be prompted with a login screen.

yes, i know this was confusing, if u didnt understand any part, just ask.

if you dotn want to do that, go with the good ol' KVM Switch.

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 06:47 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,671
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Ummmm, KVM yummm yummm sweet.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,267
Rep: 173 (Unique: 136)
I have the computers in the same workgroup and they are sharing folders but then i can't connect to control the other system weird i could before...


aznchowboy650 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off