To fast a PC to read it Blue Screen! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

To fast a PC to read it Blue Screen!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,671
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Well, I have a first and don't recall it so please help.
About 10 yrs building and now I get this.
1. The MS optical does not light up. The usb is working and configed correctly. The mouse works on "this PC" fine.
2. Because it reboots so fast I have a hard time reading the "Blue Screen warning. I get something like Plus minus equal and I think IRQ
OS = Win XP w/SP1 Fresh load with very little softs. Mobo drivers, sound, vid, CD-ROM burrner.
3. The kicker. Both the MS disk w/ver 4.3 and the downloaded up date ver 5.0 for the optical mice both do this when I try to load the drivers. I go to the "correct" folder for a Wheel Mouse Optical and I get the basic "Can't find the correct drivers"
It should light up at boot regardless of the drivers/config utility. It lit up both times I reload this PC, but it never lights up in USB or w/the PS2 adapter on the other PC w/the Blue Screen warning.
Sorry, I wish I could read it but pause don't help and it is just a flash the Blue Screen Wrarning before it reboots.
Living and learning.
Thanks

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 08:01 PM
Overclockiit
 
|2A|N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,409
Rep: 364 (Unique: 216)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke
Well, I have a first and don't recall it so please help.
About 10 yrs building and now I get this.
1. The MS optical does not light up. The usb is working and configed correctly. The mouse works on "this PC" fine.
2. Because it reboots so fast I have a hard time reading the "Blue Screen warning. I get something like Plus minus equal and I think IRQ
OS = Win XP w/SP1 Fresh load with very little softs. Mobo drivers, sound, vid, CD-ROM burrner.
3. The kicker. Both the MS disk w/ver 4.3 and the downloaded up date ver 5.0 for the optical mice both do this when I try to load the drivers. I go to the "correct" folder for a Wheel Mouse Optical and I get the basic "Can't find the correct drivers"
It should light up at boot regardless of the drivers/config utility. It lit up both times I reload this PC, but it never lights up in USB or w/the PS2 adapter on the other PC w/the Blue Screen warning.
Sorry, I wish I could read it but pause don't help and it is just a flash the Blue Screen Wrarning before it reboots.
Living and learning.
Thanks
Do you have sp2 installed by any chance?



|2A|N is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,671
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
I guess you didnt seem my post LOL "Is XP screwing with you"
Nope SP2 is a pain in the neck from what I'v read.
I'm trying to avoid a reinstall.
NForce II mobo BTW It ran fine with the WD SATA drive and the mouse was fine too when I loaded it. Now I have an 80 g 8 meg WD to try OCing because the SATA didnt like more than 202 FSB. So why this now w/the 80g drive (positive its good) and all the same hardware and OS disk.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 08:28 PM
Overclockiit
 
|2A|N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,409
Rep: 364 (Unique: 216)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke
I guess you didnt seem my post LOL "Is XP screwing with you"
Nope SP2 is a pain in the neck from what I'v read.
I'm trying to avoid a reinstall.
NForce II mobo BTW It ran fine with the WD SATA drive and the mouse was fine too when I loaded it. Now I have an 80 g 8 meg WD to try OCing because the SATA didnt like more than 202 FSB. So why this now w/the 80g drive (positive its good) and all the same hardware and OS disk.
Yeah thats strange, only thing i would think of is a reinstall as much as i would hate to have to do that myself, i mean if i had a penny for each time i have formated and reinstalled on my pc i would be a self made millionare lol no not really but i feel your pain I hope you get it fixed



|2A|N is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 08:28 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
I know after a failed overclocking attempt by using nVidia's system managment console I lose all my USB ports and have to re-flash my BIOS for them to work again, maybe a similar thing here?

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,671
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Thanks for trying I'v not given up yet.
The USB works! I'v access to a USB external HD and the voltage use is there for the mouse and HD.
BTW I was only up to 12.5x200 @1.75v just fine as was before with the SATA Raptor config.and the mouse was fine. I geared down to 11X200 for the load.
Temps never went over 54c. Also, never got the the vid oc yet.
BTW Barton 2600M I stepw/Thermal volcano 12. I'll ad whats up on everything once I get to fly and can compare the SATA config to the ATA config.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 09:46 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 3,984
Rep: 278 (Unique: 169)
Try sp2 its been awesome on three different computers so far for me. I dont know where peeps are getting all these probs. My guess is from bad configuration.

Blah
DigitalPhreak is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-15-2004, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,671
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Lucky You Digital
I know of IT Pros who had hunderds of PC that did not like SP2 and had to reimage w/XP SP1
I stil have no clue on hte Optical mouse.
The Blue Screen Plus minus equal may have been a soft loading error on my part.
Lite on CD-ROM Burner
Lite on DVD-ROM burner
Loaded the CD-ROM Softs with the DVD-ROM.
Remove the CD-ROM softs and have not seen the Blus Screen yet.
Mouse still don't work even though through all this it get recognized by XP SP1`
Oh Well, time for a reload, can't trust the load to OC with.
Thanks anyway

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-20-2004, 09:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 116
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Turn reboot on blue screen off, then you can look at it all day long. System> Advanced>Startup and recovery
Silum is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off