Win XP SP1 slow, fresh install - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Win XP SP1 slow, fresh install

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-23-2004, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
amd64oc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
I am having a lot of trouble with Windows XP SP1a running really slowly. I have just replaced my old mobo (ASUS K8V Deluxe) with an Epox 8kda3+ and now Windows runs really slowly. It's weird. I thought I had that w32.Blaster worm, because Windows suggested that I might, so I downloaded the removal tool and it didn't find anything.

I only have Windows and the nForce 5.10 drivers on my computer right now. So it should be lightning fast. The internet is rediculously slow. Has anyone else had this problem? Is it a hardware or a software conflict? Maybe the nForce drivers are having problems? I don't know. If I can't figure it out by the weekend I'll just re-install Windows and try again. Thanks.


amd64oc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-23-2004, 11:33 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amd64oc
I am having a lot of trouble with Windows XP SP1a running really slowly. I have just replaced my old mobo (ASUS K8V Deluxe) with an Epox 8kda3+ and now Windows runs really slowly. It's weird. I thought I had that w32.Blaster worm, because Windows suggested that I might, so I downloaded the removal tool and it didn't find anything.

I only have Windows and the nForce 5.10 drivers on my computer right now. So it should be lightning fast. The internet is rediculously slow. Has anyone else had this problem? Is it a hardware or a software conflict? Maybe the nForce drivers are having problems? I don't know. If I can't figure it out by the weekend I'll just re-install Windows and try again. Thanks.
Um, I may be out on a limb here, but did you reinstall windows after swapping to the Epox board? If not, do a fresh install, it will clear up the issues.

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-24-2004, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
amd64oc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Yeah, I installed Windows after installing my new epox board. I was initially having a lot of problems with the mobo acting up and that's when I installed Windows so it must have corrupted something.

I have now solved my BIOS/mobo problems with a full BIOS flash and then re-installed Windows and everything seems to be working great so far. Unfortunately, while Windows wasn't working properly I activated it. I've re-installed Windows two times in the past week and activated both times. So now that everything works I tried to activate it and it says that I have to call Microsoft because I have used up my allowance for activations. Are they going to charge me to get a new CD key? I hope not. Thanks for the help.


amd64oc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-24-2004, 07:35 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amd64oc
Yeah, I installed Windows after installing my new epox board. I was initially having a lot of problems with the mobo acting up and that's when I installed Windows so it must have corrupted something.

I have now solved my BIOS/mobo problems with a full BIOS flash and then re-installed Windows and everything seems to be working great so far. Unfortunately, while Windows wasn't working properly I activated it. I've re-installed Windows two times in the past week and activated both times. So now that everything works I tried to activate it and it says that I have to call Microsoft because I have used up my allowance for activations. Are they going to charge me to get a new CD key? I hope not. Thanks for the help.
No thanks needed, I wasnt much help Bios and motherboard drivers would have been my next suggestion.

I believe if you call Microsoft, you can clear things up easily. Explain the situation, they should be helpful...(I think)

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-24-2004, 07:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,730
Rep: 492 (Unique: 267)
just call Microsoft and youll get connected to an operator after saying your cd key and such to their voice recognition server

from there just explain to the op that you activated xp on your comp but it kept messing up so you reinstalled and activated hoping to clear up the problems... theyll give you a verification key to enter and youll be fine

just make sure this time everythings running well, drivers are installed, etc.

if the op wont help you, which I almost guarantee wont happen, just ask to be connected to a supervisor and give them your key, insist that everything you have is legal and give them the # from your coa label and theyll oblige

Ive formatted and uninstalled within a couple weeks and activated just to get it out of the way and had to call them before... itll be fine...

Face it - Rep and Post Count are overrated, quite close to useless thumb.gif
thenut is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 01:56 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,673
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Call MS what a bunch of Shirt. You pay for it and they make you jump through hoops. Why is it when there stuff don't work they wont jump through any hoops, just leave you with another patch taht screws up something else, sounds loke SP2. Should of named it SSP2 = Super sloppy patch 2.
If Microsoft was a tire there would be so many patches on it it wouldnt fit in the wheel well of the Grave Digger!!!

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off