dual/tripple booting help? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

dual/tripple booting help?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2004, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Dave89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Hi

Well i had suse and windows xp dual no probs, but then i had a brainwave, why not install 98 as well since that allows me to play my old games on my newer pc (since they require dos in general) andi dont use my old one as it 'dont' work

BUT... i did my research and read 98 had to be installed first but there were 'few' ways of getting around this, after many attemps i have finally just had to install xp and everything since i destroyed everything.

My hard disk is NTFS formatted and that seems to be the problem, i want 98 on its own 10Gig partition of which i did in partition magic and formatted it fat32 but 98 would just not install, i really had two options:
a) install 98 by managing unpartitoned space
b) install it on just my main partition but

the first wouldnt work as it said it would reboot and please use some floppy dis (i dont have this floppy disk) and the second wouldn't work becuase it wouldn't format it fat32 (error thats all it said) (i'm sure this is becuase once a drives NFTS its NFTS and thats it)

I couldn't even get an option to install it on a partition made by partition magic.

SO can anyone help me please?

Any suggestions on how to get 98 and xp dual booting, linux is not a problem i can do that its just 98

thanks for any help
Dave89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2004, 02:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
install 98, then xp, then suse.

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2004, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Dave89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
thats what in the end i tried to do as i new 98 had to go first, then xp adn then suse as it has its nice grub boot manager

BUT...it doesn;t work

its the 98 install bit

i cant just install it as a OS using the whole of my disk (im guessin like i said becuase it was origally fat 32)

see what im after is
10Gig 98 (fat32)
100 gig xp (NFTS)
10 gig suse (whatever it uses)

so its the 98 install bit i can't seem to get it to work?

thanks
Dave89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-25-2004, 05:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
take windows xp, and partition your drive. make sure one of them is FAT

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 01:50 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,673
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave89
thats what in the end i tried to do as i new 98 had to go first, then xp adn then suse as it has its nice grub boot manager

BUT...it doesn;t work

its the 98 install bit

i cant just install it as a OS using the whole of my disk (im guessin like i said becuase it was origally fat 32)

see what im after is
10Gig 98 (fat32)
100 gig xp (NFTS)
10 gig suse (whatever it uses)

so its the 98 install bit i can't seem to get it to work?

thanks
What no partition for a swap file too?
How is he going to use XP to format the 98 partition if it 98 has to be loaded first.
Been a while but 98SE, 2000Pro then Linux or no go then. So it should be the same w/XP in place of 2000Pro.
If the Fat32 is giving you the headach, try formating just that first with the HD mfgs utility.

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 02:06 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,363
how about vmware it is a virtual machine program that allows you to install as many os on your computer!!!!!!!!!!
ThE_GeNeRaL is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Dave89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
right sorry forgot to mention:
linux creates its own swap partition im sure so that sorts that out (abotu a gig)

whats mfgs?

How would i format my drive using XP? Thats the problem, when i need to start blank and put 98 on first but thats the problem too. It wont format..

Thanks guys
Dave89 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 03:27 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,363
create the swap partition double your ram

and to partition use partition magic but i recommend using the program vmware you dont have to do all the partitioning you just create the virtual machine and there you go you just start installing th os
ThE_GeNeRaL is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 04:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RunningRioT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 930
Rep: 81 (Unique: 62)
sigh.. k, heres what you do, format a XXgig sector in FAT using windows xp. then right before it trys to install, reboot, you now have a fat partiion. then do it again, this time XXgig for XP in NTFS. Then, pop ur 98disk in, and isntall onto the FAT partition. Then followed by XP, then Linux.

FOLD for OVERCLOCK.net! GO TEAM! #37726

ADD ME A REP IF I HELPED YOU!

The X-Factor of AMD vs. Intel eXplained
headphone.gif
Silence Your Fans and Reduce Dust Without Undervoltingheadphone.gif

L00K at my RIG and COmment!
<<<<<<

RunningRioT is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-26-2004, 05:09 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,673
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave89
right sorry forgot to mention:
linux creates its own swap partition im sure so that sorts that out (abotu a gig)

whats mfgs?

The DUKE adds >>>The HD mfg (manufactures), like WDs data life guard or who ever. Quick and easy formating and sizing in a GUI.

How would i format my drive using XP? Thats the problem, when i need to start blank and put 98 on first but thats the problem too. It wont format..

The Duke adds >>>> Revert to my first suggestion on the Mfgs utilitys.
Thanks guys
Why do I have to add 2 characters ???
OPPS I edited the quote, my bad

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off