what os for dual socket mobo's? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

what os for dual socket mobo's?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,363
security?LOL

not sure about that
ThE_GeNeRaL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 01:44 PM
Linux Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,734
Rep: 484 (Unique: 264)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThE_GeNeRaL
security?LOL

not sure about that
What am referring to as security is the Auditing and Permissions capabilities which are present in XP PRO.
Lostnhell is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 07:49 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 3,953
Rep: 391 (Unique: 203)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoAffinity
True. XP home can only support a max of one physical processor and two logical processors. I say go for Linux, baby! Unrivaled SMP support.
Really? I thought XP Home could run dualies, could have sworn I have seen it before, guess it was Pro though.

Main Rig:3.4E @ 4.15ghz, P5WD2, X1900XTX, 2X512 Corsair PC8000UL, Raptors Raid 0, OCZ Powerstream 520.
Rig #2: (folding 24/7)
2.8E @ 3.22, IS7, BFG 6800 Ultra, 2X512 Geil PC4000, 60GB Maxtor, Aspire 500 watt.
Rig #3: (folding 24/7 @ 75%)
2.6B @2.9, IC7, 9800XT, 2X256 Corsair PC3200, 120GB WD, Aspire 500 watt.
Fold for Overclock.net!

Lando95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 08:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,559
Rep: 297 (Unique: 183)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lando95
Really? I thought XP Home could run dualies, could have sworn I have seen it before, guess it was Pro though.
Thats correct, the XP Home edition will not supprot dual processors because it lacks SMP support. XP Pro has SMP support for dual processors.
archer_456 is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-07-2004, 09:51 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 3,953
Rep: 391 (Unique: 203)
Cool, thanks for the clarification.

Main Rig:3.4E @ 4.15ghz, P5WD2, X1900XTX, 2X512 Corsair PC8000UL, Raptors Raid 0, OCZ Powerstream 520.
Rig #2: (folding 24/7)
2.8E @ 3.22, IS7, BFG 6800 Ultra, 2X512 Geil PC4000, 60GB Maxtor, Aspire 500 watt.
Rig #3: (folding 24/7 @ 75%)
2.6B @2.9, IC7, 9800XT, 2X256 Corsair PC3200, 120GB WD, Aspire 500 watt.
Fold for Overclock.net!

Lando95 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off