upgrades - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

upgrades

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2004, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: @ home
Posts: 956
Rep: 40 (Unique: 33)
what is the prosedure for replaceing the mobo on a windows XP

system?

nayo_450 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2004, 10:19 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
Unhook it all, and swap mobo's...you may have to reinstall everything inclusing OS though. Not sure what a major hardware change like that will do to an existing drive with OS installed.

Hope that helped...or am I way off on what you're trying to do?

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2004, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: @ home
Posts: 956
Rep: 40 (Unique: 33)
Reinstall the os? that is the 1 thing i do not want to do,
i had heard about some way of replaceing the motherboard
with out having to reinstall the OS

nayo_450 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2004, 10:46 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
Well, I have never personally put in a motherboard and left the existing drive and OS untouched. From what I understand though, this can sometimes give you problems if you leave it. It is worth a shot though I would imagine, you have nothing to lose...its either going to work, or you will have to redo the OS...won't know until you try.

I'd wait until someone more knowledgable replied though, cause I dont trust my judgement yet when it comes to computers (rightfully so...lol)

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-26-2004, 01:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: BIRMINGHAM, UK
Posts: 36
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
As Far As I'm Aware You Can Make Up To 3 Major Hardware Changes To Your System Before You Have To Re Install The Os And Reregister It. This Is Because The Key That Xp Uses Is Based On The Hardware Configuration. With This In Mind It Should Be Just A Case Of Swapping Your Mobo For A New One
PHILLH is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-26-2004, 09:15 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,863
Rep: 354 (Unique: 187)
In many cases you can install a different motherboard and your system will still work. Sometimes you are forced to re-install.

Quote:
As Far As I'm Aware You Can Make Up To 3 Major Hardware Changes To Your System Before You Have To Re Install The Os And Reregister It.
You don't necessarily have to reinstall everything, but you will have to REACTIVATE your CD key. That can be done w/ out reinstalling. I had to re activate just after replacing my mobo (w/ the same model). It depends on how major the hardware change is. A mobo is major. CPU, GPU, RAM, HDD aren't.

You will see better performance and stability if you re-install, don't be a panzy .

Fold for the cure & team 37726!!
H2O cooling: Chevette heatercore, 172mm 258CFM fan, Apogee GT, and Ehiem 1250. Load temp @ 1.45vcore 41C.
DeathONator is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2004, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: @ home
Posts: 956
Rep: 40 (Unique: 33)
no i'm not a panzy i'm just lazy.

nayo_450 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2004, 02:19 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,299
Rep: 243 (Unique: 133)
i highly reccomend you reinstall when updating a motherboard.

Plague is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-03-2004, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: @ home
Posts: 956
Rep: 40 (Unique: 33)
actually i just relized that it is actually a lot eazyer cosidering i'm installing new mobo, new cpu, and new gpu, so a reinstall of windows would make it easy!

nayo_450 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off