GUIDE: Make 32-bit OS Support 128GB of RAM - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

GUIDE: Make 32-bit OS Support 128GB of RAM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PhaedraCorruption's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3,008
Rep: 206 (Unique: 176)
Ever hate how you cant use more then 4GB of ram in a 32-bit OS yet you don't want to switch to a 64-bit?




Well heres an easy solution:


For Windows Vista:

Patch made by Remko

Quote:
Remko confirms that the patch works on both Windows Vista x86 Service Pack 1 and Service Pack 2. You can either drop this file in Windows\\System32\\ folder and run it to patch the ntoskrnl.exe file or run it from anywhere and browse for the file.
Instructions from http://www.raymond.cc




LINK TO PATCH



For Windows 7

Patch made by Staforce


LINK TO PATCH

Hope this helps,


Pics from raymond as well btw

Both these patches will allow the OS to read up to 128GB of RAM.



And as for XP, there is a method as well.

Quote:

Click on the "View" tab, select "Show Hidden File Folders," and clear "Hide protected operating system files." Select "OK," followed by "Yes."


Locate "Boot.ini" file in C: drive and remove the read-only attributes. Open the Boot.ini file and add "/PAE" to the end of the ARC path. The ARC path will have the Windows Server edition listed in its parameter title.


Click "File" and select "Save." Restore all the read-only attributes to the Boot.ini file. Now restart the computer. When the computer restarts the PAE will be enabled.
Instructions from eHow


My explaination to why this works:
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhaedraCorruption View Post
Interesting article you found, I not an expert on this and I could be wrong, but this is what I have learned so far: You are right in a sence that a 32-bit architecture will not be able to read more then 4GB of ram, and I'm not sure about the patches for Windows Vista and Windows 7, but for Windows XP the PAE patch (Physical Address Extention) is basicly like a band-aid for the OS, it changes the architecture of the OS from 32-bit to 36-bit. I will again stress that I am not an expert on this and this is only what I have learned so far and I could be wrong. However, even withthe PAE patch each process windows is running will still be limited to 4GB even though you can have much, mcuh more then 4GB of physical ram, for example, you have 24GB of ram, you can noto run a process that takes up 24GB of ram, you can, however, run 6 processes that each take up 4GB.

I'm not sure if this is the case for the patches for Windows Vista and Windows 7 but I would suspect that to be the case.


tl;dr: M$ crippled XP to make 64-bit and Server 2003 sell better.

I could be wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by error10 View Post
If you can't bring yourself to run a strange utility where all the text is in Cyrillic, read this.


What do you do in a flame war? Stop, Drop and Troll.


PhaedraCorruption is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 11:37 PM
OOF
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,916
Rep: 400 (Unique: 327)
Looks like an awesome thing to do with people using Windows 7 32bit. Good find. +Rep


FieryCoD is offline  
post #3 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 11:38 PM
Stock *ahem*
 
Quantum Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,380
Rep: 307 (Unique: 237)
Interesting. Might give this a go to see if it works, though I prefer to use 64-bit.
Quantum Reality is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 11:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
FenixFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 234
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
Thanks for the XP bit.

+Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Betrivent go_quote.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsikyoJebus go_quote.gif
If this technology makes into the real world, OCN will sooner or later have to find out how to overclock our bloodflow to achieve maximum power generation.
It's called exercise.
FenixFlame is offline  
post #5 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-23-2009, 11:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DraganUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 4,788
Rep: 398 (Unique: 325)
pics doesnt load for me.



DraganUS is offline  
post #6 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 12:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmparkskier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 718
Rep: 62 (Unique: 56)
This doesn't make much sense... its not really a patch that can fix this sort of thing, it's all in the architecture of the OS and your computer's components. So what if a 32 bit OS can recognize it, your 32 bit programs will not utilize it.

Does this make any sense? I'm just going off of bits of knowledge, no real research yet.

EDIT: did some quick research. Read "The 4GB Windows Memory Limit: What does it really mean?"

Quote:
People who are unfamiliar with the real meaning behind the 4GB Windows memory limit often point out that certain versions of Windows (such as Enterprise or Datacenter editions) can actually support more than 4GB of physical memory. However, adding more than 4GB of physical memory to a server still doesn't change the fact that it's a 32-bit processor accessing a 32-bit memory space. Even when more than 4GB of memory is present, each process still has the normal 2GB virtual address space, and the kernel address space is still 2GB, just as on a normal non-PAE system.
Nice find by the way, it's gotten me interested in the subject.


Worklogs:
[Complete] Compaq Deskpro EN
[In Progress] IBM Personal Computer
WATCH OUT! I continually edit my posts.
mmparkskier is offline  
post #7 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 12:01 AM
Efficiencycionado
 
gerikoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,584
Rep: 377 (Unique: 283)
nice find +rep

Mattise’s Holding
(17 items)
Coffee Machine
(9 items)
Tiny Comet
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 I AORUS Pro WiFi
GPU
Zotac Gaming GeForce RTX 2060 Dual Fan
RAM
G.Skill FlareX 16x2GB 3200 CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 2x1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo SATA 4TB
Power Supply
Corsair SX450 Platinum
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Custom embedded with 2-piece IKEA Stuva
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell S2417DG 1440p 144hz 1ms
Monitor
Dell U3219Q-USBC 4K HDR
Keyboard
Logitech G915 Lightspeed Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless Lightspeed
Mousepad
Raypad Custom
Audio
Sony WH1000XM3 Wired-Headphone
Audio
Sony PHA-3 DAC+Amplifier
CPU
i7 8750H
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15
GPU
GeForce 1050Ti
RAM
2x16GB DDR4 2600 mhz SODIMM
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
15.6” 4k Touchscreen HDR 100%aRGB
Keyboard
Logitech Craft
Mouse
Logitech MX Master 2S
CPU
Intel i7 10710U 6c12t
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13
GPU
Gigabyte AORUS Gaming Box 2070
RAM
16GB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p 1TB
Power Supply
Dell 65w USB C
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
13” 4K Touchscreen
Mouse
Logitech MX Master 2X
Mouse
Logitech MX Anywhere 2
▲ hide details ▲
gerikoh is offline  
post #8 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 12:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PhaedraCorruption's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3,008
Rep: 206 (Unique: 176)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraganUS View Post
pics doesnt load for me.
Fix'd it for you mate.


What do you do in a flame war? Stop, Drop and Troll.


PhaedraCorruption is offline  
post #9 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 12:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
M3T4LM4N222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 6,415
Rep: 247 (Unique: 191)
Wow. SRSLY COOL. Wish I would of known about it a year ago.

I love censorship.
M3T4LM4N222 is offline  
post #10 of 161 (permalink) Old 10-24-2009, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
PhaedraCorruption's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3,008
Rep: 206 (Unique: 176)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmparkskier View Post
This doesn't make much sense... its not really a patch that can fix this sort of thing, it's all in the architecture of the OS and your computer's components. So what if a 32 bit OS can recognize it, your 32 bit programs will not utilize it.

Does this make any sense? I'm just going off of bits of knowledge, no real research yet.

EDIT: did some quick research. Read "The 4GB Windows Memory Limit: What does it really mean?"



Nice find by the way, it's gotten me interested in the subject.
Interesting article you found, I not an expert on this and I could be wrong, but this is what I have learned so far: You are right in a sence that a 32-bit architecture will not be able to read more then 4GB of ram, and I'm not sure about the patches for Windows Vista and Windows 7, but for Windows XP the PAE patch (Physical Address Extention) is basicly like a band-aid for the OS, it changes the architecture of the OS from 32-bit to 36-bit. I will again stress that I am not an expert on this and this is only what I have learned so far and I could be wrong. However, even withthe PAE patch each process windows is running will still be limited to 4GB even though you can have much, mcuh more then 4GB of physical ram, for example, you have 24GB of ram, you can noto run a process that takes up 24GB of ram, you can, however, run 6 processes that each take up 4GB.

I'm not sure if this is the case for the patches for Windows Vista and Windows 7 but I would suspect that to be the case.


tl;dr: M$ crippled XP to make 64-bit and Server 2003 sell better.



What do you do in a flame war? Stop, Drop and Troll.


PhaedraCorruption is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off