add thermal pads to cpu delid? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

add thermal pads to cpu delid?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-28-2019, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jimmyhackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 186
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
add thermal pads to cpu delid?

after delidding and liquid metal pasting my 3770k........it made me realise there is a fair amount of wasted space under the IHS for my CPU.

i was wondering about adding a thermal pad either side of the silicon to connect the cpu board to the IHS.

just wondering if this has been done before? if so wass it worthwhile?

thanks in advance
jim
jimmyhackers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-28-2019, 03:08 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,380
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
I don't think you'll see a difference beyond margin of error at best.

Need to consider that this will probably reduce the pressure of the IHS to core so you're going to potentially lose thermal performance if done incorrectly with thermal pads that are too thick.

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jimmyhackers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 186
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
yeah im going to be careful

ive ordered various pads and a replacement copper heatspreader. i know the copper heatspreader will make the end result kinda invalid as it should reduce temps slightly with just that.

im at the point where ive done everything else to get it cooler. im kinda hoping a few degrees might make the difference.

my coolant is just above ambient pretty much now when the chip is running at 77c for a while. so i figure i need to get more heat into the loop/away from the cpu.

i really dont know how much heat it focused into the pcb the silicon chip is on.
id say it %50ish as half the chips surface is pressed against it. maybe more if you consider all the actual electricity runs on this side aswell. im probably wrong though.
jimmyhackers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off