Actively Cooled Modem/Router Club - Page 9 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Actively Cooled Modem/Router Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #81 of 119 (permalink) Old 07-07-2010, 12:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 354
Rep: 28 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDXMark View Post
Now to make my AMD 2.2Ghz pFsense router/network controller watercooled!

Though I can do 500,000+ packets a second at 2GHz-CPU and 400MHz Dual channel Mem.
So I don't think watercooling will increase my throughput at all?
Haha since when was that a reason not to water cool it !!

Heres my entry... water cooled Dlink 615. Ongoing project link can be found in my Sig, Im looking to watercool botha cable modem and router in the same box.



weesteev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 119 (permalink) Old 07-08-2010, 08:45 PM
 
huntman21016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Very nice
huntman21016 is offline  
post #83 of 119 (permalink) Old 07-08-2010, 08:49 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,157
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
How did you mount the waterblock?

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #84 of 119 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 06:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 354
Rep: 28 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post
How did you mount the waterblock?

Sekisui thermal tape. You can see a small bit peeking out from underneath the water blcok in the first picture.

weesteev is offline  
post #85 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-07-2010, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 375
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by weesteev View Post
Haha since when was that a reason not to water cool it !!

Heres my entry... water cooled Dlink 615. Ongoing project link can be found in my Sig, Im looking to watercool botha cable modem and router in the same box.
AHH!!! sorry for the late updates... I was out of town at a couple swim meets... I will add you in. That is a sick setup BTW. have you found any improvement in local transfer speeds?





Need help with 3d mock-ups or renderings? PM me, I'm glad to help!


phonyphonecall is offline  
post #86 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-07-2010, 03:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Psycho666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Netherlands!
Posts: 2,946
Rep: 146 (Unique: 120)
hey! i want in
my WRT610N ran so hot, it dropped wireless after some serious downloading...
so...inserted a fan
and the best part is....

you won't see a thing from it









just superglued the fan on it so it won't move
now just hope it works enough lol
if not...i could always fix a fan to the bottom which could be USB powered


Psycho666 is offline  
post #87 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-08-2010, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 375
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
updated.
Psycho I love the hardwired fan. Much more efficient than an outside power source.





Need help with 3d mock-ups or renderings? PM me, I'm glad to help!


phonyphonecall is offline  
post #88 of 119 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 09:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 137
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
sandythedog is offline  
post #89 of 119 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 03:48 PM
NoL
New to Overclock.net
 
NoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,673
Rep: 189 (Unique: 137)
Do I if I try an extra -50C phase unit on my wireless router next time I'm home? wink.gif

I freeze things.

Ask me about vapor phase change if you have questions, I'm always around.
NoL is offline  
post #90 of 119 (permalink) Old 02-04-2012, 06:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 137
Rep: 5 (Unique: 3)
If I do this to an Asus RT-N16, what fan should I put where?

I was thinking either a 120mm exhaust on the top or two 80mm exhausts to the sides of the Asus logo on the top. I will fit some heatsinks to all the chips of course. It's better to have an exhaust because it's easier to suck air in holes than force it out... right? I may even add some more ventilation.
sandythedog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off