Want to learn programming, Where do i start? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Want to learn programming, Where do i start?

post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 12-02-2011, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Ok so i want to learn programming as a hobby because it's something i'm really interested in learning but i don't know where to start.
so i would like to know the following;
which language would you recommend i should start with? (keep reading on the internet either c++ or python)
Can it be self taught through books and the internet? (can't afford a course right now)
and finally what books or websites would you recommend for the recommended language.

Thanks in advance, all advice and help is greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 12-02-2011, 11:36 AM
New to Overclock.net

Location: Mumbai,Staring at the Katrina Kaif wallpaper on my desktop.
Rep: 33 (Unique: 30)

try c++ first,then java..

u can try your hands at html,css too...

start by buying a book or find relevant websites.

mind u its not simple.requires practice.search everywhere on the net,including youtube,u never know where u will find something good.

once u get a hang of how to make algorithms for your programs and a hang of the basic structure,u can move up..

proof.gifIntel i5 [email protected]
Steam : wisevijay
Words of wisdom! (Click to show)
Once you start playing around with your PC case 'just to make it a lil'bit better'.You are doomed.Your life is over.You will continue playing with your PC case all your life.You will cut your fingers up,spend $$ on new parts and tools,mess up your house and then once you are done with it..Few weeks later you will want to buy a newer,better,bigger and more expensive PC case,and the cycle continues.
My clubs: Spoiler! (Click to show)DIY (Click to show)Buying Hardware in India (Click to show)
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 12-02-2011, 11:45 AM
New to Overclock.net